We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is all about weddings!!!”
Review of Blue Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Resort
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I recently had my wedding in Blue Lagoon resort which I booked through Thomson and everything looked amazing till I arrived at the resort. For me it is my second wedding however I always wanted to be something different from any other celebration we had till that day in our lives. The wedding coordinator explained to us everything into details by giving us many option for flowers, fireworks, balloons, etc. For the reception she proposed to us to have a "reserved area" in one of the restaurants which is like a semi private area or to have our reception in a local restaurant like the famous one called "Lofaki". Due to the size of our group 42 all together we decided to reserve the area in one of the restaurants the Greek one - where the waiters served the food to us and drinks, some flowers and some balloons for the decoration, our own Cd player for music, so we really enjoy it and we stayed there till midnight by only paying 400 Euros!! Not the best reception but very satisfactory consider the money paid :-) One of the following days we decided to visit for dinner the restaurant Lafaki with only some close relatives. While we were having some drinks the waiter was very kind to ask us where we are from and we explained to him the purpose of our trip and about the wedding . At that time the manager of the restaurant got also involved and at one point they started explaining to us how in general other wedding couple were very disappointed with the hotel and that the hotel is like a "conveyor belt" . They showed to us an album with photos from previous weddings they had at the restaurant which was lovely and we have to admit that the restaurant is amazing !But at the end it looks like these people are very sneaky. They spent with us more than 1 hour by explaining us all the bad experiences other couples had at the hotel and how great is the restaurant comparing to that which for us it was disgusting! At the end of the night they gave us for free some shots and they advise us to write our experience in trip advisor and this is what we are doing now!! We are aware of the Greek financial crisis but we never thought of facing such a ridiculous behavior .. personal opinion Greek companies should work together and that really made us very disappointed !! Overall wedding experience was nice as we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel ! Large pools , animation shows, a good choice of food but definitely the hotel could be improved as well !!

Room Tip: Book the family room at the Anex area , are very quiet and nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Eliz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,573 - 1,579 of 2,811 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

My partner and I travelled to the Blue Lagoon on 29th September for a fortnight. Our friends were getting married there during out holiday. We were a party of 19 in total.
We arrived in the middle of the night, check in wasn't busy so we were quickly sorted out with our wrist bands and given our room.

ROOM:
Our room was 5218 which over looked the children's pool on one side and the main building and pool from the other side.
The rooms were very clean and we got clean towels everyday. The maids do an excellent job.

FOOD:

We ate in all the restaurants throughout our stay, the Italian being our favourite. All the food in all the areas was good...we had plenty of choice wherever we went and were never stuck for something to eat wherever we went. The wine, which was on tap was quite nice also, although you did have to pay for wine in the Italian restaurant but we didn't mind as it was nice to have a bottle of Pinot Grigio and it wasn't overly expensive.

GROUNDS & SURROUNDING AREA:

The grounds were lovely, spotlessly clean.
The pools were also very clean and there were always plenty of sun loungers when we were there.
We only spent one day at the beach as it's quite rough and not very nice. There were no water sports going on either.
The loungers are 2.50euro per person for the day.

ENTERTAINMENT:

We weren't overly keen on the evening entertainment, apart from the Michael Jackson tribute. The animation staff did work very hard though. As we were there as the season was ending we were always able to get seats in the evening animation tent but I have no idea how people manage in the height of season when there are many more guests.
We used the spa quite a few times which was nice to relax in the steam room and jacuzzi pool for a while.

KOS/EXCURSIONS:

We went on a sailing boat called the Christina for a day which was a really good day out, only costing 20euros and included lunch. We stopped at 3 different islands and done some swimming and snorkling in the sea. You were able to buy drinks on the boat but at the first island we bought our own beers an drinks and took them onto the boat with us and the captain ha no objections, even allowing us to keep them in the fridge.
We also hired a 'buggy' for the day from the car hire next to the hotel. This was 60euros and was great fun. We went right around kos town and went up the mountains to the tropical spring which was just amazing!

WEDDING:

As bridesmaid for my friend, I have to say that the whole wedding experience was relatively stress free for the couple and the Thomas Cook rep was very helpful.
The wedding was at 6pm which was great as it was nice and cool. The ceremony was on the island at the pool and was absolutely fantastic and the picture are beautiful. We then went onto the Greek restaurant where the back o the restaurant was shut off for us and the tables decorates beautifully. The staff were great. The bride and groom got table service but the guests had to self serve but this wasn't a problem for anyone. A CD player was supplied and we played music all night. The whole day was perfect. there was another wedding before us but this didn't cause any problems as the bride was still made to feel very special.
The only thing that went wron was that my friend requested dark pink flowers in her bouquet but they sent light pink instead but this wasn't the fault of the hotel or the wedding planner.

As for people saying it's a conveyor belt of brides at the hotel this is not true...we never saw any more than one wedding per day and some days never saw any.


Overall, this is a good hotel, great for families with young children and couples. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane46a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Having previously stayed at the Blue Lagoon a couple of years back we could think of nowhere better to have our wedding. So in September we spent 2 weeks there and were joined by 22 guests. We had our wedding at the hotels Chapel and had a perfect day. The hotel could not have made it any better for us! The staff are so friendly and helpful and the wedding coordinator made it completely stress free. We stayed in the adult block (7000) and loved our room and having our own private loungers outside our room. For the size of the hotel it never felt crowded and was kept spotless everywhere. The food was always fantastic with plenty of choice and the Greek restaurant and new Italian restaurant were both great. Neither we nor any of our guests could fault anything at all. I have to wonder if the people writing bad reviews went to the same hotel?! If we could we would go back tomorrow. We love the Blue Lagoon and I'm sure we will be back in the future

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AndyMusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We went with friends for two weeks begining September 2011. Very large resort (the clue is in the name) we stayed in the adult block, sun beds are reserved if you are on the ground floor only problem is they don't get much sun, but plenty of others available. Greek and Italian restaurants are really nice, the staff are excellent. The BBQ grill restaurant gets very busy,but the food is nice, lunch time was too busy for us so we went to the Satellite Snack Bar, food can get a bit repetitive as with most hotels. The resort is kept very clean with plenty of staff throughout. Speaking to people with children they also had good things to say. Plenty of weddings going on and it was nice to see them at first, but towards the end of our fortnight we had seen enough! Kos town is close by and it was nice to take a look around the harbour, and have a few drinks. All in all we had a great holiday, the weather couldn't have been better. Kos airport has to be the worst thing about the holiday, but dont be put off.

Room Tip: Beds can be a bit too firm for some people, ask for a matress topper,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovingmajorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Hotel is very clean and well presented. Rooms are cleaned daily.
Good sized swimming pool although very cold (maybe the time of year), kids pool was even colder so couldn't get my young daughter in there and so she did not get to go on the slides.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Night entertainment was quite good although was only on from 9.30pm til 10.30pm. Drinks were not free after midnight. There was a good selection of food and it was of good standard. Couple of the restaurants were closed but i think that is also due to the time of year.
It rained for three and a half days and was abit cooler then we would have liked. The bottom floors of the hotel were flooded so i felt lucky that we were on the second floor.
The beach was dirty with litter and stunk of sewage

Room Tip: 2211 had view of see and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antdom1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Went with my 18yr old daughter and was given a room in block 1000 which had double bed so complained and they moved us to 3000 block which was great, nice pool/mountain and sea view if on top floor, decent size bathroom. Beds were not hard and very comfortable. Very clean and tidy, maids do an excellent job. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful especially the entertainment staff who are also friendly. We went October time so hotel winding down and the weather was ok apart from 2 days when it rained - like a monsoon - some ground floor rooms flooded but generators were on hand to pump out the water. There's an adult only pool but didnt use as not many kids around. Plenty of sun beds - always got one around the main pool even at mid day. Pool was cold though but very clean. Beach opposite is stoney and dirty and you pay for sun beds 5 euros but there is a beach shack for all inclusive guests to use. Main restaurant always busy so use the Italian as much quieter and no kids except on Fridays. Food a bit repetative but good. Meat tended to be a bit on the tough side. Would not go in peak time. Had to pay for wi-fi 20 euros for 24hrs which you can carry over so remember to log out each time. Always weddings going on like a conveyor belt. Good shows in the evenings. Top up your water bottles at the bar - no charge. Tea is horrible so take own tea bags if you like your english cuppa. Wish they would put teaspoons on the saucers ! Crepe station nice but no sandwichs - only rolls and always ham and cheese. Overall though a decent clean complex with plenty to do

Room Tip: 3000 block is perfect especially if you on the top floor - perfect views on the balcony - comfy beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Blue Lagoon 5 star NOT... Big disappointment for myself,husband and 39 guests..
We went to kos for our wedding & were very let down..On arrival we were handed paper work with wrong names.Followed by mother and father in law to be, were given our room in Block 4000. They were very excited they walked into WINE FLOWERS & BASKETS FRESH FRUIT.. We had paid for all our guests to recieve this on arrival but took the hotel 4 days to sort out!!! Reception staff very RUDE..Entertainment by the Animation team Nick Gemma Hannah Alex and co are the guys that made the hoilday/wedding bearable thanks guys..
Safe Deposit have to be paid for!
Bottled water had to pay for.. Family rooms state they come with playstation but you have to pay 50 euros as deposit. Our included Candle lite dinner JOKE...up turned saucer covered in tin foil with tea lite on top! Service was so poor in Italian resteraunt that it took 40 mins for our main course to be served after finishing our starter,and this was for a 'honeymoon' couple! Also you then you have to pay for a drink!!
Food was ok but have to book on the day for specialist resteraunts.
The morning of our wedding day started off bad as the Reception staff very rude towards me & ended with me crying and thinking i don't believe this could happen to any bride.. All i wanted was the key to the function room where we held our own private wedding reception! Must say that was the best choice we made but came with a large price..You have to pay for the sit down meal as this is not covered on wrist band.. Also to have any local or imported sprits it's 120 euro's a bottle and that is no joke..funny thing was we bought are own from kos town poured them into water bottle then went and left them in the room.. Day and night was perfect and glad we made right choice.. Cake topper we had made in england was thrown away by the waiter cause we did not take it with us on our wedding night he thought we did not want to keep it!!!!
We got married outside the chapel because the beach was so DIRTY & people on the adjacent sun loungers did not give respect to any couple getting married on the beach!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
On the day we got married 3 other weddings took place.. The Blue Lagoon is a wedding conveyor belt, with upto 5 weddings a day (as confirmed by a holidaying travel rep, who was also so disappointed by the hotel that she wanted to go home after just one week there!)
this hotel is not a place for any BRIDE OR GROOM..i state this because i would not want any other bride to feel the way i did..we were not made to feel special as a wedded couple with large number of guests. We know that we were not the only wedded couple to feel this way, and look forward to viewing other couples comments.
If you do take the plunge at The Blue Lagoon then we strongly recommend you have your wedding reception at the Lofaki Restaurant, well worth the money for the food, service, set up and views, as we visited Vasilias at his restaurant later in our holiday and left thinking...if only!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueLagoonGroup, Manager at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

Dear Mrs KerryL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Blue Lagoon Resort with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We will take into consideration all your comments and suggestions however it seems that many things went wrong also from the Tour operator wedding coordinators’ side.

Again, thank you for sharing your impressions; it gives us the opportunity to improve and offer better service on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Blue Lagoon Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
15 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aegean Houses
Aegean Houses
#15 of 48 in Kos Town
141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#9 of 48 in Kos Town
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Resort

Address: Kos Town 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Kos Town
Price Range: £99 - £841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Lagoon Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Resort is a recently built complex with 662 guestrooms. This all inclusive hotel is situated in Lambi, only 75m from the sandy beach, 2 km from the centre of Kos, 1.5 km away from the nearest shopping area and 22 km from the airport. This beautiful hotel has got a 1-storey main building, six 2-storey accommodation buildings at the main complex and 3 satellite buildings. The facilities at the Blue Lagoon Resort include the main buffet restaurant, the Greek buffet restaurant, the Grill / BBQ restaurant, the Poolside show cooking restaurant as well as the Italian a’ la carte restaurant for adults only, in which once per week also families with children are welcome. Have an exotic drink at one of the numerous bars; the Pool bar, the Piano bar with live music, the Lounge- or Sports bar or at any of the others waiting for you. If you long for something sweet, visit the crêpes and sandwich station at the main pool island. Our guests can choose between five pools; the 4000 sq meters main swimming pool for adults and a smaller of 200 sq meters for children at the main complex as well as two swimming pools for adults and one children's pool at the satellite buildings. Activities like football, tennis, mini-golf and beach volley will help you keep fit during your holidays, while the Votsalo Spa is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate your body and skin, offering a variety of beauty treatments as well as a fitness room, an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam bath and whirl pool for guests over 16 years of age. Special attention is given to the children at the Kid’s Clubs during daytime and at night professional entertainment is offered for all ages. The hotel also offers conference facilities of high standard as well as romantic venues like a Greek church or the beach for weddings. There is also a minimarket and a shop with accessories on the premises.The resort offers room facilities for everyone; no matter if you travel with friends, as a couple or a family; standard garden view rooms, pool view and sea view rooms as well as two- bedroom family rooms are available. There is also the alternative of a comfortable junior suite or a pool view room at the more quiet Adults-Only area. All the rooms are provided with air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini fridge, hairdryer, telephone, internet connection, tea/coffee facilities, bathrobes and slippers. Ideal for those who need an escape for reloading their batteries, but also for those who like to entertain themselves with or without their family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Kos Town
Blue Lagoon Reort kós
Luca Blue Lagoon Kos
Luca Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing