We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”
Review of Nicon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nicon
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from first trip to nicon apartments in Kos and certainly won't be my last. The hotel was clean, wonderfully set out and fabulous friendly family run staff. The food was excellent and not expensive. The Greek night is definately not a night to miss at 10 euros, food wine and Greek dancers what more could you ask for. The pool was the best clean looked after pool we have ever been in and as we have travelled all over the world , that is certainly a compliment, well done Spiros for all your hard work. The location is good within 5 mins walking you have 3 good tavernas nearby with kos town close with so many tavernas, bars, nightclubs, everything there for all ages. There is a bike rental right next door to nicon which was so good as we cycled to kos town many times, day and night. It only took 5 mins to cycle there, and so safe, as there was a dedicated cycle track right into kos town so never bothered to walk or catch bus, such a safe way to explore.
We did the 3 island trip on the Katerina, fantastic trip, great crew who couldn't do enough for you. Definately worth doing we even saw dolphins swimming alongside boat and jumping out of sea, awesome. Go to the harbour in kos town in evening and book this as so much cheaper than booking with rep. All in all fantastic time and definately will return.

Room Tip: We were in room 21 overlooking main road which was a bit noisy but with air con on never heard it at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasshopper308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    69
    17
    15
    8
See reviews for
90
148
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Again a brilliant holiday at the Nicon apartments..we returned home this morning after 14 wonderful days! The staff are amazing and will do anything they can to help you!! The apartments themselves are basic although that is all you need as you only sleep and shower in them. They are cleaned daily. I am sure we will be returning again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from a last minute break at the Nicon Apartments. As last time, room was spotless and cleaned daily by staff who were always friendly (request here - remember to leave the cleaning staff a few euros tip at the end of your stay, they get paid little enough and it makes a huge difference). Location was excellent, pleasant walk into town (20-30mins) or 5 min bus ride. Buses from ouside hotel next door, are every hour and always empty, buses from the main road are every 10-15 mins but can get crowded especially first thing in the morning and at night (after 8.30). Everyone was friendly and, as you find anywhere, the more effort you make the more effort they will make. Example - I lost a credit card and went to the bar to ask if one had been handed in, (found it later) but some other guests overheard and I found out later that they did a walkaround to see if they could find it for me. Only slight negative was some of the food in the bar, Nico, you are a lovely lad but you make a rubbish pizza. Some nice tavernas nearby and a useful local shop. I would recomend the Mavromatis, delicious food, and the Akrogiali (food not quite as good but service is excellent) - in both cases the view at sunset is stunning - just right for a Shirley Valentine moment! Good to hire a car and get around a bit (talk to Spiros in reception), I would recommend the Agios Stefanos beach near Kefalos, stunning views of a little blue church on a island, a ruined Basilica, and a beach to die for. As for tours, I would suggest the sunset tour to Zia, but as for the rest, trips to the islands etc, just walk down to the harbour and you will be offered them at a third of the price. Example - trip to Bodrum, 40 euros with tour, 15 euros at harbour. As for the rest, just explore, you can't really go wrong

Room Tip: Room we had was near the bar so that there was some noise, but if you contact your booking company...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a weeks stay at the lovely Nicon apartments. Usually go all inclusive but booked a cheap last minute trip here and was a lot better than I expected! Apartments are basic but clean with everything you need. All the staff were friendly & welcoming. The food at the snack bar was always nice. Kos town is beautiful with lots of restaurants. The tavernas on the 'beach' just on the left from the hotel serve excellent food with a view! Can see why people return here year after year! We'll be back x

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have just got back from a week at the Nicon 04th June, I booked very last minute for me and my 10 year old daughter. On arrival a lovely young man was waiting for us and carried our suitcases up to our apartment (45) the apartments are lovely and clean a little dated perhaps but I think that adds to the charm. The apartments were cleaned everyday and the maids made something different out of our sheets and towels which delighted my daughter. The pool was fantastic as was the pool bar which served lots of different snack which were all very good. The two ladies who worked in the daytime were charming friendly and very patient with all the children. In fact all the staff were very hospitable and made you feel very welcome the owners were there every morning greeting people which was a lovely touch.The nearest beach was down the bottom of the road about a 5 minute walk although maybe not the best, there were nicer beaches on the way to the town. The Town is about a 15-20 minute walk away but a nice walk along the seafront. The bus is at the bottom of the road and runs every 15 minutes and is 1.50 euro for people who would find it to far to walk. Kos Town is lovely lots of places to eat and lots to see. All in all we had a wonderful week at the Nicon as a mother travelling on her own with a young child I was a little apprehensive at first, but I was made to feel so welcome that any worries soon disappeared we had a great time and would defiantly recommended the Nicon highly as a place to stay should you visit Kos .

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 45 which is in the block nearer to the pool but although it didnt bother us o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WOOD794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

These apartments are spotlessly clean and spacious enough, air con very quiet and charged at 8 euros a day. The owners and staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help, we enjoyed 3 wonderful relaxing days there. Then came approx 30 new guests the majority knew each other and their preferred method of communication was to shout from one end of the pool/bar area to the other. Children were screamed at while they managed to ignore their parents. The adults were the worse I'm embarrassed to say, they showed total disregard for the other guests by taking over completely. I wanted to go and buy a cold drink but felt intimidated by the noisy group. I felt so sorry for the owners who had to keep them sweet as they were spending loads at the bar. All was not lost as we found a perfect Taverna at the beach with sunbeds for hire so we spend the last few days relaxing there. Would we go back, yes I think so as we love Kos andthe situation of the appts is perfect and we know now that we can escape to the beach. Fingers will still be crossed that we dont have to share again with these very inconsiderate people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HotlipsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Anyone who has been put off by negative comments about the staff at the Nicon should have no worries. All the family who work together there are only too willing to help if asked to do so. On our previous visits we were treated with friendliness without ever feeling intruded upon. Any reasonable requests are met whenever possible. We are going to re-visit at the end of the 2014 season after a few years holidaying in other places..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeraMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#17 of 19 in Psalidi
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niriides Beach Hotel
Niriides Beach Hotel
#13 of 19 in Psalidi
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#9 of 48 in Kos Town
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicon

Property: Nicon
Address: Paradissi | Kos Town, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 217
Also Known As:
Nicon Kos Town
Nicon Hotel Kos Town
Nicon Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing