We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This is a really lovely hotel. Arrived late to a great welcome from the manager and staff. Rooms are lovely although sea view was not quite what we expected! Shower is low and there's no
Mirror on the dressing table which is frustrating but everything else is perfect. Breakfast was delicious every day. Food And drink is expensive but first class service and quality. BBQ evening watching the subset was lovely. Bike hire isreally cheap and well worth it but go done nearer the town to get best prices rather than paying 4 euros fr the hotel.. Pool was busy and although management say they will remove towels from sunbeds not used we did not see this happening. Loved the staff here great bunch of people. Would definitely come back and thoroughly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaycex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding your recent stay at Aqua Blu. We are really glad we managed to offer you a memorable holiday experience.
About the full length mirrors, you are absolutely right, they are definitely necessary and we are planning to place them soon in all rooms. We already have them in some rooms, but not all of them yet.
We are very glad you enjoyed our sunset BBQ event!
About the towels at the pool, I do not remember ever mentioning we would remove guest’s towels, except if some other staff member from my management team said something that was misunderstood. The towel system in the hotel used to be a bit chaotic, as a result we decided for the guests convenience and faster service as well as the hotel’s better organization to adopt the following procedure: we place in every guest room 2 beach/pool towels daily, we expect the guests to return them to the room and housekeeping replaces them with new ones every evening. Nevertheless as we want to provide a further luxurious service to our guests, we have our pool boy who is willing to exchange a wet towel with a fresh one or even provide an extra towel if needed at any time of the day. About guests leaving their towels on the sun beds, if they go for lunch and come back, we cannot remove their towels, but if they go out of the hotel for long and forget to take them away, then we do remove them. We would prefer as we do have enough space for everyone, not to put any strict rules to our guests during their holidays, this is the reason why we do not charge deposits for towels like other hotels do. We want to believe that in a 5 star hotel, guests would be considerate and respectful to other guests and the hotel’s complimentary services.
Nevertheless I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to guest’s not removing their towels for long at the pool or for thinking that we promised something we did not deliver.
Thank you once again for taking the time to kindly review our hotel and hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Aqua Blu sometime soon in the near future.
Best Regards, Maria Strati, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    88
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
515
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just returned form a lovely 2 week holiday at the Aqua Blu. I read with interest, other reports of overbooking and we experienced the same. We were lead to believe that it was a one-off but this is clearly not the case. We were put in a hotel approx. 5K from Aqua Blu and Kos town and it was not an adults only hotel. It was only for one night but we feel that if this practice of over booking continues it will start to put people off. We had booked back in January so it wasn't as though it was a last minute deal. That said, we did enjoy our stay at the hotel...the facilities and staff were excellent (particularly the cleaners) The breakfasts were a little disappointing compared to other hotels we have stayed at but the other food was very good. On one occasion we did have cause to mention to the manager about an ordered breakfast that got delayed and she was very apologetic, offered us a complimentary lunch and from then on, made every effort to ensure our stay was a pleasant one...which we appreciated. The management are keen to address any issues raised which makes a refreshing change. Reception staff are very helpful, and there are lots of nice touches which all go to making the hotel one to remember.
A lovely hotel worthy of the SLH badge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Aqua Blu. It is a great pleasure to realize we managed to offer you a memorable holiday experience.
I deeply apologize for the first night over booking. As I have been honestly explaining to all our guests who had the experience of having to be relocated for one or more nights, we had a colleague at the beginning of the season at the reservations department who by the time we realized her incompetence, the damage to our bookings was already done. The result were several over bookings, your case was not the only one and I am sorry if you were mislead to believe so. We are being very honest to our guests here and we do anything possible to make it up to them for any inconvenience, so if you thought we tried to mislead you I really apologize, but it is definitely not what we intended.
About your breakfast incident, again I am sorry for that and thank you for appreciating my efforts to ensure we got it right ever since. We cannot avoid human mistakes in the service industry, but at least in this hotel, if something goes wrong that I am aware of, I will do anything in my power to put things right for my guests. I am very happy to read I managed to make you feel better after that.
Once again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and I really hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Aqua Blu sometime soon in the near future.
All the best, Maria Strati, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Together with many other couples who have stayed here we had a lovely holiday. We did have a false start as the hotel was over booked on our arrival and we were located for the 1st night in another hotel. It was disappointing but the hotel manager explained what had happened on our arrival day 2 and the hotel offered complimentary spa treatment for myself and my husband. The room, restaurant, pool and bar were fantastic. The gem for Maria is the fact the staff are so lovely and really look after you. We hired pedal bikes which the hotel arranged for us and we really enjoyed our days out. The cycle paths are wonderful a real change for Greece roads to feel safe on a cycle. We have stayed in other hotels of this group and the Aqua Blu does not to disappoint. To read that the empty bar opposite will be taken and run by the hotel for next year can only be a good thing. I found Maria very friendly and eager to offer help, offer advice and service. For those people who say anything different they simply didn't take the time to chat with her. The hotel does attract couples (thank goodness no children) it's a class act. The only thing we would comment is that the buffet breakfast hot food offer needed to be checked as more often than not the food was Luke warm. The eggs hot food menu was fab and served to you which was great but really the self serve offer needs to be as good. When you have such a high standard in most places the things that are below par stand out. Saying all this we loved it here and would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Aqua Blue Hotel & Spa this past weekend. The service was great, the staff was nice and catering to all of our needs. The fact that the hotel is for adults only made the experience relaxing, quiet, and exclusive.
The hotel restaurant was good, slightly expensive but the food was served beautifully and was tasty as well.
We stayed in a room with a private pool which was really nice. The pool water was a bit cold but we still took a dip once or twice and enjoyed the private experience. The only thing is that there was no shade in this area so unless we wanted to burn in the sun, we had to switch over to the general pool region.
The decor of the hotel is modern and elegant. The location is close by to Kos town (a 10 minute bicycle ride away or 30 minute walk) but is not in the midst of the nightlife.

So all in all, we had a great experience. This is a wonderful elegant boutique hotel, small, but great for relaxing and secluding yourself. Not ideal if you wish to be around people and mingle in a vibrant nightlife. We loved that it was for adults only.

Room Tip: choose the room with the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Aqua Blu at the beginning of June. I can't think of enough words to describe how beautiful it is. We booked through SLH which meant we had a complementary room upgrade and daily free cocktails. The room had a private pool and jacuzzi bath. What can I say? It was perfection.

Everyone who works here is very professional and beautiful, including the housekeeping staff. Towels were replenished twice a day, bedding changed at request and the turn down service added that little bit of extra luxury. The whole hotel has a sense of calm. I'm still dreaming of the pancakes at breakfast. The pool and cocktail waiters made us feel very special and helped make this wonderful holiday perfect. The pool area is just heavenly!

The hotel is a short walk from the bustle of Kos town which meant we didn't miss out on anything. I would recommend Mike's taverna for reasonably priced traditional food and Mylos beach bar for a relaxing drink in beautiful surroundings. Both a five minute walk from the hotel.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank L_H60Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidenhead england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Staff at this hotel are very good. The Hotel is modern with modernistic features such as glass doors on the toilet and open shower space. My son booked the Family into this hotel( 6 people) .He received an upgraded room for the entire holiday which was very nice. However although rated as a 5 star don not expect a welcome bottle of wine in your room on arrival ,and do not expect any Tea/Coffee facilities in your room. The breakfasts were good if you ordered freshly cooked eggs ,otherwise the buffet scrambled eggs were invariably cold . The Manager Maria was around most of the time it is a shame she could not have have spent less time walking around and a little more time ensuring that things like breakfast hot buffet were in fact hot.and the pool bar service was always very slow. Additionally my favourite Greek wine was not stocked and although the barman said he would obtain it never arrived .If these minor issues do not bother you the one one thing that should is the fact that KOS airport is dis-functional, unfit for purpose, and should be avoided at all cost.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the sea overlook an abandoned Bar which is visited by travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 943Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you had an overall great stay with us and really sorry we didn’t manage to totally fulfill your expectations.
We unfortunately do not provide bottles of wine into the rooms upon arrival. We do provide welcome cocktails upon check in to all our guests and a little treat in the room from the Chef. We also provide a cold plate in the room to our late arrivals, after 23pm when the kitchen is closed, so as not to leave our guests arriving very late go to bed without a bite.
We also do provide tea and coffee station facilities in the room upon request. We are working on placing them in all rooms, but for the moment we do provide the service upon request at the reception for any guest that wishes to have his tea or coffee in the room.
About the breakfast buffet and the slow service at the pool, I deeply apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced and wish you shared with me your observations while you were still here. One of the reasons I am so often around and the most important one is that I seek for your feedback in order to make things right according to your observations. Unfortunately you came at the exact period we went through an important change in our service department. The food and beverage manager left and we have since only a few days a new person at this position. Nevertheless, if our guests do not mention to me or my service staff or the food and beverage manager that the buffet items are not warm enough, we will not be able to advise the kitchen about such thing and take action. We never though had a complain of such kind about our breakfast buffet and we also offer a complimentary a la carte breakfast menu for the guests who prefer their hot breakfast to come straight from the kitchen instead of the buffet.
For the wine you requested to the barman and we did not manage to provide, i am really sorry. There is no excuse for that.
About the abandoned bar in front of the hotel I am really glad to inform you that it was recently taken by Aqua Blu, which means that it will, by next season, become part of our outlets, as a result it will look and operate as one of our departments.
Thank you once again for your time reviewing our hotel and hope we get the chance to welcome you back and manage to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Best Regards, Maria Strati, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Set away from the hustle and bustle of the bay, Aqua Blu is tranquil, serene yet hip. The room is perfect with every convenience, wonderfully thick gowns and great toiletries. The views of the sea are beautiful from everywhere with a western view from the inviting pool of a spectacular sunset. Best of all was the wonderful dinner served impeccably at Cuvée by master chef Stamatis Marmarinos. Every course was spectacular. Thank you Aqua Blu for a great experience and great service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakshmi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
2.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#7 of 48 in Kos Town
411 reviews
15.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa

Property: Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Address: Lambi Beach, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel & Spa is the ultimate destination of luxury and contemporary design, and the only proud member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World on Kos Island. The hotel is a beautiful corner property right on the waterfront, and one of its greatest assets is the white sandy beach just steps from the hotel. A short, landscaped bicycle and car road to the center of the harbor and the historic town of Kos serves as a connection to the nearby town and its various attractions.With guest rooms with sea view overlooking the Aegean Sea and the Turkish coast, the hotel emits a sense of light and serenity, while visitors will be enchanted by the incredible sunsets. The hotel’s luxurious and contemporary guest rooms have been meticulously designed by renowned professionals and provide innovative features that use the latest technology and attractive design elements.A state of the art Fitness Center staffed with talented training experts, a beauty salon, and a revitalizing Health and Wellness Center are a perfect complement to the hotel’s enticing rooms and ambiance. A wide selection of spa treatments and facilities such as a Turkish Hammam, a heated swimming pool, and relaxing massage rooms provide the ultimate body and mind escape and relief.The stunning location, proximity to town, and beach access coupled with exceptional service and ambiance make the Aqua Blu the ultimate boutique hotel for the most demanding traveler of Kos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing