We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Grounds”
Review of Hotel Atlantis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Atlantis
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 15 - 29 July 2014, bungalow 92 with beautiful view of the gardens to the front and even a sea view from the rear window over the two ringed cooker which was a bonus in the fact that we could boil a pan of water for tea and coffee. Room was large, bathroom was big enough, there was plenty of wardrobe/storage space and a lovely porch area and the maid was very nice and thorough, we even got fresh cut flowers on day and a lovely birthday message, we kept the doors shut and the air con on all the time when we were in the room so didnt have any mosquito trouble. The beach was a two minute walk still in the grounds and you could hire sunbeds from the reception for 6 euros. The pools were less than a minutes walk which was just as well considering you have to put your towels on a sunbed by 7 am each day or there are none left but the hotel has no restrictions on this so its a free for all. The pools and pool bar have very friendly and attentive staff and a very enthusiastic animation team which even though it seemed a tad repetitive certainly drew the crowds into the pool every day for the aqua gym. The food was the same thing as what was on the menus at the tavernas down the road so typical greek but pasta, chips, rice, bread, and salad etc was always available and pizza and sandwiches at the poolside. The drinks during the day were basic and if you wanted anything other than beer or wine you had to pay. Having to pay for wi-fi seemed a bit extortionate because if you went past any of the bars on the road into kos, provided you had joined in originally you could rejoin whilst walking past. There was a regular half hour bus into kos which we caught daily as it 's so hot to walk and the bicycle route was very busy almost taking priority over the footpath. On the way back just sit at G-plaza cafe over the road from the stop till the bus comes, the staff are so friendly, as they are at Mylos beach bar just right on the beach from the hotel its a lovely hideaway bar to just chill but make sure to spray repellant for the mozzies here. Would recommend this hotel and area to all though I cant see any point in going back - there are other places in the world to enjoy just as much.

Room Tip: Bungalows are better than traipsing through the main hotel and are bigger than main building rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Mcdebdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent hotel, well located, about 2km from the city center, has a beautiful bungalows overlooking the sea. It has a garden full of greenery, beautiful 2 pools, pebble beach, where there are trees, Greek evenings. The food is excellent, there are lots of salads, main courses, fish, sweets, breakfast and dinner is buffet style, there is a possibility of additional charges for all inclusive. Very clean and spacious rooms. All recommendations for this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank sweet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

On arrival late at night reception staff were ok and were offered a sandwich. Hotel room ok but dated. Floor drain in bathroom smelt on occasions. Air con was fantastic beds clean and comfortable. Rooms were cleaned everyday. We thought the food in the hotel was excellent ! Lots of fresh salads,feta and olives etc Lots of fresh hot dishes with normally 4 or more meat dished to choose from. Each day they would cook either a lamb carvery or kebabs or small burgers, fish(inc salmon & trout), liver, chicken fillets gyros etc so I do not understand all the negative comments about food ?? Your in GREECE food is different ! if you just want chips, chips, chips oh and cheese burgers and pasties and junk food Don't stay here go to Benidorm ! Soups were fresh and tasty desserts were great. Breakfasts were good inc bacon, eggs, beans etc but also fresh fruit, cereals & greek yoghurt & honey etc etc .
Main hotel bar only did drinks which you had to pay for but were international brands. beers 2.5 euros and cocktails @ 3 euros Nikos the barman was good fun although the slowest cocktail maker ever ! lol. Just opposite this main bar is one of the all inclusive bars that only opens from 7pm. Offering all local spirits, beers, wines , ouso, and some cocktails. The other bar is the pool bar. Sadly you an only get beer and wine from 10 a.m to 7p.m then after 7 you can have spirits etc (failed to tell us this when we booked through Holiday gems) All inclusive beer is just drinkable and is approx. 2% ! Pool bar also does ice creams tea and coffee plus pizza slices and pies etc all day. Main pool was great kids loved it. Animation team were good fun ! Again don't understand the negative reviews ? Ok so it was a bit cheesy at times but its hardly advertised as being on broadway !
Hotel beach is also fine sand is not the fine yellow stuff we would all prob prefer but it was fine for us and my kids were happy. They do charge for sunbeds here ( 6 euros a pair ) bookable at reception. The beach had showers.
Overall this hotel is great. Yes its tired in places but any problems were easily resolved. We spoke as we would like to be spoken to......it does work. We (English) made up about 5% of the hotel, 90% appeared to be Russian, there ignorance & bad manners spoilt our holiday at times ! Unfortunately they do not understand the concept of queuing or basic politeness, so beware give as good as you get lol and you will be fine.
This is a 4* greek hotel I personally feel its a good 3 *
You get what you pay for. We paid £2500 for a family of 4 inc flights for 2 wks all inclusive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roonie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Atlantis Hotel 23-30 July 2014 all inclusive, after worrying from reading recent reviews we had a fantastic stay and would defiantly come back. Arrived after a long flight at 11 at night to a couple of rude night staff that we quickly shoved off because it was late, we just wanted to go to sleep. The day staff however were very helpful and helped you in anyway that they could.
We explored the next morning, our rooms were basic but everything worked, the shower wouldn't fit on the hanger but we didn't mind it was nice enough anyway very powerful, we had free safe and aircon which was a pleasant surprise and at 35+ it was well welcomed . Our room was situated just outside the main building room opposite the children's play area. The grounds were lovely and clean, near the beach with great views of Turkey and Kos Town Harbour. The pool areas were clean and tidy with lots of room to sit with tables, with a nice pool bar which had a lot to offer, a list of 5 cocktails and an offer of their local brands. Snack bar had a good selection, cakes, biscuits,
Pizza, donuts and pancakes. The downside was that people reserved the sun beds so there was limited even at 9 in the morning.
The food was really nice with something freshly cooked right in front of you, breakfast was pancakes and lunch and dinner was different meats, there was always something to eat, warm and plentiful. Breakfast was the same nearly everyday which was American breakfast and lunch and dinner changed between differs meats and sides, always pasta, rice and chips available.
The animation team were 5 strong and did their best to entertain, the aqua gym was funny to watch in the morning which got everyone going, always got people to dance their hotel dance. The evening entertainment the same 5 varied from quizzes to karaoke to games which was just enough to help you wind down. However the speed bingo wasn't speedy at all. The kids disco was the same songs everyday which wouldn't bother the kids but by the end of the week we were singing along to all the songs in all the different languages.
The hotel is in a perfect area which is a 20 min walk into Kos town itself so great on a night if you want to continue on after all inclusive finishes at 11.
We had a late flight back and although checkout is 12 you have the option of keeping your room on for a fee, asking on the morning of your departure.

Only major downside was we didn't hear a British accent during our stay in the hotel.

Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and very glad that we booked the hotel even after some of the other reviews.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

just got back on Tuesday night from 2 weeks at this hotel sorry to say that on our arrival the room we was given was full of ants ; toilet was bad broken mirror the cooker was dirty and the view we got was a brick wall but entertainment staff was great the staff at the pool bar and restaurant beach was very rough and not for kids

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bob812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is our second time at this hotel (and same room) and I definitely hope it wont be our last! Although there are many facilities, we choose it as place to unwind. Our room was away from the main building, like a little detached bungalow, with view of the beach and sea. Nothing like drinking your morning coffee on the veranda. Total relax!!!!!!
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our special thanks to Eleni, the Manager as well as Nikos and Eleni from reception who always did their best to assist.
The hotel is clean and breakfast was very good. Our only bad comment is that the hotel does need to be refurbished as it is a bit outdated. However this would not put us off going there again (as soon as possible!!)

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that are not in the main building but on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Besides the main building hotel offers many apartments in the garden. These are of different quality (we've spent first 2 nights in very dark, not comfortable one). The garden and the overall location of the hotel is nice, directly on the beach, very close to the city. You can rent a bike (recommended) to do this trip or to see other places.

We have spent nearly 2 weeks with my family (3 kids) having "all inclusive" service. Restaurant offers basic food of acceptable quality, but is (in the main season) really overcrowded. The same applies to the pool facilities. I was also not impressed by the quality of the water in the pools that seemed to me not as clean as I would expect. Service and the stuff at the pool bar is very ugly. (And I'm not talking about too many Russians all around - sometimes difficulties to understand what the queue is).

Hotel stuff was ok, but I would say not as friendly as one would expect.

The overall experience is - if you like "tourist factories" it's a good choice, if you prefer small family atmosphere with less people, choose something different.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.5 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
12.9 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#6 of 16 in Mastichari
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#9 of 48 in Kos Town
668 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yiorgos
Hotel Yiorgos
#28 of 48 in Kos Town
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aegean Houses
Aegean Houses
#15 of 48 in Kos Town
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantis

Address: Kos Island, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: £38 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantis 4*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built directly upon a beautiful stretch of sandy beach Hotel Atlantis is a modern hotel complex. Accommodation can be provided in its main building and in Bungalows. It is situated at an ideal location with a unique view of the vast blue Aegean Sea and the shores of Asia Minor, from one side, and the island of Pserimos on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Kos Town
Hotel Atlantis Kos/Kos Town
Atlantis Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing