We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for!”
Review of Captains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Captains Hotel
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Kos Town
south shields
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We arrived very early morning and Manos the guy on duty was very pleasant. However, we soon realised hotel was very dated, could have been cleaner and rooms quite small if more than 2 in a room. Staff were always pleasant and rooms were cleaned every day (except Sundays), but maybe the cleaner could have used a little more bleach, especially down the loo! The worst thing id say about The Captains Hotel is that the noise from other guests, although it was general "coming and going", was horrendous, it seems the walls are made of paper. This was our 2nd visit to Kos but if we go again, which I would, we would not stay at The Captains Hotel.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank juliedjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
19
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

I have just returned from a week at the Captains Hotel with my wife, son and girlfriend. Our first impression of the hotel was not very good and unfortunately this was true for the remainder of the accommodation too. As we sized the hotel exterior up and down and walked into the reception area we all looked at each other in astonishment and disappointment. It can best be described as something out a 1970’s pub decorated with ships, anchors and dark wooden panelling…I’m sure you get the picture.

I have visited the Greek Island for eleven years or so and Kos four times in that period. I can quite honestly say this was the worst accommodation that I have stayed in.

Dislikes:
1. Dark dingy décor (1970’s mock sailing theme)
2. Balcony too small to sit comfortably
3. Very small rooms
4. Storage dire
5. Breakfast choice poor
6. Bathroom…dirty, broken tiles, smell. (We bought a bottle of bleach to clean)
7. Noise late at night and workmen early morning

Likes:
1. Staff were friendly
2. Pool (although shared with the hotel opposite)

Three other parties, including ourselves, complained to the Rep who after prompting managed to find alternate accommodation with availability but at an additional cost of 300Euro. We decided to stay as we were now three days into our holiday with only four days remaining.

I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND CAPTAINS HOTEL, KOS TOWN

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty, dingy, smell
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fazer220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kos Town hotels

milton keynes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2008

we have just returned from the captains hotel after a 2 week stay,for a 2 star hotel it is excellent,very clean with great friendly staff that cant do enough for you,great value for money.we will definetly be returning.

  • Liked — it is exactly as advertised
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scruffydog06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanarkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2008

just back after 2 weeks and what a fantastic hotel. remember its a 2 star hotel. read some of the reviews before we went and didnt know what to expect, but what a fantastic time we had. the staff are so friendly, and if you needed anything, they were more than happy to oblige. we are trying to book to go back next year and we will be going back to the captains. loved it want to go back now.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat13lanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

I stayed her in 2006 and during my two week stay I had a good time.

Ok so the hotel isnt the best but its good for what you pay. The staff are very friendly and no doubt you will meet some nice people who are also staying here. Its just one of those hotels where you get to speak and drink with a range of people.

The rooms are small and basic, but who actually spends time on holidays in the room?? It was clean and overall I was happy with it....although I did have some problems with some ants one day. The toilet and shower isnt the best but yet again it does the job that it is required to do.

The location of this place is the best. Its about a 5min walk into the habour area and main bars. There is also a really nice place to eat and drink near the hotel called the "Caravan". When I was there is was really cheap and the food was quality!

I would definately take a trip to Paradise beach and also do one of the boat trips which you will find in the harbour!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank powell81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

I have stayed at The Captains Hotel many times over the years and you
must remember that it is only classed as a TWO STAR hotel so you cannot expect The Ritz.

It is very clean, the rooms are basic but they are cleaned every day with the exception of Sundays. You can pay extra for Air Conditioning
and Fridges if you require them. The Continental Style Breakfast is fine, and the owner and staff are fantastic and only too pleased to help you. There is a 24 hour bar, very clean swimming pool and a nice
terrace.

It is centrally located, only a five minute walk from both the harbour and the beach.

Just a five minute walk away is one of the BEST value Restaurants in Kos, it is called THE CARAVAN and is owned by a great guy named Hasan.

Many people go back to The Captains Hotel year after year, that says it all.

Tony Ainsworth. Coventry.

  • Liked — The Cleanliness and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyKalamari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2007

I have just got back from the captains hotel, and felt i needed to write a fair account of the hotel, as before i went i found some horror stories about the place on the internet and i wasnt looking forward to the kind of hotel other travellers had described. granted the rooms are tiny, and very basic, but the hotel doesnt claim to be a 4 star hotel, it was desribed by our tour operator as a 2 star hotel, and thats what it is. The bedroom itself consists of two single beds, a dresser, two side tables, and wardrobe, and a very small bathroom. and an even smaller balcony. Although the rooms were tiny they were cleaned every day except for sundays, and even on a sunday if you have any rubbish there is a big bin outside of the hotel. I'd also read that the bathrooms were really disgusting and smelt awful, and that the shower hardly worked, i personally am very fussy about bathrooms, and so was very worried, although the bathrooms are small and the decor is a bit 1970's or del boy style, they were cleaned by the maids everyday, and i had no problems with the shower, and i only smelt the drains once, and even then it was better than the 4 star hotel my family stayed in on the beach front.(and even if you could smell drains, it wasnt specific to this hotel it would ahve been the island itself as they arent aswell developed as places in the uk)

Im not a morning person so i only managed to get up for breakfast once, and again, it is a basic continental breakfast, nothing flash but decent enough if your awake at that hour, although nothing to cry
about if your not, there was fresh bread, french toast, jam, butter, boiled eggs, cereal, ham and cheese, along with a choice of tea coffee and orange juice. If that snt your scene there are plenty of places to get a decent breakfast round the corner there is boomerangs
full english breakfast for 5 euros, or down the road a place called the caravan(recommended by manos the bar man) The man who works there
hassan, can not do enough for you, and is really friendly. or the sunburnt arms along the beach front is also a fantastic place to dine, and if you go along during the day you can use the sunbeds all day, and gianni the guy who works there is absolutely lovely! Across the road from the hotel is a 24 hr take away if your feeling a bit peckish after a night out, or next door to that is a lovely restauarnt called la strega if you want to go for a meal and its is beautiful food and really generous prices, the pizza and pasta could not be faulted(neither could the meat apparantly but im veggie so wouldnt know personally)

Behind boomerangs is an irish pub called shennigans which is a decent
night out, has entertainment for the kids, and also for adults, and is a lot cheaper than the bars in bar street!

Getting back to the hotel the pool is a nice pool, and it has a 24 hr bar at the hotel where you can get a variety of drinks including imported bottles and beers! and manos the night man always gives you a generous measure!

The air conditioning was 40 euris for two nights, and i can tell you its the best 40 euros spent, as the rooms would be unbearable without
it, it worked so good, i had to get another blanket as i got a bit chilly during the night.The only disadvantage about staying at the hotel is that there are no fridges which is kinda annoying when the temperatures are so high and you cant keep a bottle if water, but you
can get one from the bar.

However the biggest advantage of staying at this hotel is the location and most importantly the staff! All of the staff are absolutly brilliant, and do anything to make your stay pleasant, They
are all very helpful, and if you have any queries or problems they are only too happy to help! they really are a credit to the place.

At the end of the day for the money we paid, and the amount of time we actually spent in the hotel room itself, it met all of our needs, and as the staff are so great, i wouold recomend this hotel to soemone who wanted a basic, cleana nd friendly hotel!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — no fridge
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lipglossfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Dimitris Paritsa Hotel
Dimitris Paritsa Hotel
#37 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aegeon Hotel
Aegeon Hotel
#38 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Theonia
Hotel Theonia
#32 of 49 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pavlos Hotel
Pavlos Hotel
#170 of 218 in Kos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#46 of 49 in Kos Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond Apartments
Diamond Apartments
#33 of 49 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Hotel

Property: Captains Hotel
Address: 44 Amerikis, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Captains Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Kos Town
Captains Hotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing