We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb small small family run hotel.”
Review of Bahamas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bahamas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is run. y Billy, Costos and their parents. Good location for KOS centre and all attractions.Hotel has good pool with plenty of Sun beds, pool snack bar as well. Small hotel which gives friendly touch and is an adults only hotel!
Bahamas is so good that this is our second visit and I'm sure we will come again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveSwanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a no trimmings break. Could not fault the staff who where friendly and polite, especially Costas who took to calling me Mamma because I was there with my daughter. The hotel was clean, with sheets changed twice weekly and towels every third day approx. The pool area was not overcrowded with plenty of sunbeds, although it was a euro a day for a pad. The rooms are quite basic and the beds hard but adequate. Free wi-fi in the bar area. Plenty of places to eat within a few minutes stroll (I recommend La Strega ) The hotel is on the outskirts of where the nightlife is, but that's not what we went for, it felt safe to walk out after dark as it was a residential area with kids playing in the street and family's sat on balcony's. Bearing in mind this is a 2 star hotel it was excellent value for money and we would not hesitate to go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prawnsmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just returned from the Hotel Bahamas and this is the first time we sent in a review of the hotel, we have stayed there for the last 4 years running and should of come onto trip advisor sooner. Having read a number of the reviews we come out in agreement with the majority of holidaymakers who have stayed there, its a great hotel with 30 bedrooms all of which are kept clean and tidy, just the right distance from Kos town its ideally located. The family who run the hotel George, Sula, Billy and Costas are lovely people who try their very best to make sure you get your money's worth from the holiday, their staff are just as attentive. The hotel has a 2 star rating but as far as we are concerned we would give it a 5 star, we have read the critcism's from the minority and think its nitpicking everyone is entitled to have their say.This is our honest opinion and think its a very friendly hotel whether you are there for the first time or like ourselves have gone back a few times, we would recommend the hotel to anyone.Thanks again Billy and Costas the cocktails were 5 star and we will return for more of the same.

Colin and Lynn
Stayed 18th Sept/Oct 4th

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colin and lynn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We've just returned from a great holiday at the Bahamas. We had the warmest greetings from all the family and having arrived quite late Costas made checking in quick and simple so that we could get into town for dinner as quickly as possible. We had a room above the bar which has been said to be noisy but we never had any problem with this - on the odd occasion when we went to bed early the only noise that could be heard was people chatting, laughing and generally enjoying themselves - no loud music, rowdiness, rugby songs, etc! - and we slept with the French doors open and still had no problem sleeping! The rooms are a good size and kept spotlessly clean with a fridge and hairdryer provided. The bathrooms are compact but the power showers make up for any lack of space making it easy to wash away the days sun cream and sand if you've been to the beach.
To the newcomer, the bar prices may seem a bit expensive - 5 Euro for spirits and cocktails ranging from 4.5 Euro to 6 Euro but believe me for this price you get at least 3 to 4 times British pub measures when ordering spirits and the cocktails are substantial and full strength and expertly mixed in front of you by either Billy or Costas. They are considerably better value than many of the town bars! Having tried - and loved - one of Billy's Mai Tais, I managed another 2 before having to retire to bed. Conversely, when out in town we ordered the same in 'XL' - one of the bars on Kanari Street - and received a glass half the size that tasted like pineapple juice with no discernible alcohol to be tasted! Contrary to what I've read on another review, you don't have to spend lots of money to be made welcome in the hotel bar, you just have to take the time to talk to Billy and Costas and you'll soon see why so many people keep returning to this hotel. However, if you decide to have a drink or two in the hotel bar you won't be disappointed! If you happen to be a football fan, the hotel has a fantastic array of boxes beside their large TV (one of 3 in the bar area) that can pick up any live football match being played - just ask one of the boys and they'll find it for you! Upon request, Billy found me West Ham v Everton that was being shown on one of 10 Al Jazeera Sport channels with English commentary!
Away from the bar, the pool is a good size for a 2-star hotel and gets the sun all day. There are enough sunbeds for all and mattresses are 1 Euro for the whole day. Mama Sula cooks great fresh food and prepares tasty salads at the poolside bar - if you happen to lay in and miss breakfast the full English is highly recommended!
We had the most enjoyable and relaxing fortnight here and can't wait to go back again! Many thanks to the family and their staff for all their hard work and to a great bunch of people we met at the hotel - Lin & John, Bev & Phil, Angie & Tony (Alright son?!) and not forgetting Pat "the ninja" & Dave - you all played your part in making our holiday unforgettable (except for a couple of nights that are a bit blurry!) but most of all Billy and Costas who are the most gracious of hosts - a credit to Thomson Holidays who deserve at least 3 stars for always going above and beyond the call of duty!

Room Tip: Rooms above the bar don't get the sun so don't get too hot. Rooms facing the town get early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ian_and_Karen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Have just visited the hotel Bahamas for the 1st time with my boyfriend. I enjoyed every minute of my experience . From when I got here I could tell this what I was looking for a relaxing holiday nice and quiet. When we got here late on a Saturday we decided to go into the bar for a couple of drinks where one of the owners billy made us feel really welcome. The next morning we went by the pool where the is plenty of sun beds and George the dad nice man greeted us every morning . The snacks at the bar are nice with the mother doing most of the cooking . Rooms reasonable size and clean . There is plenty of places to eat within a 20min walk of the hotel . Having being out for a meal returned to the bar which is open late where billy and costa alternate shifts and where you can watch all the football as they have sky sports . I can tell why there are some people return year on year as we had a fantastic time .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChelseaEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

On reading the reviews for this hotel my husband and I decided to book this hotel . Upon arrival at this hotel was greeted by one of the brothers Costas who was very friendly and made us feel welcome.we booked this hotel as it was small and friendly and that's what we got. The family run business is run by George mamma billy and Costas.this hotel is a 2 star hotel and with the service you get should be more. The pool area is a good size with plenty of sun beds for everyone and for 1 euro all day can puchase a mattress . Food at the pool bar is also nice and a reasonable price with mama very nice . The rooms are very clean and cleaned every day bar Sunday . The entertainment is also good with a quiz and a Greek night 14euros for a good feed. Billy and Costas work behind the bar and make you feel welcome and always remember your name . The drinks are reasonably priced and a good selection of cocktails and other drinks . We stayed in 1 of the rooms above the bar which we heard were a little noisy but never heard a thing . The bar is a great place to meet people after a meal in 1 of the taverners which are only a 10 min walk away the sunset was my favourite. On the whole what a great time we had and will return thank you to the family for making our holiday special.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have read a lot about this hotel from other reviewers ,now here is an honest appraisal.This is a no frills hotel very basic but clean ,improvements could be made around the pool where there are broken sunbeds and umbrellas, People do return year after year and that is apparent when you arrive as they form clicks or groups and tend to try and take over the pool area .The bar prices are very expensive for a 2 star hotel ,prices are cheaper in the more upmarket bars overlooking the Harbour in Kos town. Breakfast is very basic and a bit more effort is needed here to improve ,there are certain things that only appear later in the period because there is only a certain amount made available ( ie yogurt/honey )
and when it is gone its not replenished. The staff work hard and are very pleasant the owner and his wife can be quite abrupt but the rest of the staff make up for it. Costas and Billy are the sons and work hard and are also friendly and helpful . We made some nice friends while we where there and had a few laughs about if we would be allocated a toilet roll that day or not , yes believe it or not it was rationed as you only got one and didn't get another or spare one until it had run out . Overall the 14 days we spent there where quite pleasant but it was the people we met that made it ,not the Bahamas Hotel. Would I go back .? Yes the hotel makes an ideal base because its location makes it easy to walk into Kos town to try the many tavernas and bars,

Room Tip: Request a room not over the bar as these tend to be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scootermanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.6 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
901 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.4 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#6 of 48 in Kos Town
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#7 of 48 in Kos Town
814 reviews
2.3 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#4 of 19 in Psalidi
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahamas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahamas Hotel

Address: Pamfylon, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#5 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Bahamas Hotel Kos Town
Bahamas Kos Town
Bahamas Hotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing