We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smartline Philippion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smartline Philippion Hotel
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The place was always clean and tidy, and the staff were all lovely.

The food at the restaurant could be better but fornutately we didn't go all inclusive so we ate out at Greek restaurants most of the time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanouil p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Smartline Philippion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you very much for your time to write a review. It was our pleasure to accomodate you in our hotel. We will take under consideration your remarks and we will try our best to meet more your expectations next time you will be back again to our hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    62
    21
    18
    23
See reviews for
50
73
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Jutland, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were 4 girls, who booked us into Phlippion hotel, and we were looking forward to a nice vacation. After 4 days at philipion hotel, we were going out, and we locked our door, and turned the key to the working night crew at the hotel, wich we SHOULD! when we came home in the morning the next day, the doors were locked, but we were missing, iphones, ipads, ipods, smartphones, perfumes, jewelry,money etc. AND THERE WASN'T BROKEN INTO THE ROOM!!!! we turned to the working day crew, to explain the situation, but they wouldn't lent us the phone to call the police or to call home. And they were certain that is was our own fault, and that the tings were in our room, and they wouldn't help us. It was a really ugly experience, and we WONT recommend this hotel to anyone. We moved hotel the next day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanouil p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Smartline Philippion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear guest,

than you for your time to write a review. we remember your case and you know that we tried our best to help you. we are working with the same staff many years and we try to help all our guests the best we can. in your case you know that we checked all the possibilities from the beginning, we advised you to go to the police to declare the event, we called to the police to focus on the event, we let you call everywhere (parents etc.) abroad witout any charge, we proposed you to rent a safe box upon your arrival because the hotel is not responsible for any loss of your belongings but you did not want (after the event we gave it free to you even you did not want it again), we arranged you the best price with the other hotel you were insisting to move because they wanted to charge you higher than their internet offer, we did not charge all the stay only the dates you really stayed to our hotel, we tried to find you the iphones, ipads with our pcs and iphones but you did not have active the investigator programm or you did not know your apple id or codes and many other things that we have done for you.
Our hotel is very safe and we did not have similar events before. We did our best to help you and we will continue to do that for every of our clients. We feel sorry that happened this event during your vacations. Really it was not our fault. We hope we will see you again back to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kos Town hotels

2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The food however if quite blant. We had there halfpension stay and each dinner was pretty much the same. The breakfast didn't change a bit for the whole 10 days we stayed there. The hotel itself been rennovated in 2014 so it is one of the modern hotels in Kos town. But they really need to work on their menu. It's a sad view that restaurant been empty throughout the day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Serge I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanouil p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Smartline Philippion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Serge,

thank you very much for time given to write a review. We are glad that you highly estimate the renovation carried out in 2014. Really the hotel has changed a lot and we try our best to satisfy the expectations and the tastes of all our clients. We are sorry that you did not like so much our new restaurant's menu. it is a new piece of our hotel and we are constantly trying to improve its quality. We wish you could have made your remarks about the half-board menu during your stay at our hotel so we could promptly take care of this matter. We deeply wish to have the chance to welcome you back in Philippion in the nearest future.

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel for the second week of July 2014. The apartment room we had was nice and clean, with colorful textiles, looking out the sea and Turkey. We were on B&B board. We used to have our breakfast every morning by the pool. The breakfast buffet looked more than adequate. We were very pleased with the variety of hot, freshly baked every morning Greek cheese or ham&cheese pies and delicious pancakes (our kids were just crazy about those). The season fruits offered in the buffet were fresh and tasty. Twice we had dinner at NAMA restaurant (hotel restaurant on the ground floor). We loved the grilled squid with vegetables and the shrimp risotto. At the end we were offered a nice dessert as a chef's compliment. That was so unexpected and pleasant. The staff of the hotel and of the restaurant was very friendly and always ready to serve us the best way.
We will certainly come back to Philippion next summer and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanouil p, Διευθυντής at Smartline Philippion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Natalia,

thank you very much for your review. We are very glad you had a great time at our hotel. We wish to see you very soon back at Smartline Philippion Hotel and also taste more dishes to our new NAMA restaurant.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

There were 4 of us staying here one week. as we are young people - its perfect! fantastic location cos you live in the city, balcony with a sea view, super friendly and helpful stuff :) everything was great! thanks a lot!!!!
just one thing - breakfast is good, but it could be a bit different some days :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karol474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanouil p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Smartline Philippion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to accomodate you in our hotel. We will take under consideration your remark about breakfast and we will try very hard to improve it.
We hope to see you soon back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

There were 3 of us staying at the Philippion Hotel from 15th -22nd June 2014. The room was split into 2 sleeping areas with a pull across wooden dividing door. There was a single bed in the room with the fridge/kitchen and shower/toilet area, which was really difficult for my friend to sleep in as the fridge constantly hummed, and the room was hot as it did not have air conditioning.Also, some nights we heard shouting and talking from drunk people returning from pubs outside our room.
The other 2 beds were in a small room with a balcony facing a wall, though we could see the sea if we stood on the balcony and looked left, and the pool if we stood on the balcony and looked right!
We were charged an 'underoccupancy fee', which we were surprised about, as we could not see where they could have put another bed!
There were 2 wardrobes to hang our clothes in, but one was full of cushions and an ironing board, which we removed!
There was little space to put clothes, we had to put underwear/shorts/t shirts etc on shelves.
Sometimes our towels were changed, sometimes not, we ran out of disposable toilet bags, these was not renewed.
We were expecting a buffet in the evening, we got this once, it was nice, roast chicken, moussaka, pots, salads etc. The other evenings we had soup, kind changed daily, some sort of salad, not much variation, one day my friend got a plate of spinach which was supposed to have parmesan on, and I had to ask for it, then a main. The mains were nice, burgers, chicken, carbonara, fish, etc, but the 'desserts' were awful - yoghourt with honey or watermelon most nights.
The restaurant staff were lovely, if we left something they would come over and ask if we wanted something else, and they brought extra bread when we wanted it. The food was nice, but a bit repetitive.
The breakfast was good, buffet style - croissants, cheese slices were great, ham, cheese, cake, cereal, boiled eggs, toast.
The staff were lovely, very friendly and happy to answer any questions about the resort.
The pool was small, but it never had more than half a dozen people in at one time anyway!
There were plenty sunbeds around the pool too.
It was in a fantastic location, right near the sea, though its a pebbly beach so put footwear on if you go in the sea!You can see fish right near the shore, so take your goggles!
There were tiny birds in the psalm trees outside our room.
The local buses are cheap, you get return tickets from the bus station a 5 min walk along on the left.The old historic centre is a 5 min walk along there too, plenty of shops to get souvenirs from, and there is an old fortress along there too. The harbour with boat trips to Bodrum etc is a 10 min walk to the left too, take your passport!
There is a cheap cocktail bar called the 4 Roses with english music playing, 2 mins on the left. To your left is also a cheap bakery with all sorts of cakes and various ice creams.
Kos is a beautiful island, pretty flowering trees, blue blue sea, blue sky and mountains, so picturesque,would go again.
Watch out as there are cycle paths painted pink, and we kept forgetting and kept walking on them and getting beeped at by cyclists!Plenty cars, and quad bikes zooming round too!
There are lots of things to do, boat trips to various islands, Greek night was good, trip to Nissyros volcano, Therma Spa, ruins at Askelpion, great hol.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanouil p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Smartline Philippion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

we would like to thank you for your review. We will check very carefully your remarks and we will do all our best to improve our services.
We hope we will see you again soon and we will meet all your expectations next time.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Philippion for 3 weeks in summer 2013. It's a beautiful city hotel with spacious and comfortable rooms. The hotel has a perfect location faces the sea, is in a walking distance from the point, the city center and the main monuments. We had a see view room, and our balcony view was just stunning. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The room was clean, well furnished and decorated with a fully equipped kitchen (that was a helpful point as we had a child with us ). The hotel stuff was always helpful and friendly. I would fully recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel so much that we booked it again for this year. We are looking forward to coming back to Philippion in one month!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Znata889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmanouil p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Smartline Philippion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

it is our pleasure to accomodate you in our hotel. We are very happy to hear you had a great time. We look forward to see you in our hotel this year too.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#20 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#22 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diamond Apartments
Diamond Apartments
#34 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peridis Family Resort
Peridis Family Resort
#19 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#4 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kos Junior Suites
Kos Junior Suites
#23 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Philippion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Philippion Hotel

Property: Smartline Philippion Hotel
Address: 14 Vas. Georgiou | Vas. Georgiou & Thessalou 2, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smartline Philippion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Smartline Philippion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippion Hotel Kos Town
Smartline Philippion Hotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing