We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family run business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alice Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful family run business”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We went to Alice Springs Hotel, Kos right near the beginning of the season which made the days sunshine tolerable for me as a Lupus sufferer, but meant it was a bit chilly at nights. In fact it was warmer at home but not a problem for us. We arrived in the early hours of the morning and were met by an older gentleman in reception, which I believe was only open for our arrival. We were provided with some bottles of water and shown to our room which was on the upper floor, facing the pool. The apartment was very basic, but VERY clean, cleaners are excellent and in every day, it had a bedroom with adequate storage, single, comfortable beds pushed together (hubby hated this!) adequate kitchen to cook breakfast, fridge, balcony to eat breakfast out on, and bathroom with shower no bath unfortunately for me. Not the quietest of rooms some nights if other guests are being really loud at the bar. Elias, Maria, Barbara and George are a fantastic family, so welcoming, nothing is too much for them. Elias even took my husband into Kos one night to a pharmacy as i had left my skin medications at home and was having a really bad skin reaction, so grateful to Elias for that. EXCELLENT bar food, Steak and lamb nights not to be missed, food heaven! We didn't use the pool but could see it was clean and the surrounding areas cleaned every morning. There are also shower facilities with mirror and electric points for your hairdryer etc should you need to freshen up for flights home if you have a very long wait after leaving your room as we did. Met lots of very frequent return guests, testament in itself to this wonderful hotel. If you choose an all inclusive, luxurious, faceless, impersonal hotel where you're too frightened to leave the hotel in case you miss out on paid for food (yes really!) then you'll miss out on a wonderful experience at Alice Springs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandaM2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    83
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
300
372
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a great 2 weeks @ Alice Springs Elias makes you welcome as soon as you arrive, we had a 1 bed apartment which was lovely & roomy the cleaners did a great job George is a great character who clearly makes time to speak to the guests in fact all the staff are lovely and I would recommend this friendly hotel to anyone. I would recommend both the BBQ night and the Lamb night if you decide on the lamb I would recommend you don't eat lunch that day as you certainly get a lot of it I hadn't had Kleftico before and it was gorgeous the lamb just fell off the bone.There is 1 large supermarket/gift shop and a few Taverners close by, the beach is just a few minutes walk from the hotel most of the sunbeds on the beach range from 2-3 euros each but they are free at Heaven beach bar provided you buy drinks,Kos town is not too far away but if you don't want to walk or bike to Kos I would recommend a taxi at night as the bus is usually full and won't stop, all in all thanks to all the wonderful staff my family had a wonderful holiday so a BIG thanks to them all.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank tracey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

So relaxing and friendly is the stay at the Alice Springs Hotel. We have just returned from a weeks holiday there and cannot fault them. From the moment we arrived it felt like we had always been there. Elias, Maria, George and Barbara are a lovely family who work very hard to keep their hotel the way that it is.
Nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are cleaned every day and are a great size. The drinks and food they offer is a good selection and reasonably priced. The location is perfect and handy for the local beach, the supermarket on the corner, and a great taverna nearby called the Old River.
There are ample sunbeds which are set around the pool and in beautiful gardens at the back.
We will definitely return and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who does not want to be in a larger resort/hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

From beginning to the end of our stay at Alice Springs Elias,George and Barbara...not forgetting the cleaners and the rest of the staff made us feel very welcome this is why we keep on coming back time after time you can't beat the person-centred touch of a family run business.The pool was fine my son loved it making lots of friends.Just a pity we missed famous Lamb Night as we went to the Greek night at Zia.Can't wait till we holiday there again soon.Would definitely recommend this hotel, superb

Room Tip: Rooms 301,302,303 are ground rooms overlook onto another complex which is not ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second visit to the Alice Springs Hotel and we were not disappointed.

Upon arrival we were welcomed like family from Elias, Maria, Barbara, and George, and immediately offered a complimentary drink at the bar where we saw some familiar faces from last year.

The room that we were given was lovely and suited our needs perfectly. It consisted of a large balcony where we were able to take in the beautiful surroundings, a TV, fridge, air-conditioning, kettle, crockery, and a good sized bathroom with both shower and bath.

The pool area and landscaped communal areas are maintained on a daily basis and during our 2 week stay we never encountered them being dirty or untidy – quite the opposite. Even the rooms are cleaned daily to the same high standards. Towels can be changed daily should you feel the requirement, however we were more than happy with them being changed every few days to conserve energy – let’s be honest who changes their towels and bedding daily at home?!?!?

The Pool Bar serve delicious food, for reasonable prices throughout the day, and the Lamb and BBQ nights are a must. For those trying the Ribs be warned – you will get VERY messy!

The hotel is perfectly located with both the beach and nearest Supermarket just a stone’s throw away. There is a good selection of restaurants offering both Greek and International cuisine on your doorstep, and Kos Town is only a 20/30 min walk away offering an even larger selection of Taverna’s and bars for you to choose from.

This year I treated myself and booked to visit the Hamam in Tigaki through Maria at the Pool Bar, and I am so glad that I did – it was fantastic! For 35 euros you are collected from your hotel and transported to the Hamam where you are treated to a relaxing Sauna followed by an exhilarating traditional foam and scrub massage. Additional treatments, e.g. manicures, pedicures, and aromatherapy massages can also be purchased. At the end of the session, after feeling completely relaxed and pampered, you are transported back to your hotel. It was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend you speak to Maria at the Pool Bar about all it has to offer.

I would like to thank everyone at the Alice Springs Hotel for making our holiday a truly memorable and wonderful experience and we hope to see you all next year.

Yamas!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Returned from a lovely two week holiday at Alice Springs Hotel, Elias & Marie are excellent hosts & the hotel is immaculate. Lovely food,especially at the BBQ night. George & Barbara, the original owners, & Elias parents ,were there on holiday, so we got to meet them also!. Would definitely recommend this hotel, superb.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at the Alice Springs Hotel, having returned to Kos after a 20 break.
While there are bigger, more luxurious hotels in and around Kos town (some quite close to this one), I would suspect you would find it difficult to stay in with more of a family feel than this one.
The rooms are fairly basic (we stayed in a one bedroom self catering apartment), but with good cooking facilities. Enough to knock up a small meal (Fridge/freezer, kettle, microwave etc).
These were kept very clean, with a cleaner coming in 7 days a week.
The hotel itself had a good kitchen where poolside meals could be ordered, which were of a good standard.
Lamb and barbecue nights were very tasty.
Overall, a fabulous family hotel, with a fantastic atmosphere. Reflect by the conversation we had with other guests who had returned year after year.
We most definitely will return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#6 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#7 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.4 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Hotel

Property: Alice Springs Hotel
Address: 100 Lambi, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Springs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is located in Kos Island, a part of the picturesque Dodecanese Islands in the Greek Mediterranean.We offer spacious, air conditioned double rooms and apartments within 80m of beautiful Lambi beach. The centre of the city is a mere 1.5km walk away or alternatively there is a a bus stop only 50m away.Kos Town offers some great shops. In the centre of Kos town you will find an indoor market that sells local produce such as Ouzo, honey, pottery, seeds and soaps. Lambi also offers some fantastic ancient ruins for those who like to take in the local culture whilst enjoying their luxury holiday, or if you would prefer the atmosphere of the more lively resort of Kos Town.Psalidi which features a water park and is located in close proximity to Lambi and Kardamena which is the liveliest of the resorts of Kos and offers a fantastic selection of bars, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alice Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs kós
Alice Springs Hotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing