We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dirty dump.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sophia Beach Aparthotel
Ranked #52 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dirty dump.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Sophia Beach apartments in August 2010 for a week and it was the worst week of our lives. The apartment and the complex is filthy. The bathroom was totally discusting and we had to sleep on filthy stained bedding. We had dirty kitchen ware to use and were given one dirty glass to share. There were dead insects all over the ceilings and walls and blood all over. The air con is pointless and the room is so hot we couldn't get any sleep. The staff are rude and ignorant. I would rather never travel again than go to Sophia beach again. If you are going to stay in the area I would recomend Alice springs hotel next door, George and Barbara are very welcoming and a pleasure to meet.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birchcatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    7
    21
    20
See reviews for
30
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

The gypsy camp is still there, dont believe what the agents in the UK say, we did and ended up with the worst holiday of our lives. The location is terrible, smashed up buildings with graffiti, dogs baking, abandoned cars, German techno blasting out, gangs of young Dutch lads roaming about from room to room at all hours shouting. The air con did not work in any room, no hot water, ill fitting windows and doors. I know there are some good reviews on here, thats why we gave it a chance, BIG MISTAKE. We had to moved the next day, even the taxi drivers said we had done the right thing. Please learn from our mistake DO NOT TAKE A YOUNG FAMILY !!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TackleberryDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kos Town hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

My partner and myself stayed at the Sophia Beach between 22nd June and the 8th July and we certainly wished we would have taken some of the reviews a bit more seriously. It was just a shame we had already booked before visiting tripadvisor!!

So I'll start with the good points because there were some! The rooms are a fantastic size for a couple! Plenty of room, all the cooking facilities you may need (alhough we never used them), lovely spacious balcony in the sun and most importantly it is not too far from the beach and is only a short stroll to bars/restaurants.

Now for the bad points of which there are considerably more. I'll start with the general 'Greek' hospitality at the hotel. Of which was non-existent. After being ignored by all of the staff for two days we started to wonder what we had done wrong. We didn't expect red carpets but a friendly good morning/evening would not have gone a miss! George the owner never left his pool bar not even to have a general chit chat with his guests which is often something which makes a hotel more memorable. He seemed so miserable and like the last thing he wanted was to chat to anyone. We slowly got the impression that it was not in any of the staffs interest to make sure your holiday was a good one but just to give a basic service to get us through our stay. The only time we ever saw his wife Sophia was when she was sat in the shop chatting. She never seemed approachable and if i hadn't have been told I would not have expected her to be anything to do with the hotel.

Every morning we were woken at between 4-5am by groups of young girls/lads coming back drunk. They had no respect for other guests and one morning my partner actually had to go and ask two of them to move away from outside our apartment door as they were having a casual chat at 4am!!! We also had to ask reception to ask guests to turn down their blaring music from 12am onwards. Then came the 7am wake up calls from the cleaners shouting the odds every morning. This is not a good place to stay if you like a half decent nights sleep and the youth club atmosphere certainly doesn't help towards this. On one particular morning there was a screaming argument coming from the reception area which sounded quite heated! We went to see what was going on to see other guests staying who were Greek looking rather concerned. This didn't seem good to us! We never got an apology for any of these events.

These apartments are not cleaned every day and I'm quite sure our bed linen was only changed twice as there was a stain on one sheet from when we arrived that was still there well towards the end of the week. We also had ants in our room covering the work top to which nobody came to look at for us, even after asking.

Moan over :) We finally found a light at the end of the tunnel in the form of Alice Springs located next door. We thought we would try their pool one day as we had nothing to lose and the difference in hospitality was unreal. George and Barbara and their son Elias were the most fantastic hosts who obviously enjoyed the company of each and everyone of their guests. They have a lovely shady garden area which they made us feel welcome to use everyday. This was so quiet we often used it to catch up on our lack of sleep. We were always greeted warmly and asked how our holiday was going so far. We were made to feel like we were staying at their hotel rather than at Sophia! It was just such a shame we had never read the reviews before booking our holiday. This hotel has a real family atmosphere with George constantly playing the joker and entertaining the guests. Barbara is just a lovely lady and we can't thank the pair of them enough for making our holiday so fantastic. These hotels are worlds apart. We often sat on our balcony looking over at Alice Springs and joked about how that was our real holiday home.

A funny memory is the note we received under our apartment door one day. After a week of going over to Alice Springs the note read along the lines of:

'We at Sophia Beach we try hard to make our guests happy. If we have insulted you in anyway we apologise.'

This was on a scrap piece of paper. How strange. Anyway I took it down to reception in much confusion to where i was told George had seen us walking over to next door everyday and wanted to know why. This made me quite angry as he had obviosuly been coming out onto the road to watch us walk into Alice Springs!! If we had been walking to the beach everyday would he have questioned that? We doubted it very much and are pretty sure it was more about where we were spending our money.

So...Overall we had a fantastic holiday in Kos. It really is a great place to go and as a couple who vow never to return to places as there is so many other places to see, we can safely say we wouldn't hesitate in returning to this fantastic island to stay with the fantastic hosts at Alice Springs. We have already recommended it to family and friends, something we have never done before! We highly recommend visiting Tigaki one day as the beach is fantastic and do not pay the excursion prices to vist Paradise Beach - you will be hugely disappointed. Get the bus for 4 euros each instead. If you're smart you will take this advice and think carefully before booking to stay at the Sophia Beach! You can have a holiday 100 times better just by staying next door.

Thanks Barbara and George, missing Kos already! Hannah and Nicki x

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Stayed at this Hotel with three teenagers and a baby and we had a fab time. We were really close to the beach and although there are gypsies next door they never bothered you. The main Kos town was a lovely 15-20 minute walk either down the street with loads of shops to browse in or you could go down the beach past all the lovely restuarants and being really nice weather it was great. The only issue I found was and no had mentioned it was the Mosquitos that came out at night I wasnt prepared for them. So make sure you take insect repellent with you. The accomadation was cleaned every day and sheets and towels changed daily. The room was spacious and included microwave kettle toaster and air conditioning at no extra cost. In some greek destinations the accomadation has been shocking but here it was lovely. There is a supermarket on site, however if you go to the top of the road there is a big supermarket that I found to be the cheapest and when you are self catering this is just what you need. I also found a great English/Greek restuarant called The Sunburnt Arms down on the beach that is owned by Sam and Yanis who are actually so friendly and make you feel so welcome that you have to go back so this is a must to visit. There roast beef sunday dinner is like being at home (only youre on the beach with endless Sunshine) hope this review helps and happy holidays. Becky and Pip from Birmingham

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyboo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

The rooms are spacious and cleaned regularly and the staff are helpful and friendly, yes even George in the pool bar, but forb those reviewers who say the Gypsy camp next door dosent bother them, they obviously didnt have the room with the balcony view of the scrap yard, and didnt have the pleasure of being woken at 6am every morning by the sound of screaming women and children, dogs barking and scrap being moved around. Nor must they have been pestered every night when leaving the hotel by said women and children begging for money because they need food (apparently). The surrounding area looks like war torn Beirut with derelict factories on both sides of the road, and no you dont notice the strip club unless you come back to the hotel late and the ladies are hanging out of the door talking to clients. Lesson learnt. I will never book a holiday without reviewing the hotel first.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

When reading the reviews for this property I must admit we were a bit nervous about staying here. We arrived in the afternoon to young Sophia at reception she was really polite and helpful and told us where our room was and offered us the safety deposit box, this was 15 euros but worth that security. She told us to leave the key at recpetion everytime we go out, I thought this was incase we lost it, but it is so that the maids clean your rooms. The maids came loads of times I cant remember how many in the week we were there but we had clean towels, clean sheets and a clean room!!!!
The staff at recpetion were lovely, day and night, and we never had a problem. George at the pool bar kept himself to himself really but when we did have a chat to him he was really nice and quite funny actually. He has a great cat called Tony Blair!! ha. The food at the pool bar not great though, we went blue pheonix down the road most days and we only went there as it was close, food was ok there, better places to eat in town but when its that hot we just couldnt be bothered!
Now...the gypsies, there are gypsies next to the hotel....but they keep themselves to themselves they never bothered us or even spoke to us to be honest, so we didnt really see them as a problem. To be fair Lambi is in urgent need of a face lift as its messy and run down but Kos town is beautiful and busy with plenty to do day and night, would reccommed renting push bikes they an easy way to get about nice and quick and everyone uses them over there and they only 2 euros a day! bargain!
Reccommend jazzmine resturant on the front by the harbour very reasonable prices, and great food and service we ate there nearly every night!
There is nothing wrong with the Sophia Beach, its nice, clean and spacious accommodation, right on the beach with a nice pool and friendly staff- no problems! Room 127 is a nice room overlooking the pool by the way!
Thanks for a lovely holiday Sophia beach!!

Natalie and Steve
Stoke on Trent

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAtAlie88_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

we all had a brill time, all the staff are excellent.michael and young sophia on the desk so very helpful.george is a top man(get to know him).and sophia was fantastic.thanks for a great 40th birthday(17-9-09).made great friends.we miss you all.we will 100% go back!! can't believe the bad reports,the england match we all watched in the pool bar with george(english for the night) with jimmy and family great time had by all.ask george for all the local tips.PHIL,ALISON CALUM AND FALLON.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calandfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.3 mi away
Kosta Palace
Kosta Palace
#94 of 224 in Kos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#20 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#81 of 224 in Kos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Veroniki
Hotel Veroniki
#182 of 224 in Kos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jasmine Hotel Apartments
Jasmine Hotel Apartments
#12 of 31 in Kos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia Beach Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia Beach Aparthotel

Property: Sophia Beach Aparthotel
Address: Lambi, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sophia Beach Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Beach Aparthotel Hotel Kos Town
Sophia Beach Aparthotel kós
Sophia Beach Aparthotel Hotel kós
Sophia Beach Aparthotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing