We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY accommodating!!”
Review of Ellie Mays

Ellie Mays
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Dunadry
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“VERY accommodating!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We walked into a super busy night with no reservation and they would not let us leave...they did all they could to find us a table and serve up some GREAT food! It was confusing at first but turned into a fabulous meal, yea?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    58
    26
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Genuinely my worst meal ever. Majorly overpriced food which was defrosted, unappetizing, tasteless and inedible for the most part. Save your money. Avoid. Oh and freezing!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CandDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“C'mon north”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Was treated to a surprise meal pre Mother's Day. 6.00 pm, pub busy and so evidently short staffed. Presently disabled but still had to wait half an hour to get seated in the modest remote and coldest area of place. No service, friend had to queue at bar to get one menu! Food arrived one hour later and was cold. A pork dish was ordered(cold) asked for Apple sauce, 10 mins for salt and pepper, Aah cold, expensive and so pathetic...stick to beer and pub, would not recommend this place for food or service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jojoanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected Group Stopover”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A pre-wedding gathering. called the pub and said we had about 20 friends and relatives coming for a drink, chat and a meal... the Ellie may responded in minutes, set aside a seating area and the kitchen was ready to serve bar food... we repaid their efficiency by making several trips to the bar!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim_and_Les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This long established place has been a part of the local scene for a very long time and it's good to see that it's still delivering. Pleasant surroundings, courteous staff and an honest to goodness, no nonsense menu all add up to a worthwhile place to visit. Called in with a friend for Sunday lunch and we were both well satisfied with what we had. My chicken in white sauce was well cooked and served with tasty veg and potatoes. Friend's beef was delicious too, and he had no complaints either. Not expensive, so makes a good little venue for Sunday lunch. I'm sure its equally good the rest of the week too! Definitely a reliable choice!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ellie Mays also viewed

Templepatrick, County Antrim
 
Templepatrick, County Antrim
Newtownabbey, County Antrim
 

Been to Ellie Mays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing