We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

For those of you who like to have the ability to make your own cup of tea or coffee and have a fridge to keep your milk, cold drinks or fruit in, this is ideal. Most rooms have a kitchenette, and the hotel is rated as 5 star. You can choose from B & B, half board or self catering, whichever suits you best. It is one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in, from the DIY man to the cleaners and the reception staff are also very efficient.. The hotel is very well maintained and although we ate out most of the time in Kos or Lambi, we tried the buffet dinner in the dining room and it was very enjoyable. I'm afraid we were not so keen on the food in the Italian restaurant on site though.

There were three swimming pools with daytime activities and evening entertainment and a daytime kiddies club for the younger guests.

The beach is just a long stone's throw away, across the road from the hotel . The hotel provide just a few sunbeds in one row on the beach, which was swept every day. The beach is mainly stones and the water gets deep quite quickly. For us however, this was a haven of peace and tranquility, with a gentle warm breeze cooling the air, time to read your book, relax and unwind.........

The hotel decor was very clean and smart and the biggest swimming pool became a feature in the evening, with changing coloured lights as you sipped your cocktails in the bar, overlooking it, either during, before or after the evening's entertainment.

The hotel is suitable for families, as well as couples, mainly Dutch and German and a few English. It is situated only a short bus or bike ride from Kos. The bus stop is right outside the hotel but check the bus route home as it varies. For the more energetic you can walk the 2.5 km into the main centre of Kos. A taxi back was about 10 Euros.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travellerabroad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    198
    68
    14
    4
See reviews for
327
253
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks after having had a great time in kos last year in Palazzo del Mare in Marmari. We booked a family suite near the restaurant, in the new part of the hotel, everything ok. The hotel has a nice contemporary design, the pools are great, with a 'beachy entrance', ideal for smaller kids.
There are not enough sunbeds and umbrellas. People got up at 5 o'clock in the morning to put their towel and a personal item to reserve their spot! When we arrived at the pool at 10.30 AM every bed was taken. After complaints from also other guests they took out a number of older (many broken)seats...Although they told people not to reserve sunbeds, everybody did it.
To solve the problem they should develop the beach in front! Now it's very shabby, with just 10-15 beds, all very old, dirty beach, a waste really.
If you order lunch at the poolbar, it takes about 45 min, so you have to be patient. Food is ok, good price/quality. The staff is very friendly, special compliments to Vassilis and Spyros for always being in a good mood.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FinnSon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMSTERDAM
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very nice hotel. We stayed in the new rooms which they sell as suites. Very nice.
If you stay with kids ask a room away from the pool as they do Karaoke till sometimes very late.
The pool is beyond excellent for young children. Our youngest (14 months) could walk her selves into the pool and sit on the side as this was very shallow. Food is ok. Nothing special,but for Greek standards acceptable. Beds where about even better than home (and we have Tempure beds at home).
Suites where new and I think that if they do it the Greek way they will get poorer by the year due to no mainainance.
They were building a new Spa.
Close to Kos city. Easy to do by bike. Bike and car rental is like 20 minutes walk from the hotel (Kos city direction) and way cheaper than in the hotel.

Room Tip: Away fromthe pool if you have children that want to sleep at 21:00 o'clock
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stocktipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had a wonderful week 23-30 June 2011, our first overseas holiday with our two young boys. Pelagos provides a great mix of high quality service in a total relaxing environment. All the staff were very friendly throughout. The main restaurant was buffet service with a high quality selection similar to what you would expect to see in a high quality international hotel. Fab pool, although a little cold. Our 4yr old loved the Aqua Gym and particularly being an assistant to the animation team – thanks Tessa! We stayed in a family suite in the new area which was fantastic, very modern, contemporary style with daily maid service.
We had a fantastic holiday, we loved it and looking to return next year!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Wayne4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
376 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The new part of the hotel is amazing! It's very modern, trendy. The swimmingpool is very nice! The hotel is located near a beach. The food is amazing, there is a lot of outside space to eat, but inside it's sometimes a little small. The rooms were clean an spacious.
Next year, the hotel is planning to build an aquapark near the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nathalievb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarboro north yorks
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Booked from direct holidays website as the pelagos was described as small and quiet just what we wanted. I became a bit worried when I began reading reviews describing building work and expansion as we are not fans of huge complexes.
We arrived around 10pm and after a swift check in by a lady who spoke fluent english we were escorted to our room. The guy who took us to our room was very helpful showing us where everything was and how everything worked even down to the hairdryer he also told us we were in the old part but we had full use of all the facilities in the new area.
We were initially a little disappointed that our room didn't have a balcony or view as such and the terrace was a shared one however the comfort and cleanliness of the room was more important. One advantage of these lower rooms was that it did remain cool all day and the terrace got late evening sun and they were so quiet at night indeed it was the first holiday ever that I got 7 good nights undisturbed sleep!!
Apparantly if you book with the thomas cook group you will get one of the older rooms not one of the swish new ones.The self catering facilities were ok for snacks but cooking full meals would be pretty tricky.The bathroom was excellent with a bath, shower and no restriction on flushing excellent for greece. The towels were pristine white and changed daily. The beds were fairly firm with spotless white sheets changed midweek. Rooms were serviced daily by the lovely cheerful maid.
The new complex was truly breathtaking and finished to a very high standard, pools huge and surrounded by lovely rattan loungers with cushions. The resteraunt is surrounde by flowing water and tables look to float looked lovely on a night when all lit up. We were room only basis so can't comment on the food. We did however eat at the new italian resteraunt which was delightful, delicious food reasonably priced, starters main course and a carafe of wine for two for around 32 euros. The new pool bar served snacks during the day again reasonably priced but beware portions were gigantic!
The other guests seemed to be mainly dutch and german not many english voices to be heard all week.
The pool in the old part was lovely and quiet as the families prefered to use the new pools so it was a haven of peace and tranquility but just a few steps away from the faster pace of the new area.
The little shop on the complex was handy but there is a little supermarket just outside that is a little cheaper with a wider range and run by a lovely friendly couple.
Be sure to do the trip to nyssiross and go up into the volcano crater an experince not to be missed.
The only couple of downsides to the pelagos is it is a good 45 minute stroll to kos harbour, not a problem if you enjoy an evening stroll as we do, in fact this was a factor in us choosing pelagos, the problem was the number of bikes [think amsterdam] and the fact that they seemed think they had priority over walkers so you were constantly dodging our european neighbours which marred an otherwise nice walk.
The other downside was we were unable to have a late check out but were offered a basement room for 40 euros a little steep as we would only have used it to shower and make a coffee before we left. On asking if there was a curtesy room to shower in before leaving we were told we would have to use the shower in the poolside toilets and no there was no facilities to use a hairdryer not ideal when leaving for a late night flight and i would have thought such a new upmarket complex would have that covered.
All in all the pelagos was amazing wouldnt hesitate to recommend and would love to return.

Room Tip: e-mail in advance to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank di1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
181 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Stayed with family at the Pelagos Suites Hotel 30 September - 7 October. We had the older style rooms near to the main pool.

As other reviewers have said the pool areas at the Pelagos Suites Hotel are excellent. They look very beautiful and, at all times during our stay, were relatively empty. There are some classy "beach huts" along one side of the pool which can be hired for EUR30 a day. This includes some drinks, Satellite tv and private patio area.

Also in the grounds of the hotel was a lovely little chapel. If you do take a look inside you will be greated with an amazing site of beautiful paintings, treasures and artifacts. It's a bit like a tardis as it looks tiny on the outside.

The hote room had 3 beds (one of which was a settee/bed), small kitchen area, table with 2 chairs, wardrobe, 2 x bedside chests, dressing table/mirror area and armchair. The bathroom was quite good and had complimentary toiletries. Plenty of storage space and drawers for luggage. There was also a balcony.

Good points of the hotel had to be the pool areas and general appearance of the hotel. The design is lovely and quite deceiving from the outside and the outdated photos in the holiday brochures/website.

Another plus was the breakfast in the restaurant. Ample choice of hot and cold dishes, sweet and savory including pastries, fresh and dried fruit and nuts, various jams and compotes, selection of breads, sausages, bacon, eggs, cheese, ham etc etc.

Staff were efficient and helpful particularly on the reception.

We ate in the restaurant on 3 mornings and 2 evenings. Generally the food was good but of the quality expected at an International hotel. One evening meal was very pleasant with a chinese theme.

Free wi-fi at the hotel was a nice touch although the service was patchy and only really worked properly around the large pool, restaurant and new suites area. In my room it didn't work at all.

Bad points. The hotel sells itself as 4 star and some of the guests acted a bit "snooty". In the restaurant my son and I were made to feel very unwelcome. I felt some of the hotel guests expected no children at the hotel. The frowns and tuts were audible and spoilt my evening. :( Having holidayed in Kos for many years I found this most unusual as I had never experienced this sort of reaction before. The other guests (mostly Dutch) who had children were very friendly.

Beds in the hotel were very hard and I woke with an aching back and shoulder every morning.

Hotel "Entertainment" noise was not much of an issue. Only on one evening could I hear it from my room. The music stopped prompty at midnight though so it wasn't really a problem.

The last negative point for me was the location. The hotel is at least 45 minute walk into Kos Town. I prefer to be closer. The distance wasn't the only issue. The area where the Pelagos is located is round the corner from Lambi on the main coastal road. The wind really got up when turning the corner. Sometimes on the beach although the sun was out and it was really warm I was shivering from the breeze. Around the pool it was much better being sheltered. But the wind put me off using the beach sunbeds.

There is a bus stop outside the hotel for the service into Kos Town. The bus runs every 1/2 hour in peak season and hourly otherwise. It was very cheap at only EUR1 each (children free). The bus was the no.2. Don't do as we did one day and take the other bus no.4 from Kos Town. This takes you almost all the way to Tingaki before coming back to Lambi. A journey of 5 minutes turned into 25!

Taxi into town was EUR7 one way. To hire a bike was only EUR 4 per day and that would definitely be my preferred way of travel. The little side roads around the hotel are quiet and ideal for the novice cyclist. Just keep over when the coaches/buses come by to be safe.

We heard the Pelagos is due to expand greatly during 2011. Apparently there will be over 1000 rooms in total. So if you like big hotels it might be a good choice. Personally I think I'll stick to the "small and friendly" where "friendly" really does mean a good welcome.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.5 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.3 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
629 reviews
3.1 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
828 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelagos Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelagos Suites Hotel

Property: Pelagos Suites Hotel
Address: Lambi Beach, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#9 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelagos Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pelagos Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelagos Hotel Kos Town
Pelagos Suites Hotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing