We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Hotel Afendoulis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Afendoulis
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Do not even consider Hotel Afendoulis a Hotel, it more staying with friends! I have stayed here twice already, and would easily go back! Have never stayed in a hotel and felt more at home. The staff are extremely friendly and make you feel very comfortable. The best part is you get to experience the Greek culture and hospitality right from your hotel. The staff are always willing to help and their advice on where to go and what to do is spot on. Really enjoyed staying there. Oh and best omelet breakfast EVER :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Very comfortable proper greek hotel - ideal for a few nights when island-hopping. The hotel is in a quiet side-street, 2 minutes from the coast/beach, and a 10 minute level walk from the ferry terminal. The rooms are not huge but have all you need, and in good condition. Homemade breakfast is 5 euros, but well worth it - be sure to have the cheese omelette, and choose from the largest selection of home-made jams and marmalades I've ever been offered. The hotel offers free wifi. Alexis and his family and staff very friendly and helpful. It was his wife's birthday the day we arrived - and (with greek hospitality to the fore - as usual) we were invited to join the extended family/friends gathering for cake and wine. Selection of restaurants within 5 minutes walk (all better than the tourist traps around the harbour) - we particularly liked Ali's the Turkish one (but with plenty of greek dishes).
The Afendoulis hotel is definitely on our select list of 'will stay there again' if/when passing through Kos (and it will only ever be 'passing through' as we prefer the small, quieter, 'more-greek' islands)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed for a night, om our way to Leros. It was nice, quiet and a generel postive experience. With a origin greek atmosphere. Staff was very helpful, with good places to eat, and ferry tickets. Homemade breakfast is 5 €.
Recommendable !!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duus-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

A comfortable convenient place, very friendly, welcoming and helpful people. Reasonable restaurants very close at hand and a fairly short walk to the ferries. Alexis got ferry tickets delivered to the hotel for us at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We always come back to Alexis and Dionysia at Afendoulis. You will not find more hospitality and helpfulness anywhere. It's just like coming home.The rooms - especially the bathrooms - are not big, but very clean and every room has a refrigerator and aircondition, and furthermore there is wireless Internet access. There is a lot of noise in Kos City, but Afendoulis is situated in a very quiet area, though you are only a few minutes walk from the city center.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UllaCph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. They made us feel like family and worked really hard to make our stay comfortable. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. The hotel is located just outside the main, party part, of town so offers a quiet yet convenient location. Alexis worked hard to organize our transportation needs and offered wonderful suggestions for dinner and daytime activities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for a few nights earlier this year. Alexis, his wife and daughter were extremely welcoming, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good and varied. Dyonisia's home made jams were delicious. Being a short walk out of town this little hotel offers real value for money. Definitely one to return to.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoukaAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos Town hotels
1.2 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
909 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.1 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#7 of 48 in Kos Town
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kos Junior Suites
Kos Junior Suites
#22 of 48 in Kos Town
131 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aeolos Beach Hotel
The Aeolos Beach Hotel
#10 of 48 in Kos Town
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yiorgos
Hotel Yiorgos
#27 of 48 in Kos Town
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Afendoulis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Afendoulis

Address: 1 Evripilou, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed for its friendliness and informal atmosphere, Afendoulis Hotel is a family owned and operated hotel, conveniently located in a quiet area very close to Kos town center and the yachting Marina. The beach is only a hundred meters away. Shops, restaurants, bars and night-life activities, car, bicycle and motorbike rental are all very close by. Located on a tranquil, tree-lined street just off the beach road on the eastern part of town, Afendoulis Hotel is perfect for families as well as the more discerning back-packing traveller. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afendoulis Hotel Kos Town
Hotel Afendoulis Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing