We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely island, stunning rooms, restricting A/I”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Visited the lovely Greek Island of Kos in September for 5 nights. What a beautiful island it is! Stayed in the Pelagos suites junior suite rooms. They were very newly built and spotlessly clean was very impressed. Now when booking this hotel they have the standard apartments which are old and tired and then the junior suites which are open plan stunning rooms would encourage to upgrade otherwise you'll be disappointed with your room. The all inclusive is very restricting only two drinks at a time and only a selection of spirits are included. Cocktails are not included in this so if we wanted one we had to order a vodka and orange and then a shot of liqueur separate which they allowed so is a silly system indeed and needs reviewing.
The hotel had great wifi access points all over the complex which was useful. The complex is stunning however some of the day beds are tired and ripped now which need changing. The food was amazing lots of selection. Kos town is about 30minutes away from the complex. Hired quad bikes and explored the island would definitely recommend this it's a great way to get around. Would return to Kos one of my favourite Greek Islands

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryanair553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We went the last week of the season. English October half term. The whole of the island was shutting down. This wasnt our hotel we booked. Thomas cook called me 7 days before our flight to tell us our original hotel was now closed and we were moved to this one. The reps actually flew home on our plane with us. So most of their equipment had already been packed away or left at the original hotel we booked. They did their best to keep the kids busy, but with very limited resources. I wouldnt book in Oct again as the hotel staff were moving sunbeds and packing up around us on the last few days. Made me feel a bit strange. The whole island was very quiet. We hired bikes to cycle into Kos town one day for 2 euros. Even shops there were closing up. The cycle took 20 mins and is flat on a well design cycle path.
Lambi isnt pretty and outside of our hotel the "beach" area is littered with rubbish and a sewer pipe! lots of broken glass etc. Shame the greek authorities dont address this. There were alot of spray paint graffiti too which is a real pity.

The pools were too cold to swim in, however they did look nice. Gardens and surrounding areas were lovely and well kept. My daughter enjoyed the two water slides.

The food was nice, but after a week I got a bit bored of the same type of food. Thought it strange not to be able to get a coffee in the restaurant at the end of a meal. ??? Had to walk to the pool bar, then after 3 nightes even that closed. So had to walk to the indoor bar.
Hotel shop literally was running down on everything and reminded me of Bulgeria in the 80s!!!
Glad we werent self catering, as we would have struggled. sure high season it would be fine.

Aqua blu is a spa hotel down the road, we used their spa one day. Beautiful. !!! 50 euros for a full body massage. Daughter enjoyed lift in golf buggy! lol

Wouldnt book Thomas cook trips as they were double the cost of the locals trips, and we were on the same boat !!!!

We loved going to Bodrum in Turkey the best. Go Tuesdays... market day.
Got lots of fake desinger goods, and enjoyed a lovely meal by the harbour. Much busier and more atmosphere than Kos Town.

Nice weeks break however wont be going back to Kos.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We, a family of four with two kids aged 3 and 10, spent 9 days in Pelagos Suites Hotel this August, and I am happy to report that this is an amazing place for the famly holiday. We stayed in a family suite (no.952) which was excellent –next to the water polo pool, overlooking mountains on the left and sea on the right, with enormous roof equipped with a king-size bed (where you can relax with a glass of wine, staring at the night sky...).

We have checked in late at night (after 11pm) and the only restaurant still open at that time was the Italian which was also about to close However, when we approached a member of staff, we were invited to take a seat (despite it’s being officially closed by then!) and were offered two very big plates of bbq meats, accompanied by salads and followed by a choice of desserts which were absolutely amazing! It was a very warm and unexpected welcome. Overall, the hotel staff was very friendly and effective during our stay.

The food was excellent, of a good choice and quality, the waiters were very friendly and helpful.
There are excellent facilities for the younger kids, including water slides, mini-pools, playground and a spacious kids club. The evening entertainment program was very good for under-8s, the older public would have to leave the hotel to entertain itself elsewhere. The animators were working very hard during the day but there was no over-obtrusive feeling

Although the hotel was fully booked at the time of our stay, there was no “overcrowded” feeling, the pools and restaurants are big and spacious enough to freely accommodate a few hundreds of guests. No queus in the restaurants. The issue of getting sun beds does exist but we had no problem finding them by the water polo pool which is more suitable for the younger kids and also more quiet and has nice views. And it's just a few meteres away from the central pool, so I do not see a problem at all.

The only downside was the beach – it is literally impossible to enter the sea water without wounding your feet, the sea bottom is laid with rocks, not pebbles! That was rather disappointing but it has obviously nothing to do with the hotel. Still, we spent a few wonderful evenings on the beach and enjoyed amazing sunset views with the Turkish shore at the background. From Kos town you can take boat trips to other Dodecanese islands or Bodrum in Turkey.

Tips:

1.Book a suite rather than a standard room, otherwise you may end up in a half-basement room which is not nice

2.If you travel to Kos town by taxi during weekend, you may get stuck there because of the taxis shortage. Alternatively, you can take a bus but it takes much longer to get to the hotel than by car.

3.Mosquito repellent is a must in August. I haven’t applied it in the first day and got bitten by mosquitos so that my legs were covered with huge red blisters that spoilt most of my holiday pictures.

4.Do not add tips to your restaurant or bar bills – waiters do not get them! Try to take some cash with you, they really deserve it.

Room Tip: Suite 952 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have recently come back from our week at the Pelagos Suites, staying there during the last week of October. We had two rooms, a junior suite and family suite. Both rooms were great, exactly like the photo's we had been looking at on the internet - clean, spacious and modern, both with balcony which had both table and chairs and a day bed on. There were six of us in our party, three of which our children, aged 6,12,13. The staff were fabulous, warm and welcoming on our arrival and right through our time there. The food was absolutely great, so much variety that even the fussiest of eaters would find something. We would definatley return to this hotel, hopefully for a longer stay next time. Make use of the tennis courts, gym and sauna, we had so much fun, there was something there for all. The entertainment crew were great with the kids and did a good job with what they had (perhaps someone should review the entertainment budget). Katie was great even playing with the kids until we all boarded the plane home. We did the Island Tour, which I would definitley recommend, our our guide Costas was very knowledgeable and we had a great day our visiting Zia, the Askelepion, Kefalos not to mention wine and honey tasting. It's easy to get into Kos Town, only a 5 minute bus ride away, and the bus stop is straight outside the hotel. Kos Town is lovely, beautiful new marina and a mix of modern and traditional greek shops. I would highly recommend the Pelagos to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in blocks 700 and 800 - lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizzywYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were slightly apprehensive at being moved from the Zorbas Beach Hotel just a week or so before departure to the Pelagos but this turned out to be a blessing in disguise. Our accommodation was excellent and considering this was end of season (and weather was great by the way) everything was well maintained, clean and comfortable. Yes I saw a ripped sunbed, the kind that some reviewers love to photograph and criticise but overall the experience was superb. The food was plentiful and varied and the house drinks were pretty good. The staff were all very jolly and could not do enough to help which was perhaps surprising as they must have worked hard throughout the summer. I even managed to get a smile from the two ladies serving at the pool bar on our final day! The Thomas Cook rep and the entertainments team - Natalie, Richard and Katie were hard working, entertaining and great with the kids. Their Spice Girls routine was quite remarkable - there is no other way to describe it! Not much of a beach at Lambi and lots of rubbish and exposed pipes but Kos Town was nice. Kos island itself was not the most picturesque I have seen but the towns and resorts were pretty good and many of the shops were still open even in late October.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent a week here in mid-October and we loved it. Despite the fact it was near the end of the season, and no doubt the staff were exhausted, there were no signs of tiredness and everybody we met was charming and helpful. The hotel is beautifully laid out - several pools with plenty of sun-loungers, a small shop, pool bar, spa facilities etc. Our Junior suite was enormous and even featured a double-bed sized sun-lounger on the terrace. Very minor complaints would be: shower door leaked due to bad design, restaurant could tone lights down in the evening to make a more intimate atmosphere, at the end of the season not all the bar areas are open. All in all the food was delicious (we were all-inclusive), the hotel layout was perfect but the highlight was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frenchkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We arrived at the Pelagos Suites at 10.30 pm, we had to wait 1hr 15 mins to be taken to our room, by this time the bar was closed and we could not even get water. We returned to our rooms to unpack , it was at this point that we found that the bedding was covered in black hairs, this in both apartments. Also in one apartment there were white stains on the bed cover ( you can work out for yourself what they were) We went to the reception to complain and the person there told us that he could do nothing, as he could not leave the desk. Eventually a member of staff, who was going home, came to the rooms to change the bedding. When he removed the sheets from one bed the mattress was covered in a large brown stain. We returned to reception and after protesting we were offered a self catering room, 1 room for all seven of us. this room was also dirty. but by this time 1.30 am the three children were tired and in tears so 5 people stayed in the room while two of us went to sit in reception. We had to argue to get some water. At 3.00pm the person in reception suddenly found a room for the two of us, this was a dirty dark basement room with 2 beds that only had woolen blankets. After a night with no sleep, little water, and no food we met with the Thomas Cook rep. After telling him we wanted to be moved, we went for breakfast, only to be told that the restaurant was closed, so no breakfast. Eventually after 13 hours we were moved to the Kipriotis Village, a place just as bad ( a review has been submitted for this). Go to the pelagos if you wish but do check the mattress. And one final point, not one member of staff even said sorry!

Room Tip: Check the bedding and mattress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank greekfellow200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.5 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.3 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
3.9 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
15.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelagos Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelagos Suites Hotel

Address: Lambi Beach, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#9 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: £135 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelagos Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelagos Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelagos Hotel Kos Town
Pelagos Suites Hotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing