We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as people make out”
Review of Gaia Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaia Garden
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

whilst the hotel itself is nice and most staff are friendly and helpful my biggest disappointment was the drinks. you expect a decent choice of drinks when you go all-inclusive. that's why you chose it. We have never been on one that offers such poor choice. I was unable to drink much as the drinks on offer are not the drinks I would drink. you have a choice of soft drinks cola sprite orange tea coffee water. the alcohol drink was wine brandy ouzo or 1 type of beer. I don't expect to pay for my drinks on an all-inclusive holiday unless I want out of the ordinary like cocktails. They should point this out on the holiday web sites if they had I would have chose else where. The rooms were cleaned daily with new towels and room was basic but clean had a tv but unable to get English channels they sent someone round to see if they could get it for us but still weren't able to. The food was fine but Luke warm but they did have a microwave to heat up the food if you wanted. I found the restaurant quite small where the food was it meant queuing in single file to get food so could be a little wait to get food.they have a lovely outside area to eat your food with a great view but unfortunately when it rained which it did whilst there it was unusable and there wasn't enough room inside for everyone. It is also on the first floor and is acessed by stairs I was just about able to cope but it would be difficult for a disabled person as there was not a lift to it. The pool and gardens and all the areas around the pool were great and I enjoyed this side of it.There were lots to look at in and around the hotel and it wasn't far from things. So overall not bad if your happy to drink the drinks on offer.

Room Tip: The ones further back are not lit very well so if you don't want like that ask for ones towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mysteryjulie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaiaGarden, Manager at Gaia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We would like to inform you that we are really surprised by your comments. It is not usual to face such a review, so we would like to clarify few issues as the all inclusive program, and our restaurant facilities:
Regarding the All Inclusive option, please be informed that you booked a 3 star hotel with a normal All Inclusive Program, not an ULTRA All Inclusive one. That means, cocktails and long drinks are not included in our menu. This is written and advertised in all the tour operators we cooperate as well as our websites.
As for the restaurant, it is located on the first floor. Due to that fact, unfortunately, our hotel is not possible to be accessible to disabled people. Lastly, our cuisine offers the food always hot. The microwave is useful only for those who prefer to eat their food much more warm.

Thank you. We wish you a nice summer!

With Kind Regards,
Emmanuel Christodoulides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just got back from a week away here, overall the hotel was very clean, however we did have a few issues. The all inclusive drinks only offered a cheap brandy, beer and wine. The food was repetitive and it seemed we had the same food for dinner as we did lunch. Majority of the staff seemed helpful, however when money was stolen from our room the manager was very hesitant to resolve this matter, even though we were informed that this incident has happened before. The cleaner then denied stealing the money and the issue was closed. This incident incurred the day before we were flying back and it was our taxi money that had been taken. Kindly one of the staff offered to take us to the airport. We wouldn't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaiaGarden, Manager at Gaia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest of Gaia Garden Hotel,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We would like to clarify few issues publicly because we have a lot of visitors in Gaia Garden every year and we would like to resolve any kind of problem or complain that comes up.
Please allow us to say, that you pretended having lost your money in order to arrange a free transfer for the airport. This is obvious: first of all, could you please explain to us how is it possible to lose only 30 euros of your pocket among the 60 Euros that you said you had?? This is very weird. The manager called the police immediately to resolve this matter. Could you please tell us why you denied any kind of check or questioning, mentioning that everything was fine.? Moreover, you said to our housekeeper (after the transfer had been arranged) that everything was perfect and when you arrived back home you accuse her? The room also, was very untidy everyday and the housekeeper couldn’t even make the floor. How is it possible to search your things? Our staff is working in Gaia Garden for more than 15 years and there was never such a complaint.

Thank you for reading our response. We hope that all our guests will read it so as to make the right decision.

With Kind Regards,
Emmanuel Christodoulides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

just got back from a week here with my daughter. lovely clean, friendly hotel. food plentiful and varied. cannot fault it for a 3 star hotel, excellent value. rooms cleaned every day with fresh towels. wonderful freshwater pool with comfy sunbeds, sun or shady areas available. Waiting and Bar staff absolutely fabulous people! Beach and supermarket nearby, hire for bikes, quad, bug riders or cars across the road in the quiet lane hotel is situated in just a few hundred meters from beach and within walking distance from Kos town. We are already planning our return trip! Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday wonderful!

Room Tip: higher number rooms farther away from pool/bar if you want quieter, a few are 1st floor but most are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53sunshine_247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaiaGarden, Manager at Gaia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Gaia Garden Hotel, I wish to thank you for your positive comments which prove that we managed to fulfill the needs of your expectations and succeeded to offer an ideal environment for your vacation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Emmanuel Christodoulides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

What a brilliant hotel! The rooms are basic but clean and set in small buildings surrounded by the most beautiful gardens. Throughout the gardens there are lots of seating areas, hammocks, benches etc. so it's easy to find a more secluded spot if you don't want to sit at the pool all day. Being in a garden setting does mean one thing, though - beetles! We learned very quickly not to leave our patio doors open when we were sitting out! Just beyond our room there was a tennis court, basketball court and bowling green, which are right at the back of the grounds.

Kos Town is about a 15-20 minute walk. There is a bus stop near the hotel, and a bike/car hire place opposite. (Only 3 EUR per day to hire a bike.)

The food in the restaurant is amazing - with lots of choice and variety for a smaller space. There's something for everyone, and a great choice of deserts and ice cream too. We arrived in the middle of the night, and they had prepared a plate of cold meat, cheese and bread for us which was excellent. The all-inclusive drinks run until 11pm and include soft drinks, beer, wine, brandy and ouzo.

The staff at the hotel were incredibly helpful and friendly, and everything was very efficient. The atmosphere in the hotel is great - from the quirkiness of the ornaments and statues through to the lounge room full of people playing the selection of board games, everything made us smile.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaiaGarden, Manager at Gaia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the entire team of Gaia Garden Hotel, I wish to thank you for your positive comments which prove that we managed to fulfill the needs of your expectations and succeeded to offer an ideal environment for your vacation. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Emmanuel Christodoulides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for a week in April and like the previous review we found the hotel to be immaculately clean with friendly staff.The food was excellent and I appreciated the fact that even though check out was midday and our flight home was not till 10 pm we got both lunch and dinner that day.We also had a meal kept for us after a late arrival.Again much appreciated.The gardens of the hotel are beautiful and there are seating areas in the grounds away from the pool.We enjoyed the walk into Kos and found it an easy stroll even though we are pensioners.There is lots to see in Kos and the ferry to Bodrum is an easy trip and can be booked directly from the harbour. The roads are flat and there are cycle lanes marked out on the pavements and bikes can be hired across from the hotel.This hotel is an excellent find and can be thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scenic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaiaGarden, Manager at Gaia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review in detail!!! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your experience here at Gaia Garden Hotel and we really hope to get the chance to accommodate you once again in the future.

We wish you a nice summer!! Than you!

Kind Regards,
Emmanuel Christodoulides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a great hotel and, I sent several emails prior arrival which were all answered quickly with all the info I requested.
On arrival check in was well organised and friendly even though we got there at 11pm. We were shown to our room then back to the bar where a cold meat and cheese sandwich available, a great touch which was welcome after a long day travelling.
The hotel room was clean and tidy just as described when we booked. The pool area is the hub of the hotel which was great for small kids to adults very clean and well maintained.
We went for all inclusive, drink options were limited to soft drinks, tea coffee, beer wine, brandy and uzo which was fine considering the price we paid. The food was good at all times with a good varied selection at breakfast dinner and evening meals, kids loved the make your own waffles.
The view from the dinner area is fantastic with really friendly staff who cleaned up as soon as your plates were finished with but not maid to feel rushed.
I would definitely visit this hotel again and really would recommend the place to both families and adults.
Hope you enjoy your stay as much as me and my family did.
Chris, Michele, Alice, Callum

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank chris306law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaiaGarden, Manager at Gaia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Mr Law,

Thank you for your wonderful and rewarding comments on our hotel and our services.
Your review gives us a great motivation to continue the hard work in order to satisfy all your special needs and give you the wonderful vacations you deserve!

We will be more than happy to accommodate you again in our hotel!
Thank you again. We wish you a nice autumn!

Kind Regards,
Emmanuel Christodoulides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel in October of 2013 . My wife and I loved it. Hotel has got a traditional and it is very cozy at same time. It is not walking distance to town.
A wonderful breakfast and dinner buffet is included in room rate. The food at the hotel was better than any restaurant we tried on island. Gaia Garden is a heaven. Absolutely recommended!

Room Tip: Choose room that is right in front of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Nicolas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaiaGarden, Manager at Gaia Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Gaia Garden Hotel, I wish to thank you for your positive comments which prove that we managed to fulfill the needs of your expectations and succeeded to offer an ideal environment for your vacation. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Emmanuel Christodoulides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.6 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,563 reviews
11.3 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Garden

Address: Lambi, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: £40 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gaia Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME AT GAIA GARDEN HOTEL IN KOS ISLAND This charming hotel is located in the resort of Kos City in a quiet side road called Lambi. It consists of a main house surrounded by several bungalows, all nestling in the beautiful gardens created by the owners. Guests have the pleasure of enjoying this palm filled oasis from the comfort of their own patios. In the garden area guests will find a freshwater swimming pool, including a children’s pool, surrounded by wooden deckchairs, umbrellas and a pool bar. Guests can also enjoy an aperitif on the poolside terrace which is naturally cooled by the gentle sea breeze.The nearest beach is approximately 500 meters from the hotel and is an organized, sandy beach which also offers some water sports. For guests who wish to stay active, the hotel also offers basketball, volleyball, tennis, beach volleyball facilities and a gym, all at the disposal of the guests. a regular bus schedule is in operation which can take guests to and from the main part of Kos City. This small hotel offers hospitality and tranquility in a paradise setting. It is the ideal place to relax and is already attracting its guests back year after year. This hotel differs from other ones, because it makes you feel like home! This hotel is very well known on the internet for the last 6 years for the excellent service and hospitality that it offer to all our friends “Guests”! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gaia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Garden Hotel Kos Town
Gaia Garden Kos Town
Gaia Garden Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing