We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel/staff/location/food, however there are a few issues that could make this a much better hotel”
Review of Hotel Atlantis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Atlantis
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here on an a 'all inclusive', and there are some good points and not so good.The hotel is situated on the beach which was good.The food was okay, not exceptional, but was fine The staff are very friendly, the rooms very clean. However the beds are very very hard, so you need to ask for a mattress topper. It would have been handy if the hotel had irons you could use, or laundry service.We had to go into town to get our clothes ironed. [ we where there for a wedding]. Also a kettle in the room would have been a nice touch[us english and our need for a decent cuppa]. The hotel could really do with alot more sun beds, otherwise get up early.The restaurant area could appear small, but that is only when the hotel is busy, so once you have worked out the best time to dine, it is not a major issue. And the best times are when the restaurant first opens. All in all, nice hotel, nice food, nice staff...just a few small details that could make this hotel much much better

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielq377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner visited this hotel for a fortnight on the above dates and didn't really know what to expect after reading some negative reviews, but overall we found our stay lovely.

We checked in and the receptionist took us to our room which was good as we'd never of found it and it was one of the bungalows which was lovely as it was over looking the sea. Our towels and bedding were changed every 2 days and the maid provided us with more pillows without us even asking which was a bonus.

The bar maid that ran the beach bar and the evening indoor bar was lovely and had our drinks ready as we walked up to the bar.

The food was a bit repetitive and as we're quite fussy eaters it was sometimes hard to find things to eat but breakfast was great as pancakes were on offer, the poolside snack bar had pizza, sandwiches pancakes too so we never went hungry.

We did go out for meals on an evening and there are plenty of good restaurants near the hotel we never had one bad meal and service was good in them all.

Kos town was a 15 minute walk or the bus stop was just outside the hotel, which I recommend to visit.

Use your free visit to the waterpark it was an enjoyable day out and free transfers you can't go wrong.

Other guests felt the need to push in the queues, just push in front of them they soon get the picture.

The animation team tried their best to get everyone involved and there was some funny shows on the evening, but other shows needed work which they knew but I felt they tried their best. The dance shows they did were enjoyed by everyone.

Hotel is in a good location and we would definitely return to hotel Atlantis.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank my_names_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We have just returned from a 2-week holiday (19th June 2013 - 3rd July 2013). On arrival at the Atlantis the very impressive reception and the gardens around the hotel gave the impression that we had chosen well.
The room was of a reasonable size, with a good size balcony on the 2nd floor of one of the annex blocks, overlooking the gardens and with a side sea view. There was a small kitchenette with a fridge (no door on the ice box) and a 2 ring hot-plate. Luckily we were all inclusive as there were no plates, cutlery or cooking utensils! The bathroom was equipped with a bath with a shower over it, sink and WC. We found that if you were not in the shower by about 6.00pm, the hot water ran out till later that evening. The free air con was a bit lack-lustre and the furniture was worn, dated and past its best, however the maid kept the rooms clean and changed the towels and bedding ever 3-days. The safe in the room was free with a 20 Euro refundable deposit for the key. We were surprised at there only being 2 electric points in the room, one of which was by the door and not of much use as you could not open the door if anything was plugged in.
There are 2 pools and a kiddies pool and plenty of sun tanning areas round them. Plenty of sunbeds were available, though they were in a poor state of repair, many being damaged or worn out. The beach is right outside the pool area though there is a charge for sunbeds.
Drinks and snacks are available at the pool area from 10.00am till 11.00pm and there is a nice shady area outside the snack bar, which is good since the pool area did get a bit boisterous with the older kids.
The restaurant was far too small for the size of the hotel and it was quite usual to spend time wandering round looking for a table to sit at as the waiters struggled to clear away quick enough. Frequently food ran out, there were queues for food, shortage of plates, cutlery, cups etc. Food was best described a mediocre lacking variety and choice. We were offered the same food over and over again. “beef in saucepan” was served up at least 7 times during our stay and dishes such as “fish” and “minced” (minced what was any ones guess) featured on a regular basis along with pork and the same choice of rice, chips or potato (cooked the same way lunch and dinner every day). Breakfast catered for European tastes more so the UK tastes with the usual cake, cooked meats salad and processed cheese on offer, or baked beans, chipolata sausage and eggs. No bacon or “proper” sausage, and no facility for making toast! The restaurant was full of flies and they could often be seen on the hot (well warm!) food. The salads were the best choice to have, but if you like fruit it was a choice between water melon, orange slices or tinned peaches.
About 70% of the guests were Russian and they tended to be greedy, belligerent and would push in at the first opportunity. Their kids were wild and despite the signs not to dive would be hurling each other and themselves in the pool splashing all around, the pool was unsupervised.
What spoiled the holiday though was the mosquitos. Locals advised that the area floods in winter and is a breeding ground for mosquitoes and every one was eaten alive despite being covered in citronella, having electronic devices, and plug in devices in the room. We were told Lambi, where the hotel is, is well known for mosquito problems. Evening entertainment was a bit poor and ended at about 10.30 and was more suited to kids than adults and could be a bit obscure some times.
Experienced travellers will know that when it comes to Greek hotels, you look at the official rating and knock a star off (so a 5-star becomes a 4-star) and the Atlantis is no exception, though to be fair I would go as far as 3 ½ stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bevang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed all inclusive for 10 nights at this hotel from 17th June to 27th and I can not fault it.
The choice of food was excellent (and I'm a fussy eater) there was something for everyone you can also eat pizza and ice cream all day if you don't stuff yourself out after the first meal of the day.The all inclusive drinks were ok included cocktails after 7.00pm. Staff were friendly and helpful
and the animation crew were ok good for a laugh.Kos is a beautiful town with lots of shops,restaurants and bars. Anyone that whines about this hotel have either paid to much or expects something for nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just back from 10 days all inclusive at this lovely hotel. Having read the last few comments from people, I began to wonder if we had stayed at the same hotel - didn’t sound like the Atlantis we stayed in at all!! I couldn’t believe so many negative comments.

Our stay was great. We all had double rooms for single occupancy in the main building on various levels - all had good air con, safes, fridges, hairdryers, balcony with beautiful sea views and were comfortable with towels and sheets changed every 3 days. Extremely clean everywhere and no signs of cockroaches, although mosquitos were a problem in the public areas. Go armed with spray and they’ll leave you alone.

We all found the reception staff friendly, helpful and courteous. One of our party unfortunately needed a doctor and one needed hospitalization too, (nothing to do with the hotel in any way!!) and the staff were extremely helpful with everything, so cant fault them really. Cabs were booked for us with ease, money changed and internet arranged. The all inc. evening bar girl was another story however - my nomination for a charisma transplant goes to her!!! Smile lady - make it look like you’re enjoying it even if you aren’t. Its a long season ahead!!! Perhaps a long day doubling as the beach bar girl too and sweeping the paths was just too much?? Entertainment crew were fab - lots of fun!!

We were spending a well earned break from work so were grateful for the lovely meals and beach to relax on. Food was very good in our opinion, plenty of it and lots of choice - cereals, yogurts, meat, cheese, eggs, ham (no bacon though) fruit etc for breakfast - enormous variety of salads, vine leaves, olives, meats, cheese etc and a range of hot food for both lunch and for dinner. Even the most ‘picky’ of eaters would find a good choice, although good quality tea bags would have been an improvement!! A good selection of beef, lamb, pork, chicken and fish with tasty sauces and fresh veg to go with it. Thank goodness not chips, chips, chips but maybe that was because the majority of our fellow travelers were Russian with Dutch, Swedes, Hungarians and Germans added, but very few English.

One comment we would make - please let the beach sunbeds be available for longer in the day - 5pm is too early to leave the beach as the sun is just going down then and as far as I’m concerned its the most beautiful peaceful time of the day - the heat has gone from the sun, its quiet and relaxing with a book. Forrest Gump the sunbed king was magic. You may want to take swim shoes with you as getting into and out of the ocean is tricky without - the stones are quite sharp.

Kos Town was a €7 taxi ride away taking about 5 mins and the bus from outside the hotel just €1.20. Walking took us 25 minutes. We did a boat trip to the three islands which was fairly enjoyable, but a better choice of boat would have made it spectacular. Sevimar was not for us - too crowded and too many children - we should have stayed with our first choice the Katerina which we saw during the day and looked much more relaxed and quieter.

European children start their holidays in June so many were at the hotel - it seemed perfect for them with entertainment arranged, but don’t think there was a Kids Club as such.

Lovely holiday, lovely hotel, lovely, lovely, lovely. Would definitely recommend to friends and family and go there again.

Room Tip: The Main Building rooms seem best - bungalows looked nice and were steps from the beach but had bug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubblybee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel last week and it was a really good experience. To begin with it was really good deal, the price was more than affordable. Hotel is located in Lambi, a short distance to the north of Kos town. It is situated at the beach and it has some pools for pool lovers as well. Before the entrance of the hotel there is a shop where you can buy yourself whatever you need for your stay and on the other side of the shop there is rent-a-car&bike and a restaurant - in case you need one since the food is in abundance, it is good and there is a great variety in the hotel. Rooms were spotless, cleaned every day and airconditioning was working perfectly. I found my bed to be too hard for me so I mentioned it at the reception and they immediately fixed the problem. Another thing... I slept with my balcony doors open all nights becouse there we absolutely NO mosquitos, which is a great plus at least for me.
The hotel has also a lobby which is smartly situated in a way that there is always a light breeze in it so it never gets too hot and there are also three pools for the evening entertainment.. Each evening there was also some sort of an entertaining show, but it think it was for kids mostly. The bad or not so great part was in my opinion that becouse of great food people were really static and thus the scene was not so energized for my personal taste so I seeked more fun in the Kos town. I had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popotnik11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Okej, so how to start this, ehm, amazingly, supprising week I spent at this hotel? Well, I could just tell it in one sentence; cockroaches, rude staff in the reception and poor food... The rooms where quite ok, depending on which part of the hotel you lived in, since I travelled in an group of around 10 we all had rooms in different parts of the hotel and could therefore compare them. The "bungalows" or more twin houses, had bad furniture and were extremely humid so if you wanted to get your clothes or towels dry you had to leave them outside. Well there, another nice surprise waited... cockroaches! They crawled out from behind a piece of wood that the hotel probably put up there to hide their nest. Thus practically they lived in the walls of the room, so if you did not carefully closed the windows you could find one crawling in your room. The hotel manager did not accept any mention about changing the room to one that is inside the main building (or some that was situated upstairs to avoid the cockroaches), and explained to us that we should "get used to it". She was either just rude or dislike females, because when our male colleague asked the same favor there were no problems moving us. Furthermore, the food in the main restaurant all tasted the same every day and the only "vegeterian" alternative was fries... However, there was an other restaurant that you had too book at least one day before you planned to eat there, and the food served there was quite ok, or in any case better than in the other restaurant. The staff that worked in the hotel; the maids and the staff that worked in the restaurants, were lovely and fun. However the ladies at the reception desk were mostly bossy and rude. For example, one day we wished too book the trip to the waterpark, however we did not know that we had too book the trip a day in advance. We went to the reception and the lady said that the bus is leaving now (while in the reality the bus was not even there yet) and that they could not get us on it even thou there were places left. Therefore we asked them politely what the problem was with us getting on the bus, she got upset went inside their staff room for literary five seconds, got back and told us with a voice filled with anger that we could go anyhow... The animation crew was quite funny and nice, however the shows were mostly crap and not funny at all. The only other animation that was worth attending was the waterpolo game, not that the crew did so much to make it fun, but at least they arranged it and I guess that the minidisco, was appreciated by parents, since it was something fun for children. However, there were many situations that left us with the feeling of being really unwanted at the hotel and in the end we all questioned ourselves if this hotel really wanted to have any guests at all or what the ** was their problem. Conclusively, I really enjoyed Kos, the island is very beautiful and worth seeing, it has a variety of attractions so that it is an island that can suit everybody; it has ancient and medival ruins, great beaches, cozy caffes and a superb nightlife. However if you decide on Kos DO NOT CHOOSE THIS HOTEL!! And if you after all, despite all my warnings, decide to go to Atlantis then do not, for your sake, take all inc. It is definitely NOT WORTH IT, not ha' penny.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main buildings are the "best ones" with fresh bathrooms and no cockroaches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NAleksandraT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.5 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
12.9 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#6 of 16 in Mastichari
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yiorgos
Hotel Yiorgos
#28 of 48 in Kos Town
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#9 of 48 in Kos Town
668 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantis

Address: Kos Island, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: £38 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantis 4*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built directly upon a beautiful stretch of sandy beach Hotel Atlantis is a modern hotel complex. Accommodation can be provided in its main building and in Bungalows. It is situated at an ideal location with a unique view of the vast blue Aegean Sea and the shores of Asia Minor, from one side, and the island of Pserimos on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Kos Town
Hotel Atlantis Kos/Kos Town
Atlantis Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing