We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We just came back from a two week stay at Aqua Blu hotel which can only be described as "fantastic".
First of all the brand-new hotel has a great design with very stylish rooms and a fabulous pool area which offers a great sea view. It offers everything from standard rooms, to private pools and suites. The gym is small but well equipped and we can only recommend to use offers from the spa with it's highly motivated team.
The hotel staff was always very friendly and helpful. At any time they did their upmost to make our stay unforgettable.
Maria, the hotel manager, is doing a great job in getting the Aqua Blu up and running which has just opened up this year. Thank you for everything, we would love to come back to this place any time in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sibylle_Frankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

The 7 days I spent at Aqua Blue Kos (with my girlfriend) were disappointing. I would not normally write a review, but this hotel fell way below expectations and I feel a sense of duty to warn others.

The disappointment mainly stems from unacceptable service across the board (barring the cleaning staff who kept the room tidy, although nothing spectacular).

Breakfast;

The breakfast buffet was unspectacular but acceptable.

What was unacceptable though was the poor service by the waiting team in the breakfast room. In particular the waiter in charge of taking orders for eggs was extremely inattentive. Every morning he took what seemed like an eternity to take our order, despite numerous attempts to get his attention. It almost felt as though he (or the restaurant team) were keen for you to fill up on the buffet rather than take any orders for the egg dishes.

I also got the impression that Oranges in Kos are in short supply, as each diner is only permitted one glass of orange juice (which the waiters serve half full). One morning I requested a refill on two separate occasions only for the waiter to never return. Another guest informed me that they were actually refused a refill, and that the OJ is served on a glass per person basis.

It was my last morning at the hotel that topped all of this off though. I turned up to the dining room at 9:45 to be told by one of the waiting staff that "they were full" and asked "could you come back in 10-15 minutes?". This request I found to be totally unacceptable, having paid for the B&B option I expected to be able to eat breakfast every morning at my discretion between the hours of 7:30-10:30 as instructed, but clearly my expectations are too high! It actually turned out that there were 3 empty tables scattered around the dining room (inside and out) that the waiter had failed to notice. We were eventually escorted to a table, only to be asked to move as the table was in fact already taken. Finally settled outside, we waited, and waited some more to be served. No cutlery, no glasses, and no pastry basket were delivered to our table for at least 10 minutes. When we eventually made it to the buffet there was practically nothing left; a selection of walnuts, rolls, ham and a small chunk of cheese remained. I had to take matters into my own hands and sought out the waiter in charge of taking orders for eggs more actively, stopping short of shouting for him from across the room. I also over heard another dinner complain that "this is the worst breakfast ever", telling the waiter that "this is completely unacceptable".

Bar;

The service in the bar also left a lot to be desired.

Not only did it take a lot of effort to get the waiters attention (despite being seated at the tables directly outside the bar more often than elsewhere), but it also took longer than acceptable for drinks and food to be prepared and delivered. On one such occasion I waited circa 15-20 minutes for drinks to be brought over (a bottle of water and a bottle of coke no less). In this instance instead of bringing the drinks over immediately the waiter decided it was more appropriate to deliver small courtesy fruit platters to everyone pool side (when I say platter I mean 4 small chunks/ slices of fruit).

the most peculiar note I would make on the Aqua Blue is the decision by waiting staff to scrawl in pen "Tip:" on the food and drink bills. Personally I found this to be very unprofessional and rather intrusive.

Be warned that the barman at the hotel is not the most capable mixologist. My girlfriend asked if it was possible to order a Mai Tai, after speaking with the barman the waitress assured her it was possible. When the drink eventually arrived there was little to no resemblance to a conventional Mai Tai; the use of the word little refers to the fact that the drink was served in a glass.

Reception;

I had very few dealings with reception. On one evening I did request a taxi. They normally take only a few minutes to arrive, but after 20 minutes I returned to the reception desk to enquire whether the taxi would be arriving soon only to be told that "now is the busiest time for taxi's", I wondered why I hadn't been told this at the time.



On a more positive note the hotel is very well presented. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and as previously mentioned well maintained by the cleaning staff. The pool area is comfortable and clean. The dining areas are all nicely presented in particular the outside dining areas. Although I spent little time in the Spa for what I am told it is also nicely presented.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kadir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

new design hotel with nice facilities but some litte problems. just returned from one week stay and the staff hast some service problems in high season. breakfast is really terrible because everything on the small little buffet is always empty. you wait and fight for food. not very nice. cleanliness is rather on the average to poor level so dont expect the slh standards you know from asia. service could be improved.

Room Tip: all rooms nice, please be aware that the pool suite is on the lower level so no great view there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trinebine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay last July 2012 in Aqua Blu. It is true we had some issues regarding service last year as it was the first year of operation and we were trying hard to find the right way and people to improve our service and standards. Thankfully we managed to do so on time and with your kind feedback and observations we closed with a very successful first year after all. It would be great to have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future, so we could get the chance to make it up for any inconvenience on your first experience but mostly for you to realize that we have seriously considered your comments and constructive feedback.
Best Regards and warm wishes for a lovely summer!
Maria Strati, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We visited this hotel in June and had a fantastic time. Unfortunately my mother was taken ill so we only stayed 4 nights in a pool room. When we arrived we were welcomed by the Hotel manager Maria who does a brilliant job. The Hotel is new so Maria was there to support her team and make sure any teething problems were sorted. We both used the SPA and  had some fantastic treatments. We found all of the staff tentative, frendly and nothing was a problem including the chief who is only too pleased to cook your special request. We will defiantly return to finish our holiday.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Catriona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Relaxing holidays in smooth atmosphere; new hotel in chicque architecture with very good food (Greek style). Spectacular view to bodrum (turkey). Comfortable rooms - helpful staff. Good for couples - for kids it might be boring.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Openned 2 months ago this hotel has a very chicque arcitecture. Simple plain nevertheless in high quality. Sunset is gorgeous from the hotel.
Since it is a new hotel , service should be improved.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nursah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

new hotel, well designed . the rooms and the hotel facilities are great. the pool is very nice. the hotel is very quit and great for relax.ver nice spac (free) .the location is 20 minutes walking from the center of kos town, at the end of the landscape.no privet beach , but ver close to lambi beach.
recommended for couples who want relax and quit vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
2.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#7 of 48 in Kos Town
812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
901 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa

Address: Lambi Beach, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: £109 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel & Spa is the ultimate destination of luxury and contemporary design, and the only proud member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World on Kos Island. The hotel is a beautiful corner property right on the waterfront, and one of its greatest assets is the white sandy beach just steps from the hotel. A short, landscaped bicycle and car road to the center of the harbor and the historic town of Kos serves as a connection to the nearby town and its various attractions.With guest rooms with sea view overlooking the Aegean Sea and the Turkish coast, the hotel emits a sense of light and serenity, while visitors will be enchanted by the incredible sunsets. The hotel’s luxurious and contemporary guest rooms have been meticulously designed by renowned professionals and provide innovative features that use the latest technology and attractive design elements.A state of the art Fitness Center staffed with talented training experts, a beauty salon, and a revitalizing Health and Wellness Center are a perfect complement to the hotel’s enticing rooms and ambiance. A wide selection of spa treatments and facilities such as a Turkish Hammam, a heated swimming pool, and relaxing massage rooms provide the ultimate body and mind escape and relief.The stunning location, proximity to town, and beach access coupled with exceptional service and ambiance make the Aqua Blu the ultimate boutique hotel for the most demanding traveler of Kos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing