We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, friendly place but expensive for what it is.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonia
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly place but expensive for what it is.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Sonia herself is very nice and gives good tips about where to go out to eat/hire bikes. We found this hotel in our guidebook and the list price there was €20-30 (2010 edition). For this price, we would have been happy. The room was clean and the hotel was well located in Kos Town. However, it seems there has been a bit of a price hike in the last year (probably after it was published in guidebooks) and we ended up paying more than €42 for a very simple room. Considering we had to share the bathroom with other people, and wait quite a long time at peak times, this is quite a lot of money and was the most expensive place we stayed in throughout our tour of Turkey and the Greek Islands.

We ate breakfast once (at €5 per person) but all we got was bread, coffee or tea, and packets of jam. We also got charged for the welcome frappes, which we thought were an extension of her well known hospitality. All in all, nice place with a nice, helpful family running it, but quite expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wasserflasche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    86
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
168
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

When i visited Kos with my girl to have a week of greek island vacations with a friend of ours i thought it would be just an ordinary week in an ordinary hotel. I was wrong . From the first moment we met with Sonia and her sons they treated us like they knew us for years. Their hospitality is great. When we entered Hotel Sonia i noticed that it was really clean . When we entered the room we could not believe it . The rooms are fully rennovated and it was everything an ordinary person could ask for. I could not imagine a more clear and big bathroom. Beds and furniture but also bathroom are all new and in GREAT condition. I was impressed also that the rooms did not had only air condition but Air fans too so we could adjust room temperaturers in our taste. The hotel location is really good because it is near the center of the city and we had access in whatever we wanted too. The trip to Kos by boat was really big and tiresome but for sure we would do it again and Hotel Sonia would be the place we would stay again and again.
Thank you all there and wish you the best.
Nick And Sophie

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Our first impact with this hotel was quite troubled: we booked a "full optional" double room with private bathroom, but we were had to spend our first night in a twin-bed room without bathroom. Fortunately we moved to the expected room the day after and in the end we obtained a discount from Afe (Sonia's son).
Afterwards we had a wonderful staying (2 weeks), Sonia gave us adivice on many restaurants and places to visit; moreover she sent us to a friend of hers (Moto Holiday) to rent a quad (he gave us a new quad - 1000 km - and we even got a good discount). The hotel is well-placed near the center and the docks, in a very quite area and there is a familiar environment.
A warning: yogourts, omelettes and fresh milk are not included in a "continental breakfast" and you have to pay an extraprice (just 1 euro) for them, however not every guest is informed on this (we were not!), when it would be simplier to write them on a menu!
In conclusion, this hotel has a lot to offer to guests and if the above-mentioned faults were corrected it could certainly become the best value-for-money hotel in Kos Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olyver_Minu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyriou, Owner at Hotel Sonia, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear I was pleased that you wrote a review about your recent stay at Hotel Sonia. However, I would like to clarify your remarks that the room you booked with private bathroom was not available for your first night for which I apologize once again for the inconvenience but sometimes our guests decide to extend their stay so we try to accommodate their needs. Concerning your comment about the breakfast, to avoid any confusion we will place a price list on the tables for all guests to read for the Continental breakfast and additional breakfast items and also a bar list.
Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you once again. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Kos. With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schoten, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Sonia hotel is great place if you want to have a relaxing time at Greece (KOS). If you have any questions dont be afraid to ask Sonia or her sons, they will help you with everything and MUCH MORE! We went to many places and we have never met such wonderful people. They made us feel at home in KOS. If you want to have a nice breakfast, clean rooms en warm service you have to stay here! Next week we will be back for sure! Thanx to Sonia and her sons, Kathy and Kwame.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwameduwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos Town, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Outstanding service... -breakfast served at Your table, 'a la carte'... Many, many excellent Pieces of advise, how to make the Kos visit as pleasant as possible...

The rooms refurbished in 2011, tiles in the bathroom, private balcony....

By your own Airline Ticket, or take the ferry... Hotel Sonia is In the middle of the town, yet in a quiet spot, easy to locate, and even more easy to appreciate!

We intend to return... :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VikingTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

My two grand daughters and I were delayed by the strikes in Athens and arrived very late in Kos -- 1:00 in the morning. Sonia was there waiting up for us with hugs. Can you imagine that! She and her family treated us just like their family. And her omelletes -- wonderful. And to top it off her son took us to the marina to catch our boat after our stay. Talk about wonderful accomodations. I can highly recommend staying here. It is like coming home.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller7chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Great position with comfortable rooms that have been renovated except for some that are still basic. Breakast means tea and bread and jam. The most helpful wonderul people that are full of information to make your trip memorable. Value for money .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimnoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
1.2 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#4 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#21 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koala Hotel
Koala Hotel
#11 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#84 of 224 in Kos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonia

Property: Hotel Sonia
Address: 9 Irodotou Str., Kos Town, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kos Town
#6 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011 and again 2012 Hotel Sonia is centrally located in the center of Kos Town with a beautiful view of the ancient Roman ruins parallel to the harbor. Shops, buses, taxis, restaurants and clubs are all within a 50 meter walk in addition to the spectacular Kos beaches only 100 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonia Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing