We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE !!”
Review of Nicon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nicon
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This was our second visit to the Nicon as we had a fab time there in 2013 !! YES the appartments are dated but are spotless as cleaners are in everyday and are very thorough !! The complex of 36 appartments is set in lovely well kept grounds with a fantastic pool and bar area ! The pool and bar area are always spotlessly clean not like certain holiday parks in the UK !! Food and drinks are all great value for money and served with a smile ! A previous comment made a accusation that they were ill from the pool which I find hard to believe ! This pool is by far one of the best pools I have used and the owner takes pride and time in keeping it to its high standard ! The complex is situated about 35 minute walk from the busy kos town which is full of bars and restaurants . There are buses from the main road which is 5 mins from the nicon a nice little supermarket which is 3 mins walk ! If you want a less stressful evening away from kos town it's end of the road and turn right and there are 4 restaurants within 10 minutes walk that are beachfront and having your meal with the sun setting is a sight to die for !!! All well priced with the average meal about 10 euros and fantastic service and menus for all !! The Nicon is perhaps not for all but we will be going back again next year can't wait to see you all again Nico ,Artur and Romeo !

Room Tip: Take a couple of fans and save paying for air conditioning ! 10 euros a night for appartments and 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oxongang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Aug 2014. Very well looked after property although the apartments are dated.
Half our party fell ill- not the Greek night- but I think the pool- although I have no medical evidence for this.
The apartments were situated 35 mins walk from kos town- turn left down to main road and then left again. Psalidi beach at end of this first left turn but very stoney.

Closest beach which was nice was Lambi. This was the other side of kos town harbour.

For trips head down to kos town in the evening. 3 Islands trip was 46 euros with Thomson, but only 25 euros with the boats directly. Can also recommend Bodrum on market day for 10 euros - every Tuesday.

Within the apartments you have cutlery and basics like a saucepan, electric cooker ring, cereal bowls an plates. Things you don't have include a colander, whisk, large salad bowl, big glasses. You will need to bring these.

Wifi by the bar but not in your room. We had a basement apartment which meant a big balcony at ground level. This was great with lots of space.

Bikes are great to rent for 4 euros a day, although Moto Steve did them for 15 euros for the week. Well worth it and lots of cycle tracks.

The apartments were cleaned, although because we were ill, we ended up cleaning then ourselves with bleach bought from the local supermarket 50 metres away.
We asked for more toilet roll but were told to buy some from the local shop which we found very irksome. Apparently Spiros only allows 1 toilet roll per apartment.

Aircon is extra which is standard in Greece. We were in a larger apartment so if was 10 euros per night. The controller for the tv is 10 euros refundable.

For what we paid it was good value but don't expect too much and watch out for the pool.

Stayed: August 2014
5  Thank GZeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for a week in August.
Hotel is basic but good, the rooms were dated as expected, had a kettle, toaster, two ringed hot plate, pots, pans and plenty of crockery.
The bathroom was small but adequate we always had plenty of hot water.
The beds were a bit hard, plenty of spare pillows and blankets, our sheets were changed twice during the week.
Rooms were cleaned daily and the ladies were very friendly and did a great job!
Pool area is great, small, plenty of sun beds and the snack bar does great food from a lovely fry up to great Greek food prices are reasonable and were not as expensive as the restaurants at the beach!
Pool area was spotless
Local beer was great!
Bar staff were very friendly although beware of Arthur as he tends to get you with cold water when dozing by the pool!,
The only thing it lacked was an atmosphere in the evenings!
You can get WiFi around the pool area.
I thought Stelios the owner was great a bit grumpy at times but that did not bother us as most of the time he was fine.

The beach is not very good at this end of Kos, very pebbly.
We ate at the Blue Ocean twice as it was such great value and nice food, this is located at the bottom of the road, turn right and it is about a three minute walk.

We walked into Kos town twice, which took about 25 minutes, you can catch the bus from outside the hotel and that takes 5 minutes and only costs two Euros.

There are plenty of places to eat in Kos town that are reasonable and good.

The airport is very small and chaotic on departure so be prepared!!!!!!!

Over all it was a nice break, cheap and cheerful I would go again.

Room Tip: The hotel is a great place if you just want a holiday to sit by the pool and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank essexbogdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at these apartments 5th to 12th August 14 with my 14 year old daughter, last minute deal! The accommodation was very clean as was the pool, grounds and bar area. It was excellent value for money, basic but everything that I expected and more particularly the staff who went out of their way to make sure your stay was enjoyable. Special mention to Arthur and Nicos who were both helpful and attentive in their own way, Spiros the owner was also very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for us - just a 20 - 30 minute walk into the centre or a 5 minute cycle ride. Lots to see and do on the island, a perfect week away in the sun with lovely food, company and things to see.

Room Tip: pool/bar area rooms can be noisy late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Arrived late at night, rep got off coach en-route so we were dropped off alone, in the dark with no one to meet us. Eventually we found the reception ( closed) but a note selotaped to the door informing us of our rooms. Found rooms eventually. Be aware that if you request 2 rooms of the same type they will not be next door to each other due to design of apparts. As we were 2floors apart we decided not to allow our boys to be alone together. (We choose 2 x twin rooms over a family room as one of them being nearly 15 wanted proper beds for them rather than risk the possibility of uncomfortable sofa beds). Initial impression - disappointed when we the opened the doors to the apartments. Fixtures and fittings dated in poor condition although appts clean, needed deep cleaning as mould, lime scale evident in kitchen and bathroom areas dodgy wiring "hob"and shower spraying everywhere but down!
Spoke to owner in morning re rooms he explained that we couldn't be moved as fully booked ( we accepted this - didn't want to cause a fuss!
However things took a turn from the worse when a few days later - due to unstable water pressure the shower head shot off and broke. Reported to owner who tried to charge us for new shower ( our fault apparently as it was "ok before we arrived, and why didn't we report it within 24 hrs of arrival and "it was our fault because we must have dropped it" Well we didn't report it straight away because we were unsure if we were moving rooms and are polite, not ones for causing as fuss. My normally mild mannered husband ended up having argument which unfortunately left a very unpleasant /awkward atmosphere for us for the duration of our stay and spoilt our holiday.
One of the fridges had no light, (minor issue which again we put up with) until It defrosted and turned off. fridge was running really hot on the outside with a constant running water sound. We asked for help and was told it was "alright when you moved in" and that the boys had probably messed round with it and they "shouldn't be alone in the room" (which they did, but for only 2 or 3 nights because they found it to far away from us, but anyhow why would I not trust a nearly 15y old when he is home alone in the uk occasionally in school hols when we go to work. Plus we have paid full price for him?!
had no water in one of the rooms for 2 nights in a row (midnight to 7am), but too scared to report to owner after that point.
Cockroaches ( in fact we ended up bringing one home alive with us in suitcase!)
felt exposed as no curtain on opaque glass front door and this also caused issues with sleep quality due to light outside on all night.

However after all the negativity, appartments were in a good location. Some lovely restaurants on the beach (which was pebbly, but for those of us who hate sand -perfect!) bike hire next door- cycle paths everywhere.Great food, service and entertainment by the guys and girls in the pool bar. Greek night,karaoke night, bingo, quiz - all fantastic. Pool area and gardens very clean. Cleaners very friendly and fantastic cleaning on daily basis -only criticism is that they started too early in the morning, making us feel rushed to get ready and breakfasted. I for one would not be happy if they were to come in whilst I was asleep as mentioned in a previous review!!

Bearing in mind how much we paid for this holiday in peak season I did not find it value for money compared to others we have stayed in at the same time with the same rating.

Room Tip: Appartments are in 4 blocks with different styles of appartments on each floor. Therefore do not exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend stay in the apartments for two weeks at the end of July! It was our first time visiting and We had the most amazing time here! We could not fault anything. Rooms were cleaned daily by the lovely maids who were fantastic the room was always so clean! Ladies in the day were lovely always made you feel very welcome! Arthur provided entertainment in the day and at night he is so lovely and made us laugh every day! The guys at night nico and Romeo were also so lovely made us feel very welcome from the minute we arrived!!! All the staff made us very welcome and made us have an amazing holiday nothing asked was ever too much for them!! We cannot wait to visit again next year and see everyone!!! Would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to have a fun, relaxing and welcoming holiday!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaJaneP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our second time at the Nicon and yet again we had a brilliant time! The staff were so friendly and could not do enough for you. The two ladies that worked behind the bar in the day were great and worked hard. The staff in the night Nikos, Arthur and Romeo were brilliant with everyone and stayed open for as long as you wanted to stay which was sometimes 4 in the morning! The entertainment was good and would recommend the Greek night at just 10 euros for the entertainment including barbecue was great value! We met some amazing friends and once again the feeling was like on big family with everyone looking out for eachother. We will definitely go there again. Kos town is just a 15 minute walk away but a bus can take you if you would prefer which stops at the bottom of the road just minutes away from the apartments. Hot springs beach is a must for a visit where you can enjoy a donkey ride back up from the beach! We stayed for two weeks but it was not long enough as it went so fast!

Room Tip: We have stayed in a couples room and a family room and were both fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#17 of 19 in Psalidi
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niriides Beach Hotel
Niriides Beach Hotel
#13 of 19 in Psalidi
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#4 of 19 in Psalidi
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
421 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicon

Address: Paradissi | Kos Town, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 217
Also Known As:
Nicon Kos Town
Nicon Hotel Kos Town
Nicon Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing