We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Afendoulis
Nearby Hotels
Leonidas Hotel & Studios(Kos Town)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonia(Kos Town)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Aegeon Hotel(Kos Town)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maritina Hotel(Kos Town)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$175
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aegean Houses(Kos Town)
US$71
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$43
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Alice Springs Hotel(Kos Town)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
236
47
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
47
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamsyogurtfeta omelettebreakfast was deliciouswonderful hostshome away from homefuture son in lawfamily feelingquiet side streetwarm hospitalitytraditional greek hotelthis lovely family run hotelhelpful familyexcellent hospitalityamazing familyrooms are cleanconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you are looking for a trustworthy, comfortable and low priced hotel in Kos Town the Hotel Afendoulis is the best place to go for. Alexis and his family are wonderful hosts and we never felt like being foreigners who never met before. It was almost like being at home.

The hotel is located close to the seaside of Kos Town only a few walking minutes away from the harbour and the city center of Kos. The public bus station to the airport is a bit further away but you can still reach it by foot if carrying your baggage is not too much of a problem. Alexis was kind enough to offer a ride to the bus station but we opted for a walk.

About the hotel itself, the rooms are clean and well furnished – they leave nothing to be desired for tight sleep. Our bathroom looked a bit used but everything worked properly and nothing looked shabby. There was a TV in the room – for those who need it – and free Wi-Fi available. A tiny elevator connects the upper floors.

For a small additional fee we were offered breakfast and we can only recommend to invest in it. Alexis' wife serves a tasty breakfast and offers an excellent set of jams. You really do miss something if you don't try them!

Thanks Alexis and famility for the fantastic and lovely service you provided.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcnobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel Afendoulis prime asset is the wonderful family running it. You immediately feel welcome, and you will get loads of good tips on how to spend your days in Kos. When we left we even got help with the luggage to the port. The rooms are clean and quiet, the breakfast with home-made marmelade is very nice. We asked for a balcony which was nice. The location is central, and we can recomend trying barbas right across the restaurant for good greek food. A great stay for us!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knut Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Afendoulis and immediately were taken aback by the incredibly warm hospitality of Alexis, his wife, and daughter. They gave us superb dinner recommendations (went back twice to Mavromatis and got entirely different fabulous meals), loved the car rental guy they recommended, and what to see and do on the island. You can't miss with the price, convenient location and warm consideration from this family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

There is always a sincere welcome from Alexis and family when arriving at Afendoulis, Late or early, arriving by air or sea, nothing is too much trouble to ensure you are comfortably ensconced as soon as you step through the jasmine scented patio into this small and comfortable hotel. Situated just five minutes walk from the centre of Kos, the Afendoulis is in a quiet residential street just a stroll from the sea and views to the Turkish mainland.

Alexis' breakfasts are justifiably famed featuring conserves made from fruit grown on his own farm, after a comfortable night's sleep in air-conditioned rooms each with their own balcony.

Afendoulis gets a great many visitors from Europe and beyond. Everyone appreciates Alexis' encyclopaedic knowledge of Kos Island and the ways and means of getting to the smaller islands of the Dodecanese.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treynetta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We agree with other reviews listing Hotel Afendoulis as excellent. Arrived late in the afternoon from Athens. Alexis was very welcoming and informative. We had dinner across the road that night - many good restaurants close by. Hotel Afendoulis location is excellent. We hired bikes for 3 consecutive days - riding generally flat, with a few hills (and great views) to the thermal springs. Good designated bicycle paths in Kos Town. We rode to Asclepio ruins, which was amazing.

Room Tip: We were at the front - looking down to the restaurant.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimChrisGladigau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews