We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fantastic Stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alice Springs Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alice Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Alice Springs and what a fantastic holiday we had, Credit to Elias, Maria and Elley the Chef & George the Gardener & The Cleaning ladies,
everything was just perfect for us, the food served at the Alice springs was outstanding the Lamb night & BBQ night was delicious, the rooms were cleaned every day and the whole surroundings are kept perfect, if anyone if looking for a relaxing holiday in a perfect location with fantastic people and delicious food Alice Springs is the place to stay, a Big Thank you to Elias & Maria for everything and for making our holiday a fantastic one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    83
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
298
367
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Alice Springs is situated approx. 20 to 25 mins walk from the picturesque Kos Town Harbour.
It is in a quiet Rd 2 mins walk from Lampi Beach where there are many Tavernas jostling for your trade and offering you a free sunbed if you buy a drink or snack from their eatery.
The beach is narrow and a bit shingly- however its still very pleasant to sit and listen to the waves lapping on the shore whilst reading your book.
The Old River bar was quite close and on the beach - the guys there were fun with a ready joke for all....
In the Rd where Alice Springs sits is Efkality Taverna- it was delightful, we ate all over town and I found this one the most relaxed and genuine with very well priced meals.
The Hotel is ok, a bit dated in the bedroom area - the room we stayed in needed a refurb and new bathroom ( cracked sink, leaking loo, shower flooding! ) but there is a new block which is prob much more modern, however you don't go on Holiday to sit in your bedroom so hey ho.
The shower itself was very powerful with plentiful hot water.
Also, I felt the cleaning was a bit poor in bedroom, there were some crisps dropped on floor which stayed there all week ( !) and the loo area really needs a steam cleaner on it to get up to scratch as a bit grubby.
However the pool and bar area were immaculate and nicely set out. And the loo for residents use by pool was very clean and fresh smelling.
The pool itself was very inviting and several people braved it in May and did a few lengths!
At the back of the Hotel was a peaceful green garden area with lots of sunbeds- very nice and relaxing.
Food from bar was reasonable as were drinks - with very generous measures - always served up with a smile! Don t start on the Ouzo and Fanta as its addictive!
We attended the Greek night - a delicious lamb meal - fell off the bone and lots of meat - absolutely beautiful- candle lit tables - lovely, lovely evening. I think a little greek dancing or something would have finished it off. The food was unbeatable and we followed up with Elias 's homemade apple pie and a stunning cheesecake. It was a great success and enjoyed by all who attended.
Couple of things to improve -
I think the atmosphere at the bar could be enlivened a bit - perhaps a singer or another 'act 'once a week ? Would keep the customers in. I think that a little bit of music up till 10.30 pm wouldn' t hurt- after all people are on holiday - I think some of the 'regulars' expect silence!
The real strength of the Hotel were - ( marathon running / prospective councillor / double denim wearing/ Great character ! ) Elias and his beautiful wife Maria. They were both very cheerful and upbeat with lots of candid tales to keep us amused! They stayed at the bar chatting pleasantly to all who called in for last minute, late night ( 11pm!) drinks.
I felt Maria worked tirelessly from first thing in morning till close without a grumble - she was pleasant and witty and I found her really likeable.
I could not believe the other review which said she spoke ' sharp' - shes not sharp - shes Greek! They talk quickly! And I ask you - would you go to Gordon Ramseys restaurant and say can you take 20 pence off if I don t have the carrots!?The menu says what it says!
I think the Hotel owners would be wise to listen to Maria - she is young and fresh - with new eyes for future business ideas and new customers.( And lets agree - the loyal 'fan base' of Barbara and George won t be around forever '! )
She could bring forth new a second wind for Alice Springs - let it compete with all the all the new hotels. It certainly has a lovely family 'feel' - that with a bit of ' sprucing up' and an injection of 'life'
could keep a new generation coming back ....
- I think she has the ability, work ethic, ambition and ideas to go forth with her husband and I wish them every success for the future.
Thankyou for a nice week away. Good luck to you both and kisses to little ones x x

Room Tip: Maybe in thye new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our first stay at Alice Springs and we were not disappointed, indeed we hope to return as do most of the people we met there! Elias and Maria were wonderful hosts and their children Barbara and George add to the family run theme.They became playmates with our two children who cried at having to leave their new friends. We were greeted by Elias even though we arrived late in the evening and genuine warmth of the welcome continued throughout our stay The hotel is located within easy walking and cycling distance (all flat) of Kos town, which we managed to do with two young children (aged 7 & 5) albeit we did end up having a taxi back which cost around 6 Euros which was well worth it! Plenty of good quality restaurants in the vicinity - we particularly liked the Blue Phoenix (turn right out of hotel and on the beach) and if you want something in Kos town, Flamingo opposite the harbour and Spitaki further along the coast are both recommended (Spitaki not in walking distance unless particularly fit!) There are plenty of bicycle and car hire places close to the hotel and suberb bike routes which avoid cycling on the roads. Staff are extremely hard working and friendly. Big George was always happy to stop and chat with the kids making them feel important. Room 106 was well appointed with probably the best power shower we have ever experienced! Beds basic but comfy.Ability to flush toilet paper an added bonus too. Balcony spacious and receives sun throughout the afternoon and evening allowing for easy drying of clothing used during the day. Kitchen was basic but all that was needed and satellite TV an added bonus - although mostly in Greek which was easily understandable after a night at the bar! Safe and air conditioning available within rooms for extra euros, air conditioning will be needed during high season so budget for extra in July/August.( 30+ degrees during our stay in May). Rooms were cleaned daily and the maids arranged the children's nightwear on their beds for them which was a lovely added touch. Pool area and grounds really well tended and washed down daily. Shower and toilet facilities available for those with late flights and those unable to extend their room. Pool bar prices more expensive than buying in supermarket but then that is the same as it is at home so quite acceptable. Food quality and choice of food from the pool restaurant was excellent. We attended the Lamb Kleftiko and BBQ night (steak and ribs) which we would highly recommend. The lamb was beautiful, again staff very attentive on both nights and proud of their food and the service they provide.We cannot recommend Alice Springs enough and it thoroughly deserves No 1 ranking on Trip Advisor. Fully hope to return although imagine that it will be booked up quite quickly as it deserves to be!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ClickClick555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Elias and Maria look after you so well at this hotel that you immediately feel part of the family. Studio apartments are small but have everything you need and are spotlessly clean. Pool is lovely with stone steps and a rail for getting in, perfect for me as I have mobility problems. Not many hotels provide this and it is always a delight when they do. Pool bar food is excellent, especially the crepes with Greek yoghurt and fresh fruit for breakfast, my favourite. Definitely coming back, next year if we can or the year after. Fantastic hotel, hosts and island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda-Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at Alice Springs from 6th to 14th May. Our rooms were very clean shower room and toilet really good. Hosts were very helpful. We experience no problems and would go again. It was good value for money

Room Tip: We had room 106 which had sun on the balcony in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillianFerris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hi to ellias and maria, love the hotel and all the staff, had a great stay with you, this is second stay here and sad to hear george and barbera have gone back to austrailia, although the hotel has been left in the excellent hands of ellias and maria who are both verry helpfull and friendly, rooms are kept clean and tidy daily and towels changed daily by the friendly maids, pool and bar area also kept clean and tidy, as we have been before we visited are old friends joseph and co at old river reasterant turn right from hotel and right at beach and along on right hand side brilliant reasterant and staff, great greek food, also blue phoenix right out of hoyel and on left at bottom of road. We also sat on beach at old river for free and had brill service from dragon down on the beach, my only gripe is you couldnt get any rest on beach due to all the massagi girls going around 15 on 1 day.
Anyways cheers ellias and maria we all had great stay and great kleftico night. And i will be back james.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited Alice Springs as a couple between 13-20 May. I understand that the original owners George and Barbara have returned to Australia and the hotel is now managed by their son and daughter-in-law Elias and Maria. The hotel is around a 15/20 minute walk to the centre of Kos Town and a 5 minute walk from a shingly beach. There are also a number of tavernas/bars within easy walking distance and an excellent restaurant Efkalipity just opposite. We found all the tavernas/bars to be good value with friendly staff/owners. Alice Springs is a smallish family run hotel and Elias and Maria are friendly hard-working people. The bar area, the pool and garden are very nice. We were located in the original part of the hotel built in the 80's I think (room 211) and I have to say that based upon our room refurbishment is needed, particularly the bathroom. There is a much newer part of the hotel and I suspect that standards there are higher. Although it didn't bother us there was no TV in the room. Food is available on request and we found both food and drink was fine. A couple of people have mentioned prices but we have no issue with the prices charged. We attended the 'lamb night' meal which was excellent. The only entertainment we are aware of was a quiz one night organised by the Thompson rep which we enjoyed. It would be nice to see something additional e.g. local musician to encourage a livelier atmosphere around the bar in the evening. However it was early in the season so maybe that will happen at some point. Kos is a lovely island and the people very friendly, we also found other guests to be very friendly. Alice Springs has a very good reputation built up over many years under George and Barbara and I'm sure Elias and Maria will continue the good work. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaun h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.6 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#4 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#7 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
11.6 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
2.7 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Hotel

Property: Alice Springs Hotel
Address: 100 Lambi, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Springs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is located in Kos Island, a part of the picturesque Dodecanese Islands in the Greek Mediterranean.We offer spacious, air conditioned double rooms and apartments within 80m of beautiful Lambi beach. The centre of the city is a mere 1.5km walk away or alternatively there is a a bus stop only 50m away.Kos Town offers some great shops. In the centre of Kos town you will find an indoor market that sells local produce such as Ouzo, honey, pottery, seeds and soaps. Lambi also offers some fantastic ancient ruins for those who like to take in the local culture whilst enjoying their luxury holiday, or if you would prefer the atmosphere of the more lively resort of Kos Town.Psalidi which features a water park and is located in close proximity to Lambi and Kardamena which is the liveliest of the resorts of Kos and offers a fantastic selection of bars, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs kós
Alice Springs Hotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing