We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel”
Review of Apollon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel 23-30/06/12, was a bit scared to go after bad reviews written here. But to our suprise it was a very nice and no complains what so ever. We stayed in the room 432, its a separate building of 10 or so rooms if there are more then 2 people. Very nice and quiet side of hotel. Food was good as for all inclusive budget holidays, lost of vegies and every day different variety of meals, which was nice. Hotel staff very nice and polite, rooms cleaned every day no problems and towels changed every day. Every morning in the swiming pool some classes for everyone, then during the day animation team keeps you busy, there were childern hours where they were dancing and singing and realy enjoying there time, every evening events going all in english language. DJ Max is excellent and keeps everyone entertained. Beach is about 5 min walk through the hotel oposit the apollon, town is within 20 min slow walking. To eat in the town is not expensive at all, they offer deals everywhere. Two coctails 7 euros in the restaurant. We took a trip by boat round other 3 islands, cost per person 30 euros, that includes lovely meal on board. They will stop at every island and let you wonder around for hour or so. Then the other day we took day trip to Turkey - Bodrum, cost 30 euros too, including turist visa. Apollon in Kos is a very nice place for families, couples and all others if you want relaxing holidays. There are lots off night clubs in Kos town, ask DJ Alex if you want to go there he will recomed best places, we went to the night club and had realy good time, no drunk people everyone was enjoing there holidays. Hopefuly that helps to make your mind :)
Jurgita

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    120
    50
    29
    17
See reviews for
85
146
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. The hotel is spotlessly clean and beautiful. The food and service is top class and the pool area and sunbeds an absolute delight.

There is a good balance of nationalities and as the hotel is relatively small there is a great ambience and easy to get to know other guests especially during the animation sessions of Aqua gym (such fun!). The entertainment in the evening starts with a mini disco for the children which they love followed by various programmes that are always entertaining and sometime quite interactive with the audience.

I would recommend this hotel for all ages including families with young children.

The hotel is a good 20 minutes walk from the main area of Kos town but is a pleasant and easy walk with lots to see en route. However, there are regular buses that pass and taxis are cheap and easy to hail down or book.

It is also very easy and cheap to hire bikes and there are cycle paths everywhere.

Do visit the old town of Kos as this is a lovely area to wander around with lovely gift shops.

I will be returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Rooms are ok but the toilet system is loud as u can hear ur neighbors flushing their loos. also the hotel caters for loud hairy Germans. food is ok but some days there was nothing for us yo eat. kos town is about 20min walk but its really lively there. nice as it was a relaxing stay but i would not come here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmwm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We spent a week at the Apollon in August and decided early on we wouldnt be spending alot of time at the hotel, it claims to be a 4* and is barely a 3* the food is almost inedible, breakfast is cooked ham (meant to be bacon?) egg were scrambled in a large food tin and taste foul, sausages were hotdogs? and later on that day the leftover hotdogs had been made into a pasta dish mmmm we hired a quad bike from across the road, was told it was a 80cc and was nothing more then a 50cc (bicycles actually passed us!) we took it back for a larger (more expensive) quad and it had a flat back tyre and leaked oil all over my sandles, we then took that back, complained and got ignored until we walked away. We spent all our money on decent food even though we had paid half board, i would recommend spending nights in Kos town or another part of the island as their is not alot to do in Lampi, if you do venture into town be prepared to be constantly heckled by beggers, resturant owners, bar owners etc after the 3rd night in Kos i stopped been polite and just ignored them, a shame because their is parts of Kos that are worth seeing, just a shame this hotel and part of town let the island down

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynsey989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We love that place and we want to propose it to everybody.
Near the town center, oposite the sandy beach of Lambi.
The owner Manis was very friendly.
Tip. rent a bike.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Inspectio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We didn't pay much for this hotel but as it was advertised as 4* we were expecting something reasonably decent. This hotel is definately not a 4*. It is more like a 3. We were put in a small bungalow near the main hotel. Other than it being away from all the pool noise and it being a reasonable size the bathroom smelt and the floors were dirty. It was as if no one had used it all year. The air conditioning didn't work properly. When we put it on it dripped water everywhere and when we complained the receptionist said they would sort it. It was not sorted, we had to complain again and in the end we gave up. The caretaker turned up and wanted to paint in our room which were were also surprised at! The shower curtain was mouldy and ripped also. You could not use the fridge that was provided and there was no way of plugging it in!!

We were wanting a relaxing holiday where we could lie by the pool all day. Unfortunately there was never any sunbeds free. You needed to get up at 5am to go and put your towel out (as we observed others doing when coming back from a night out!!) On the plus side, when you did get a bed they were very comfortable and there were places to get out of the sun if you wished.The pool is lovely and clean, as was the area around it. We ended up at another hotel linked to the Apollon most of the holiday as we could get a sunbed there. It wasn't as nice a pool though and we couldn't get food or drink which we had paid for.

The food was ok, something different most night and the salads were lovely. Overall the hotel staff were a little ignorant and rude, especially the bar lady!! She has a plastic crocodile that she squeaks at you if you are doing something she doesn't like, like trying to get an ice cream out of the freezer next to the bar and them being ones you have to pay for!! (No sign!) We paid for all inclusive. It was not all inclusive as you could not have what drinks you wanted. You had a very small choice of about 5 spirits, beer, wine and soft drinks. Not great if you're expecting to be able to drink the local equivalent to archers and malibu!

This hotel seems to be popular withpeople from other areas of Europe as there were very few British there. We felt quite lonely, not talking much to other holiday makers. Overall the best aspect of this hotel was the entertainment. We had a great time every night and the two guys who did it were very friendly. Definately the best part of our holiday!!

The hotel is quite near Kos town, 5 minute bike ride (we hired bikes as the taxi's were on strike!) This was great for going into town and there were shops and bars right near the hotel which were very useful. There was a supermarket a few minutes down the road where you could buy everything you needed. There was a beach very nearby too.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were apparently smelly and dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Apollon's like a good 3 stars hotel, not 4. Sometime you wait to sit down during breakfast or dinner time and often you have only pork or only fish dishes and there's always the same plumcake! Every morning there's a competition to reserve a sunbed with your towel – 180 rooms and about 50 sunbeds, more or less. Every room have air-conditioning but some night there has been a power-cut and so … !!! In my room there was a wall cupboard … two pieces of wood ( room num. 431). The swimming pool is beatuful but dirty and every morning a man, avoiding someone's eyes, spout something – I don't know what.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank elfurla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#14 of 48 in Kos Town
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Boheme Hotel
Boheme Hotel
#29 of 48 in Kos Town
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#9 of 48 in Kos Town
639 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sovereign Beach Hotel
Sovereign Beach Hotel
#16 of 39 in Kardamena
797 reviews
12.8 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#4 of 16 in Mastichari
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollon Hotel

Property: Apollon Hotel
Address: Nea Alikarnassos | Lambi, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apollon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Hotel kós
Apollon Hotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing