We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay at the captains”
Review of Captains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Captains Hotel
Ranked #44 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
north east uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“our stay at the captains”
Reviewed 7 September 2007

I have just got back from the captains hotel, and felt i needed to write a fair account of the hotel, as before i went i found some horror stories about the place on the internet and i wasnt looking forward to the kind of hotel other travellers had described. granted the rooms are tiny, and very basic, but the hotel doesnt claim to be a 4 star hotel, it was desribed by our tour operator as a 2 star hotel, and thats what it is. The bedroom itself consists of two single beds, a dresser, two side tables, and wardrobe, and a very small bathroom. and an even smaller balcony. Although the rooms were tiny they were cleaned every day except for sundays, and even on a sunday if you have any rubbish there is a big bin outside of the hotel. I'd also read that the bathrooms were really disgusting and smelt awful, and that the shower hardly worked, i personally am very fussy about bathrooms, and so was very worried, although the bathrooms are small and the decor is a bit 1970's or del boy style, they were cleaned by the maids everyday, and i had no problems with the shower, and i only smelt the drains once, and even then it was better than the 4 star hotel my family stayed in on the beach front.(and even if you could smell drains, it wasnt specific to this hotel it would ahve been the island itself as they arent aswell developed as places in the uk)

Im not a morning person so i only managed to get up for breakfast once, and again, it is a basic continental breakfast, nothing flash but decent enough if your awake at that hour, although nothing to cry
about if your not, there was fresh bread, french toast, jam, butter, boiled eggs, cereal, ham and cheese, along with a choice of tea coffee and orange juice. If that snt your scene there are plenty of places to get a decent breakfast round the corner there is boomerangs
full english breakfast for 5 euros, or down the road a place called the caravan(recommended by manos the bar man) The man who works there
hassan, can not do enough for you, and is really friendly. or the sunburnt arms along the beach front is also a fantastic place to dine, and if you go along during the day you can use the sunbeds all day, and gianni the guy who works there is absolutely lovely! Across the road from the hotel is a 24 hr take away if your feeling a bit peckish after a night out, or next door to that is a lovely restauarnt called la strega if you want to go for a meal and its is beautiful food and really generous prices, the pizza and pasta could not be faulted(neither could the meat apparantly but im veggie so wouldnt know personally)

Behind boomerangs is an irish pub called shennigans which is a decent
night out, has entertainment for the kids, and also for adults, and is a lot cheaper than the bars in bar street!

Getting back to the hotel the pool is a nice pool, and it has a 24 hr bar at the hotel where you can get a variety of drinks including imported bottles and beers! and manos the night man always gives you a generous measure!

The air conditioning was 40 euris for two nights, and i can tell you its the best 40 euros spent, as the rooms would be unbearable without
it, it worked so good, i had to get another blanket as i got a bit chilly during the night.The only disadvantage about staying at the hotel is that there are no fridges which is kinda annoying when the temperatures are so high and you cant keep a bottle if water, but you
can get one from the bar.

However the biggest advantage of staying at this hotel is the location and most importantly the staff! All of the staff are absolutly brilliant, and do anything to make your stay pleasant, They
are all very helpful, and if you have any queries or problems they are only too happy to help! they really are a credit to the place.

At the end of the day for the money we paid, and the amount of time we actually spent in the hotel room itself, it met all of our needs, and as the staff are so great, i wouold recomend this hotel to soemone who wanted a basic, cleana nd friendly hotel!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — no fridge
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lipglossfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
19
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moffat, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

just got back from the captains hotel -kos town
what an excellent time we had you could not meet friendlier or more helpful staff . the room might have been tight for three people but we got looked after by the staff and i mean all the staff
kos town is fantastic if you want to party till 7 in the morning you can, but if you want to relax a bit more you can still have an excellent time , historical sites to keep you interested beautiful
harbour you can walk for miles .will be back next year , greek people are so friendly and go out of their way to help . the blues brothers bar is now my second home ,nicos & thaena are fantastic good drink ,good prices , good people . i want to go back NOW , kos forever david macdonald

  • Liked — location , every single member of staff . price ,
  • Disliked — room a bit small for 3 people
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank davemDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

The Captains hotel is very basic, but for what we paid we shouldnt have expected much more. The flights from Glasgow are awful times but bearable. We arrived at 4am & were shown to our room, a triple 1xdouble bed & 1xsingle.
The room was clean enough & kept clean everyday except Sundays. Towels werent changed as much.
The people were amazing the hotel staff couldnt be friendlier. Manos the night shift bar worker is amazing so kind & helpful. The only thing wrong with the hotel is that it's €20 for a safety deposit box for 2 weeks & €30 for a late check out room till midnight & €45 for the air con - €95 in expenses was not impressable. Have to admit also the breakfast was rubbish but round the cornere there is a restaurant called Boomerang real Aussie portion - full scottish €5 couldnt go wrong, staff there was amazing aswell. try the rack of ribs €12 & will do 2 people no problem, also Shennanagins I rish bar is good but avoid the bar crawl at all costs, €25 euros for 2 jack daniels & coke at bar street - be warned - All in all it wasnt bad great location so close to it all but not at all noisy, friendly staff & its own pool. We met a great crowd there & would go back, probably not to that hotel though, But Kos is gorgeous with everything u need & cheap as chips!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the brekkie
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
retford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

Basic bed and breakfast hotel,very clean, helpful staff and cheerful dont go expecting 4 star service in 2 star hotel its quite well run and very handy for town and beach would not say its for the young mostly middle aged clientel.Rooms are basic but some are better placed than others, overall good hotel and off average for greek standards.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank comicretford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2007

We have just returned from a week at The Captain Hotel and we had a great time. The hotel is small and basic but clean. The staff are really friendly and would do anything for you. Couldn't be in a better location, it was perfect, everything is in walking distance.

Great pool terrace with pool side bar.

And there was a 24 hour bar.

We would say this hotel is great value for money.

  • Liked — staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — 2 single beds instead of double
Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lush123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2006

We have just returned from two weeks at THE CAPTAINS HOTEL IN KOS.
This hotel is the most basic hotel we have ever holidayed at
It is based on bed and breakfast ..... but the breakfast consisted of sliced cheese garlic ham and stale bread every day the same.... not very nice.
The rooms are very small just big enough for two single beds, there is a built in wardrobe and a dressing table which are ok, but the lighting is so dismal...... its awful.
The bed sheets were changed regularly and so were the towels, .
The bathroom had a disgusting smell all the time which i assume came from the drains, which were not very good. the water was barely warm, and there was hardly any of it, showering was a work of art in itself. There was no shower curtain so consequently any water that did come through ended up on the floor which had a drain for that reason, but the more water we used the more disgusting smell became. also a huge chunk of the wash basin fell to the ground just missing my partners foot, this must have happened before because there were traces of glue on and around the basin.
The was also a very tiny balcony, which overlooked some sort of a dumping ground it was horrible. the Hotel is facing a school, which can become very noisy all afternoon, .It is centrally located with easy access to everywhere, but it is not the cleanest or tidiest of areas.
I know that airtours only rate this hotel with 2As but I think that people would be better off going self catering in an apartment, I wish we had done.

We have never been so glad to be home

Brian and
Ellen

Manchester

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — disgusting bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go there
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kos Town hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Paritsa Hotel
Paritsa Hotel
#26 of 48 in Kos Town
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dimitris Paritsa Hotel
Dimitris Paritsa Hotel
#38 of 48 in Kos Town
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pavlos Hotel
Pavlos Hotel
#171 of 217 in Kos
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Karis Hotel
Karis Hotel
#35 of 48 in Kos Town
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aegeon Hotel
Aegeon Hotel
#34 of 48 in Kos Town
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 48 in Kos Town
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Hotel

Property: Captains Hotel
Address: 44 Amerikis, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Captains Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Captains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Kos Town
Captains Hotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing