We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading and Over Priced!!”
Review of Blue Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Resort
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Misleading and Over Priced!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Me and my Fiance stayed here for two weeks this month. We had been looking forward to this holiday for a while. The rooms were overall basic, they could do with upgrading. Satelite TV was awful we had one channel and that was news!
Food was very poor, we were really disappointed with it all. It was all the same food everyday. There were themed nights every night but it was still the same food. The crepe station on the other hand now they were delicious! Had those almost everyday.
The pool was freezing and could do with being heated up a bit, the water park wasn't brilliant but was okay.
Entertainment was okay, some of the animation team were really friendly and always said hello.
The safe was over priced at 30 euros and you didn't even get any of that money back.
No free wifi which i think is awful, you pay enough for the holiday but they still want more money off you just to use the internet!! Disgusting if you ask me. The mini market on sight is also highly priced, the cheaper shop down the road is alot better they had more to offer and were friendly.
We hired a car for a day off the car place based in the hotel, Kosmos. The man said three different prices for us to pay. It was nice to get around the Island for the day but the car was definitlely over priced!
Bar staff were lovely especially Sam who needs to be promoted, he was always smiling and made us laugh!!
Overall we enjoyed the holiday as we got engaged there :) but we won't be returning here as we were very disappointed in the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBN847, Sales Executive Assistant at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Rebecca L,

Thank you for writing your impressions and for sharing them with us. We apologize that we were not able fulfill your expectations regarding your holiday with us.

Please let us clarify that our restaurants offer a wide variety of different dishes for every taste. In addition we have themed restaurants and we believe that among all these options, everybody can find something for their taste. However, we are glad to hear that you liked our crepes.

As the summer in Greece is very warm, therefore the pools are not heated. Energy saving is also part of the hotel environmental policy.

As per our descriptions, some services are with extra charge, e.g Wi-Fi and safe box.

We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our staff and entertainment team and hope to be able to welcoming you back in one of our group’s hotel.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    698
    341
    118
    59
See reviews for
1,402
629
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Blue Lagoon Resort between the 12 Oct - 23Oct 2013. When we arrived we couldn't fault anything about the hotel. The portering, maid, restaurant and bar service was excellent and the entertainment team were fantastic. The resort is huge and we eventually located the adult pool and bar which we liked very much, but around the 16 Oct the adult bar was closed for the season and it was quite a walk to the other bar in the hotel, so we had no choice but to go around the main pool. We noticed gradually that the resort was closing bit by bit, (the last day of the season being the 27 Oct). The BBQ area then closed so we had to go to the main restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We paid full price for limited facilities and we weren't informed that this would be the case. Another niggle that we had with this holiday is we had a cigarette burn on the bed cover. We noticed it when we arrived but didn't think anything about it, bear in mind the maids made the beds every day, so you would have thought that they would have noticed it. When we checked out on the last day at 12 noon, we placed our suitcases in a room behind reception. Just before the coach came to collect us for the airport we went to collect our cases and one was missing. We were frantic thinking our case had been stolen so we went to report this to the reception. The reception staff had taken our case, and called the reception manager who came and tried to accuse us of causing the damage to the cover, bear in mind we are non smokers. He asked us if we had been burning candles! ( all the rooms have smoke detectors), this was totally unacceptable, he certainly needed lessons in hospitality and people skills. Eventually he said he believed us, but made us feel very uncomfortable, so if you visit this hotel make sure you report any damage in your room to the reception otherwise you may experience the same unpleasant situation that we had.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBN847, Sales Executive Assistant at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Buster994,

Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions. We are glad to hear that you were happy with our service and the entertainment team.

Please let us clarify that the restaurants which are in the pool area, BBQ restaurant and Mesogios restaurant are weather permitted. However, the Greek restaurant Mythos is also open for dinner together with the main restaurant. We hope you used also this option for your dinner. Kindly be advised, that all guests can use the club cars to move from area to another and these are just a phone call away.

Please be advised, that whenever housekeeping notices damages in the room after clients have checked-out, we have to contact the client in order to clear the issue. Like you said, whenever you find something wrong in the room, this is good to be reported in the reception in order to avoid any unpleasant situations.

We thank you once more for your comments and hope to be able to welcoming you in one of our group’s hotel again.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the blue lagoon for 10 nights my partner, myself and our 15 month old. Our bed was two singles pushed together not what we expected for a 5* resort when your a couple. The state of our little ones cot was disgusting the base was falling apart and had brown marks all over the sides. We weren't told we was sharing a balcony with our neighbours, who smoked. We were non smokers. The entertainment was extremely loud and went on every night till gone 12am not ideal with a little one. On our 3rd day I caught food poisoning followed by my partner then our little one. Informed our rep who was non to helpful considering our little one wasn't keeping anything down for over 48hours. We later by talking to other ppl staying found out that they too had food poisoning. The staff at the complex you could not fault extremely friendly. There were 4 different restaurants the food in the main, Greek and BBQ all served the same choice of food all buffet style and no separate area for a kids selection. And it wasn't hot. The grounds, pool and bars were very well kept however. The resort is in the middle of nowhere with excursions being expensive if you have already paid out for an all inclusive holiday. Overall not a 5* we was expecting.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBN847, Sales Executive Assistant at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Kbrownie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your impressions. We are sorry to hear that we didn’t manage to meet your expectations regarding your holiday.

Kindly be advised, that we have noticed your comments regarding the baby cot and will check with the relevant department. If the housekeeping is being informed about any short comings, they can act immediately. We offer also room changes upon availability, when clients contact the reception.

Kindly let us clarify that Blue Lagoon Resort is a family resort, which offers a variety of animation during the daytime until midnight and this is also described in the hotel descriptions.

Please let us clarify that our restaurants follow international HACCP standards, which are monitored carefully by the authorities. Often, when the weather is changing, it causes viruses and people get sick easily. This happens every year, when summer starts to change towards autumn and winter.

We are glad to hear that you liked our premises and hope to be able to welcoming you in one of our group’s hotel again.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We arrived home from blue lagoon resort on 24th oct '13 where we spent a lovely week the hotel was very clean and staff helpful and friendly. As it was october the weather is slightly cooler than i was expecting but was still warm enough for a bit of sunbathing. The food was good with ok selction drinks were of plenty although the juices were getting watery. We paid extra for a junior suite only to find the double bed we paid for was 2 singles pushed together with seperate blankets not what we wanted as a married couple in our 20's. Kids club was good and night time entertainment for children good although i did think 8pm was a bit late. Would go back again but earlier in year.Oh and the rooster on the joining property woke us up at 5.30am most mornings felt like shooting it !

Room Tip: When paying for junior suite make sure you ask for double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We visited the Blue Lagoon Resort to be apart of our friends wedding. Upon arrival we were very impressed with the quick check in, welcome drinks and sandwiches (as we arrived after the restaurant had closed). We were taken to our room on one of the golf buggies and helped with our many cases.
The room was clean but basic, perfect for your holidays as you don't intend on staying in your room the whole time.
The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and hard working. I could not fault them at all. Yeah there were the odd one who wasn't as friendly however I wouldn't hold that against them or the hotel.
There were many options for food considering a number of bars and restaurants were closed as it was the end of the season. There was always something to eat. We fell in love with the crepe station!!

The wedding was beautiful and well organised, a very memorable day. The wedding coordinator was extremely helpful and in hand throughout the day.

My daughter loved the FirstChoice kids club, and attended most days. I think our cases were more heavy on the return with all the arts and crafts she had done over the week. The hotel is great for families because of the various children's pools (with pirate ship), slides and even the water park (which is also all inclusive).

The only reason we have rated this hotel 4/5 is because there are a lot of areas with steps and as our son is still in a pushchair, it did make it tricky. I wouldn't let this put you off because this is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at. Please take the negative comments with a pinch of salt.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MelandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We travelled to Kos as a family of 3 on the 9th of October 2013. I was getting worried about the weather as I had read previous reports about it being rainy and cold. We stayed for 2 weeks. We had rain for 2 days!!! A little chilly on a night. Temp during the day was roughly 20-23 degrees. We were there for 1 week then our family came out to meet us as we were getting married in the hotel.
The staff were amazing and loved our 2 year old daughter. I've never met more friendly people before. The food was good, normal for all inclusive as well as drinks.
The place was absolutely spotless, so clean and even the cleaners were so friendly. No mosquito's in sight and very few wasps unlike corfu.
Our wedding coordinator was Katerina. She was lovely and really helpful. We were very sad to leave. Dean the photographer is great! Highly recommend him. Very creative and a true professional. We came home with some amazing pictures of our sunset shoot.
The only downfall I would say is the entertainment. They have kids entertainment on till 9pm then bingo, then a show. The show is different each night but set out the same and in October with the weather being cooler, its quite chilly in the tent. In the lobby is the same singer each night which can be repetitive. The other bars were closing due to the time of year we were going. I would still rate this hotel as excellent though. Italian restaurant is a must!
Probably be the friendliest place we have ever been

Room Tip: We were facing the spa. on the 3rd floor. It was quiet apart from occasional quad bike driving pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have just arrived back from a week in the Blue Lagoon and a lot of these comments im finding hard to believe! First of all this is called a RESORT it is going to be a large complex... If you wanted a hotel or appt block you should of booked one. The hotel is stunning with a wide variety of pools, eateries, and bars all of good quality, I found the food lovely and the desserts were brilliant. Another point is the Staff could not be any nicer they loved a chat and joke if you have the courtesy to smile and talk to them. Dont worry about these negative reviews staff work amazing, place is spotless, just remember it is a resort not everything is on your doorstep!!! Great holiday for us :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayandjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
15.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.0 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#7 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Resort

Property: Blue Lagoon Resort
Address: | Nea Alikarnassos, Lambi, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Lagoon Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Resort is a recently built complex with 662 guestrooms. This all inclusive hotel is situated in Lambi, only 75m from the sandy beach, 2 km from the centre of Kos, 1.5 km away from the nearest shopping area and 22 km from the airport. This beautiful hotel has got a 1-storey main building, six 2-storey accommodation buildings at the main complex and 3 satellite buildings. The facilities at the Blue Lagoon Resort include the main buffet restaurant, the Greek buffet restaurant, the Grill / BBQ restaurant, the Poolside show cooking restaurant as well as the Italian a’ la carte restaurant for adults only, in which once per week also families with children are welcome. Have an exotic drink at one of the numerous bars; the Pool bar, the Piano bar with live music, the Lounge- or Sports bar or at any of the others waiting for you. If you long for something sweet, visit the crêpes and sandwich station at the main pool island. Our guests can choose between five pools; the 4000 sq meters main swimming pool for adults and a smaller of 200 sq meters for children at the main complex as well as two swimming pools for adults and one children's pool at the satellite buildings. Activities like football, tennis, mini-golf and beach volley will help you keep fit during your holidays, while the Votsalo Spa is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate your body and skin, offering a variety of beauty treatments as well as a fitness room, an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam bath and whirl pool for guests over 16 years of age. Special attention is given to the children at the Kid’s Clubs during daytime and at night professional entertainment is offered for all ages. The hotel also offers conference facilities of high standard as well as romantic venues like a Greek church or the beach for weddings. There is also a minimarket and a shop with accessories on the premises.The resort offers room facilities for everyone; no matter if you travel with friends, as a couple or a family; standard garden view rooms, pool view and sea view rooms as well as two- bedroom family rooms are available. There is also the alternative of a comfortable junior suite or a pool view room at the more quiet Adults-Only area. All the rooms are provided with air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini fridge, hairdryer, telephone, internet connection, tea/coffee facilities, bathrobes and slippers. Ideal for those who need an escape for reloading their batteries, but also for those who like to entertain themselves with or without their family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Kos Town
Blue Lagoon Reort kós
Luca Blue Lagoon Kos
Luca Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing