We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant”
Review of Platanos

Platanos
Ranked #30 of 224 Restaurants in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is right at the famous Hippocrates Plane Tree (2500 year old tree where Hippocrates taught medicine) in Kos Town on the island of Kos in Greece.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The food is excellent! The staff is very friendly..Also they have very taste traditional good and wide range of difference foods..and is very nice for the little children's..!

By the way, the prices are nice!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Petros X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    28
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Discovered this restaurant on our second day....had wonderful food and service so couldn't wait to return the next day.....however the next day the waitress got the order wrong....they didn't have a wine list so we asked for a bottle of Greek Sauvignon blanc.....we were charged for the incorrect meal, although complementary dessert was given although not eaten....and the wine was a mere 28 euros....never ever in Greece have I paid this price..........felt cheated.......

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our hotel's breakfast was nothing special so we walked into town and found this place (hard to miss!) at the Dolphin Roundabout. They open earlier than most places and the selection, preparation and service are great with very friendly staff. We didn't go later in the day but I can't see why it would be any different. Thoroughly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank holsrus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We went here for a special birthday meal, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was the best we have had in Greece and the location was lovely. There was a Greek lady singing English songs with a chap playing an electric keyboard from 8.15 pm onwards.
I had stuffed chicken rolls and fresh fish which really was good. This is not the cheapest place to eat, but certainly very good food.
We also had a greek salad for lunch here another day with a mythos each and that was about the same price as all the other local restaurants i.e. 8.5 euros for the salad each.
I would recommend going here, if your budget is tight then dont order the best things on the menu, if it is not tight, order away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey954HighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine dining experience”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Next to the Hypocratise tree in the old town.
Very expensive (average 50 euro per person) but worth it for a special occasion
This is fine dining- not like many other restaurants in the town
The live music leaves some to be desired but a ggod experience nevertheless

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Platanos also viewed

 

Been to Platanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing