We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Celebration”
Review of Dunadry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunadry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunadry
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We held our daughter's wedding at Dunadry on Midsummer's Day which was a most memorable experience. From the very beginning of our planning stage John Mooney could not have been more helpful.
Nothing was too much trouble!
The bridal party and a few family and friends arrived on time for the Carvery on Sunday, where we enjoyed an extensive buffet... then the preparations began for the Wedding the following day! We had the run of the hotel and the Management and staff were attentive, willing to help and very pleasant, making our overall experience a delight! On the wedding day itself, again the staff did everything to make our daughter's day special, paying attention to every detail. The sun was shining early in the morning which was key to the whole event, as a Garden Party with Lawn Games had been planned months ahead.
The service was in the River Room in the Hotel, followed by a drinks reception with tea, coffee and shortbread. An icecream cart and drinks fountain kept the 37 children happy... whilst the adults enjoyed music and chat with family and friends. Dinner in the Ballroom was a culinary delight - again the staff were efficient, helpful and pleasant. The surprise entertainment for guests with music by Megan Mooney and friend was outstanding! Overall the Bride and Groom had an enjoyable day, all thanks to Dunadry and their hard work giving attention to detail. Certainly this venue is worth considering for any special event, offering service & value for money. Thank you Mr Mooney for making our Special Day such a wonderful experience. Joyce McCullough - Orrs Travel

Room Tip: Request Garden View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 927JoyceM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Called here for Sunday Lunch on our way home after a weekend away.

The staff were uninterested when we first arrived at explaining weather a carvery or a set menu lunch was available. Upon looking into a large room that had people in it we could see what appeared to be a carvery set up that was extremely busy. We had a toddler and some older relatives with us so we opted for the Sunday set menu.

We were given vague directions to a dining room by the receptionist and we proceeded to walk there. The dining room had a few tables with people at them but no staff to be seen. We waited and waited. Then my husband went back to the receptionist to ask for someone to seat us.

Eventually someone seated us at a four person table (even though there were 5 of us and larger tables available) No apology was made about the wait.

However our order for food was taken promptly but while waiting we overheard the table behind asking where their main course was as they had been waiting. No apology to them either simply "Loads of people are off today"

The food when it eventually arrived had been sitting under a heat lamp for a considerable length of time as the gravy had dried into the plate. We had to send the plate for the toddler back as it was too hot for a child to be near.

The food was average and for the duration of our meal no one asked would we like drinks, my husband had to go and seek these out again separately.

This was a terrible experience and one that will not be repeated. I did not complain on the day (I doubt there would have been anyone around to listen to my complaint) as this was somewhere my relatives had wanted to re visit after having an enjoyable experience here a few years ago. Things have clearly gone downhill.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank juliebeans123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I attended a wedding at this hotel in June 2014. Before I point out my small niggle with the day I must first say that the meal, particularly the chicken stuffed with sun dried tomatoes, was excellent. The are outside is beautiful and the room was in good nick.

Now I was a plus one at this wedding but this even annoyed, almost angered me. Before the meal, when the bridal party, the groomsmen, then the newlyweds themselves are brought into the room, we expect a grand introduction.

We didn't get that.
It seemed unprepared, lazy and just disappointing all round.

Thankfully this is easily fixed and I hope Dunadry Hotel takes note because this was the only flaw in an otherwise excellent night.

Ps. Ciaran behind the bar is a great lad. Give that man a raise.

dvburns93 out!

*Drops mic*

Room Tip: Room 103. Party Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dvburns93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Thank you for making my birthday so very special. Even though the hotel was packed for Father's Day the staff made me feel like royalty there was even a cake with candles and the whole room sang to me. Excellent carvery with lots of choice. Compliments to the chef and serving staff. It really was a birthday to remember. Thank you Dunadry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Went with a few family members for lunch. Food was lovely. Service was good, however felt as soon as you put you knife and fork down staff where straight over to take the plate, surely it would be better to wait until the whole table finished.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank EmmaDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Didn't stay here but came in with my family for tea and sandwiches. Everything was fine and service good but no personality with the waiting staff. We felt as if we were inconveniencing them? Would not be keen to come back here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Distoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was rather worried after reading reviews. Hotel grounds, bar and restaurant are all lovely and really nice to relax in.

We stayed in an executive room. Not an executive room at all, things missing that make the difference. No valance on the bed so you see dirty mattress, old switches for lights, lights that didn't work, ripped dirty carpet, I didn't take shoes off unless I was getting into bed or showering. The bathroom was even more dated than the room, very old shower, something from the 80's, empty toilet roll on the holder. Not 4 star quality at all.

The restaurant was very nice, good food and assertive staff.

The hotel could be an amazing place to stay if they sorted the rooms out.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunadry
2 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
4.8 mi away
Dunsilly Hotel
Dunsilly Hotel
#2 of 3 in Antrim
388 reviews
14.9 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Corrs Corner Hotel
Corrs Corner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtownabbey
410 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antrim M2, JCT.1
2 mi away
Templeton Hotel
Templeton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Templepatrick
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunadry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunadry Hotel

Address: 2 Islandreagh Drive, Dunadry BT41 2HA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Dunadry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunadry
Price Range: £72 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunadry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dunadry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunadry Hotel And Country
Dunadry Inn
Dunadry Hotel County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing