We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for five nights and fell asleep each night to the sound of the water lapping on the shore. Great service, easy check in, large rooms with really comfy beds. Good shower, robe & slippers, safe, fridge and fantastic balcony overlooking the Aegean Sea with Turkey as the backdrop. The best location which was close to everything. Breakfast was delicious and ate in H2O restaurant for dinner which we loved. Try the pomegranate martini with complementary dips.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel offers everything its website says - its main advantage is its location with stunning views out to the Turkish coast and Kos harbour.Its also very central for exploring the town. The hotel's outside restaurant and sundeck benefit from these views.

The sundeck (towels are provided) is in shade by 3 oclock in the afternoon - however guests can use the pool and sun bathing area at the hotel's sister hotel the Kos Hotel which is about 10 minutes walk away. This facility is fine although the hotel itself dated.

Mr Room was comfortable with sophisticated bathroom (bath robes are provided). Breakfast offered a large selection of food, l liked the good breads, greek yogert and spinach pies - however the coffee was often lukewarm. The waiter dressed in black is particularly helpful

My only gripe - on leaving the hotel tried to charge me one hundred and thirty euros more than the internet priced I had booked. Although this was resolved (luckily I had a print out of exactly what I had booked and eventually the hotel's record of the booking was found in a file) this should not happen and the hotel need to review its systems. I have booked many hotels via the internet and this has never happened to me before.

I booked transfers to and from this hotel via resorthoppa/dodecanese travel - the outward journey was long but OK but the time suggested to collect me to take me to the airport would not have ensured I would have got my flight - I made alternative arrangements - Very disappointing experience,

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englanderin186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A very nice hotel with friendly staff.
Ideally situated in Kos Town.
The hotel has an excellent bar adjacent to the restaurant which is very popular with the locals. The food is excellent and very well priced.
A shame that the hotel goes into the shade in the afternoon and so sitting on the balcony means you will not be able to get a tan. However, in the hot weather this could be a bonus.
A short stroll to the main square, harbour and sea side. All of which have many first class restaurants providing a great selection of well priced menus. Try restaurant Select which provides a nice alfresco dinning experience also Fish House Taverna which is endlessly photographed due to its typical Greek decor (great food too).
Hire a car from Auto Way rentals just along the road from the hotel towards the marina, they are friendly and hire of a car is the best. It is so easy to drive around the island with just one main road going from Kos to Kefalos. Roads lead off of this to various beaches including Paradise Beach and Marmari (great sandy beach).

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at the Atkis Art in January. Obviously this is not in the thick of tourist season, but we like to visit the islands then -- you get a real feel for what it's like for those who live there. And the weather is mild, oftentimes sunny, with good hiking possibilities.
The hotel was absolutely perfect for us: close to the ferry, just paces away from the heart of Kos town -- ideal for a quick run to the store or evening stroll to a restaurant.
We loved the room -- with floor to ceiling windows and the view toward the water! The street is behind you so you hear only the sounds coming from the sea.
The staff is friendly and energetic -- they helped us find a well priced car, print boarding passes, find good places to eat. The restaurant in the hotel is quite fine, too, and clearly popular among the locals -- it's busy all day long.
In all -- it was a lovely four day stay! If I had to list one slight complaint it would be not really directed at this hotel, but at most hotels in Greece: they really should offer no smoking floors and rooms. We didn't have any smell of tobacco in our room -- it was immaculate and fresh -- well cleaned every single day. But when our neighbor smoked, we could faintly detect this (there was a connecting door). We opened the window to compensate for it. Still, it would be great if Greek establishments were more restrictive toward smokers. At least at the Aktis, the dining room was fully nonsmoking (though the coveted enclosed glass porch was for smokers).

Room Tip: Upper floor has the best view, though really, all of them are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oceanauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We arrived on the ferry from Bodrum the day before a sailing charter from the marina in Kos, so this hotel set along the beach could not have been more convenient: it's walking distance from both, even with baggage. The beach and bar are nice, the rooms have a terrific view over the sea toward Turkey and the boats entering and leaving both the marina and the commercial harbor..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel during a winter break from the UK. The hotel is great- good location and amazing unobstructed views over the sea to Turkey.

The room was a good size and housekeeping did a great job of cleaning the room each day.

The breakfast was good and enjoyed views over the sea. Only downside- coffee- decent coffee at breakfast may have caused me to give 5* stars.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I chose this hotel thorough trip advisor's comments (Thanks to contributers). I and my husband and one of our friends went there for Christmas. From the begining I understood they were very professional. I email them to get information immedietly they answered my emails. When we arrived there we were welcomed and given our keys. Our room was specious, very clean and very factional and had an amazing view. The breakfast was very good and the service was very efficent.Our friend who came with us is working in a tourism company she was very impressed by the hotel standarts. The hotel is in the center so we were pleased to be close to shops and cafes . Especially out of touristy season this hotel is very convenient. We would stay there again in future.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor number 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuksel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
1.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
3.7 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
907 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kos Junior Suites
Kos Junior Suites
#22 of 48 in Kos Town
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kos Aktis Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kos Aktis Art Hotel

Address: 7 Leoforos Vasileos Georgiou, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#12 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: £79 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kos Aktis Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kos Aktis Art Hotel is a luxurious Art Hotel ideally situated in the most privileged, historical and commercial location on Kos Island. It distances 300m from the Mideaval Castle and the commercial port, 500m from the taxi station & 700m from the newly constructed Marina of Kos Island. Kos Aktis Art Hotel welcomes you with 36 luxuriously furnished rooms and 6 Junior Suites, all facing the Aegean Sea, a cozy bar - restaurant (H2O)offering Greek Breakfast* , a mini gym, a meeting room, an internet corner and a 24hour reception. All rooms have balconies facing the Aegean Sea, telephones, satellite TV, wireless internet connections, safety boxes, trouser presses, hair dryers, magnifying mirrors, mini bar and coffee /tea amenities. Room service is available from 8.00 A.M. To 23.00. Kos Aktis Art Hotel (and H2O Bar - Restaurant), remains open all year round and therefore has established itself as one of the most popular destinations in the city center, not to mention contributing to the city's cultural heritage. *Greek Breakfast: The Greek Breakfast is a program designed by the Hellenic Chamber of Hotels which has been in operation since 2010 and whose aim is to enrich the breakfast offered in Greek hotels with pure, fresh, unique Greek products and traditional local flavors from every region of Greece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kos Aktis Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kos Town Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing