We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PeterAndrea302”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alice Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Alice Springs. Had a fantastic time. Barbara, Elias and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Didn't meet George as he is in Australia at the moment. Lamb Night and BBQ Steak/Ribs night highly recommended. Food and drinks were reasonably priced and food also very good. Location from Kos about 10/15 minute walk, so good location. Accommodation was basic but very good and clean. Overall, excellent and can't wait to go back and have arranged to hopefully get together next year with some other guests at the Alice Springs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea_Mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had a lovely time at Alice Springs Hotel. Barbara and Elias were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

Food and drinks were really good and reasonably priced. Steak night was particularly good value and very tasty.

Rooms were clean and functional

We had rain one day so Barbara arranged for us to go to the Hamam, they came to the hotel to pick us up and we had a good few hours there-would definitely recommend on a cloudy day! (Although beware they do try to sell additional treatments/drinks between every part of the treatments)

Christina 3 islands tour was exceptional value, €30 each inducing lunch for an all day trip. This boat had less people than some of the others that were packed like sardine cans

Bike hire over the road for €2.50 a day if you fancy riding for about an hour to Tignaki

Tarzan beach was good for some beach side sunbathing and drinks, but not so good for food in the evening. Sunset taverna was however really good for dinner

Would recommend Alice Springs!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Hi myself and my partner have just returned from a pre wedding break at Alice Springs,what a lovely friendly place nothing is too much for them,Barbara is the prefect host and all her family are lovely including her lovely grand children .What ever we needed for the room we just asked and it was provided or sorted,(NOT THAT THERE WAS ANYTHING WRONG AT ALL).But I am just saying if you are not happy asked or no one can help.Thanks once again Hope George is home soon,Love Lou and Pete West Midlands England.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tiptonangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is my first ever hotel review,but I thought it a must. Also to tell you how it really was.On arrival we were greated by Illias, who was helpful and cheerful all the way throughout the holiday. We were then checked into our room by George, who definately had a strange sense of humour throughtout.
First impression the room was a nice size. We had a fully working large size fridge freezer( this was a 1st). 2 lots of aircon- which worked independantly which proved helpful, as our danughter liked hers off when we wanted ours on. Another 1st a toilet which you could use the same way as at home ( flush it no paper bucket).
As we arrived late we went around the pool for a drink before going to sleep. Where we discovered that towels were left out over night ( another 1st).
The first day we got our bearings. The rep was really helpful ( not just pushing trips).
The only real issue was a sunbed issue, but it was resolved by week 2 of our holiday when a notice was put up stating all towels had to be removed by 8pm and not put out until 8 am. Which was fine by us we just fitted in with things. The 1st week we got spare beds around the pool, and decided to leave our towels out like everyone else after having beds taken 2 days running ( when in Rome)
This was a lovely restful holiday. We had breakfast everyday which was nice, not too much,or too little.
We took part in the barbecue night, which was very good and would definately have again. The meat and vegetables just melted in your mouth. We only ordered 2 meals as it sounded alot, and they made a extra plate up for our daughter.
Also next time we wouild like to take part in the lamb night as it also got great reports.
The only thing I would have liked would have been some nice chilled house wine at a house wine price.
The rooms were kept lovely and clean, and always had plenty of fresh towels.
We kept our room on but really didn't need to as the changing area was really good. It even had working electric points.Because we had a appartment it was about 30euros to keep it on.
There were different prices depending on whether you had room only, studio or appartment.
We paid approx 112 euros a fornight for aircon, and safety deposit box for 2 weeks was 25 euros.
All the staff were friendly, and hard working.
The big supermarket Konstantinos, out left at the top of the bank was the best priced for most things. Worth a visit for alcohol to take home. Not closed on sundays.
Also if on holiday at peek season there is the odd power cut.
We found a couiple of really good restaurants, quality food at a good price. We could have done with more than 2 weeks to try more.Sunset out left and left at the top of the bank. The Twin Dragons( chinese) out rt down near harbour.
This part of Kos has everything, beaches, restaurants, pools, history, port and shops.
We would definately like to return and will.
Thanks Barbara, George, Illas, and everyone at Alice Springs, for a really good holiday xx

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for a week last year. The staff are lovely! Good location, right near the beach and restaurants. Had various entertainment on throughout our stay, such as quiz nights. Great value.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My family and I stayed at Alice Springs in July and had a spectacular time! The owner George and his family made us feel right at home and provided us with great advise and anecdotes about the area.

The hotel grounds are immaculate and comprised with a lovely pool, restaurant, bar and games. George's pool was the highlight for my two younger daughters. The rooms were also very comfortable, large and very clean.

My only regret is that we did not stay longer, but this gives me a reason to go to Alice Springs with my family in the future. Truly a great stay!

Room Tip: While at Alice Springs, you must have their Moussaka! Also wash it down with a Fosters beer fresh o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TCulotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We booked a week with Thomson at the Alice Springs Hotel and Apartments in late October to catch the late Autumn sun. As usual we booked "self catering" allowing us to prepare breakfasts and lunches as and when it suited us. On our arrival, however, it became apparent that we had been booked "room only" by Thomson and there were no "self catering" apartments available. Unfortunately and obviously my fault for not checking the paperwork, the Thomson booking form sent to me did indeed detail "room only". It was only on further investigation that I discovered another couple staying at the Alice Springs Hotel with Thomson had also booked "self catering" and been given "room only". In addition,on the bus transfer to the airport at the end of the week, we spoke to another couple with an identical problem. I find it difficult to believe that three couples made the same mistake! I wrote to Thomson on on 18th October asking them to investigate these three identical issues but after some 9 weeks I still await a reply.

However, the Alice Springs owners went out of their way to ensure that we and the other couple had a really good holiday.

The hotel is run by - as the name might suggest - two Greek/Australian families providing a truly excellent and well run facility, with a restaurant and bar providing a friendly service of well-cooked food and reasonably priced drinks.The various "food-themed" nights are great fun and well worth booking. There is a pleasant swimming pool with plenty of sun beds and a variety of sitting-out areas. Nothing is too much trouble, the facilities and rooms are clean and tidy and it is obvious that regular maintenance and some upgrading is carried out during the closed season.

The hotel's location is some 200m from a long sandy beach, there are several restaurants almost adjacent to the hotel and others within a 10 minute walk and the hotel is an easy 15-20 minute walk from Kos town centre.

The Thomson representative calls at the hotel on a regular basis which is a most useful service, as it provides details of the various events and tourist opportunities available on Kos. However, with only a little homework it became obvious that the Thomson prices were quite a bit higher than those charged in the town itself - as an example, the "3 island boat trip" when booked downtown, was nearly 20 euros cheaper than the price quoted by Thomson - so do your homework before booking with the rep!

Altogether a very pleasant week in the sun made especially enjoyable through the efforts of the hotel owners and their staff, so many thanks to George, Barbara, Elias and all the staff .

To Thomson - I still await a response to my letter regarding the accommodation issue and you should probably have a look at your pricing of the various holiday events.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#12 of 48 in Kos Town
772 reviews
2.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
4.8 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#9 of 48 in Kos Town
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Hotel

Address: 100 Lambi, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: £19 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Springs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is located in Kos Island, a part of the picturesque Dodecanese Islands in the Greek Mediterranean.We offer spacious, air conditioned double rooms and apartments within 80m of beautiful Lambi beach. The centre of the city is a mere 1.5km walk away or alternatively there is a a bus stop only 50m away.Kos Town offers some great shops. In the centre of Kos town you will find an indoor market that sells local produce such as Ouzo, honey, pottery, seeds and soaps. Lambi also offers some fantastic ancient ruins for those who like to take in the local culture whilst enjoying their luxury holiday, or if you would prefer the atmosphere of the more lively resort of Kos Town.Psalidi which features a water park and is located in close proximity to Lambi and Kardamena which is the liveliest of the resorts of Kos and offers a fantastic selection of bars, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Alice Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs kós
Alice Springs Hotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing