We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a night here for our first wedding anniversary
We booked on line with a voucher and got room , wine , evening meal 2 course and breakfast for £69
We did upgrade the room
Which I feel is a must
But everything else was perfect
The food is amazing
I had the pie and chunky chips beautiful .
Same at breakfast great choice nothing to complain about at all .
Friendly staff who made us feel very very welcome x

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear sarah p
Great feedback - thank you.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is an okay hotel that you won't regret booking. The rooms were clean and the food was fine, if a bit limited.

I suppose what pushes it into average is the little things:

The staff were friendly enough but when I asked someone to fix the shower while I was out during the day, nothing happened. They did get me another room but it would have felt better if someone had looked at the problem during the day.

The bathrooms are small, adequate but not really with any feeling of space.

Wi-Fi is free, but comes with the irritating user name/password slips that you have to keep collecting from reception or the bar. It's free so why add aggravation to my day?

Breakfast was fairly standard but again with a couple of niggle points.

There was a lovely selection of preserves and spreads (lemon curd and marmite included) so why not provide something to put them in? And why the tiny plates away from the hot breakfast?

So adequate and pleasant enough, and not expensive, but not quite up to a 4 star "Very good" review.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Colin H
Balanced and constructive feedback following your stay - thank you
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have today returned from a two night Groupon deal at the Cedar Court Hotel, Wakefield, with another couple. We have had a excellent time! The hotel is isituated in such a handy position at Junction 39 of the M1, so was easy to find. The open plan reception, lounge and dining areas were refurbished this spring and look very fresh and attractive. The bedrooms were fine and had the most comforable beds, Everything was provided in the bedrooms. The breakfast was good. So much to choose from. The restaurant menu had a good selection and the food was outstanding! Dinner was included in the deal on the first night and we chose to eat there again on the second night, as we had enjoyed it so much! There was also a gym and swimming pool, which looked very invitingt. The staff could not do enough for you and were extremely pleasant. I would particularly like to thank Wayne and Jackie for their help and enthusiasm. Their suggestions of where we could go to enjoy the area guaranteed that we had a most enjoyable time. Thank you to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 228 and 229 and were extremely satisfied with these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank twoturners14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear twotuners14
Thank you for your kind feedback and recognition of Wayne and Jacqueline
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have stayed here on a groupon deal which was excellent value for the money.The staff are all very welcoming and friendly,the food was very good,tasty,and well presented.Lovely clean bedrooms. We would come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Jennifer G
Thank you for the kind feedback.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our friends were getting married at this hotel so we booked the summer stay deal to stay in a superior room with food and wine. When we arrived there seemed to be confusion about our room and we were put into a standard room instead of a superior so we didn't get the little extras such as toiletries and the room wasn't as nice. I complained to a receptionist on the first night and he said we were indeed in a superior room however when we were enquirer about this before leaving it was confirmed that we were actually placed into a standard room. I tried to upgrade the wine to prosecco online for a small supplement but it didn't work when I tried to upgrade this at the hotel to share with the bride to be I was told I would have to just buy the prosecco as they didn't know how to do this on the system. My friend was happy with the wedding and it was a lovely day however I do feel that the bride could have been made to feel more special than she was. When we asked the wedding co ordinator to test the music she let us know straight away she was on her way to a meeting and didn't seem to use her initiative when we came across small glitches on the day such as being reassured that the favours were in the right place and when the wedding music didn't work. In my mind Small details would vastly improve the bridal experience at this hotel such as a complimentary bottle in the room for the bride and groom and maybe some kind of decoration. The hotel were asked to contact us to discuss why we were not upgraded and we left our contact details but they did not get back to us. Also our room must be situated over a boiler because there was an annoying humming sound all night that meant We couldn't sleep. Overall fairly good value for money, I wouldn't say it's the standard of many 4 star hotels, could be hugely improved if staff went the extra mile. The best things about this hotel is probably the food which was very nice.

Room Tip: If you book an online deal insist that the hotel give you the whole of this deal including the super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Elizabeth l
Thank you for your feedback.
Members of the team have been in contact under separate email prior to this feeback.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Highly reccommended hotel. Great facilities including the swimming pool, gym, steam & sauna plus the jacuzzi. My husband and I enjoyed 2 nights there for our wedding anniversary. Lovely food, staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the superior room, beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisaja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear lisaja74
Great feedback thank you for sharing with the wider TA audience
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in the Cedar Court Hotel last night using a groupon offer for bed, breakfast and evening meal. This was our second time staying there and once again we were not disappointed.

The reception, bar and restaurant areas are decorated to a high standard and the gym is well equipped (as far as hotel gyms go) the pool area is also clean and well looked after. Our room (203) was a twin that was quite small compared to other twins we have stayed in. The decor was a little dated and there could have been a little more attention to detail with the cleaning (the tv remote was very dirty and the carpet was a dirty round the edges.

The hotel was very quiet but there was still plenty of staff available to help with our enquires. Special mention has to go to Sally working on the bar on Sunday night who was very friendly and helpful and Sam the waiter at breakfast who obviously took great pride in his work and was very pleasant to us.

We had a 2 course meal as part of the offer which was cooked to a high standard and the menu offered plenty of choice. Bar prices were as you would expect for a hotel 4 pounds for a pint of Budweiser and 3 pound 50 for a glass of wine.

We would not choose to stay there normally as we only live 40 minuets away but should a similar offer come up again n groupon then I think we would take advantage.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Alec C
Great feedback thank you for sharing with the wider TA audience, and we hope its not long before we see you again.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calder Grove
1.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
949 reviews
3.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
2.5 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
2.9 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#17 of 19 in Wakefield
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield

Address: Denby Dale Road, Calder Grove, Wakefield WF4 3QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Calder Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Price Range: £36 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from junction 39, M1, this well established family owned hotel encapsulates the warmth and hospitality of Yorkshire. Whatever the reason for your stay, the four star Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield offers a variety of facilities such as 149 bedrooms,restaurant,19 conference and function suites and the popular fitness centre to unwind in the pool at the end of your day. The hotel offers free WIFI throughout all bedrooms and public areas and shows SKY sports in the lounge area on a daily basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Cedar Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing