We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonidas Hotel & Studios
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Ideal, 10+ minutes walk to town beaches and tavernas in quiet setting surrounded by open land. Our spotless room overlooked clean pool, booked direct so good breakfast included, free wifi in lounge, staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Great if you don't like being herded around and do your own thing on hols, and we loved their cats!

Room Tip: Book upstairs rooms if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CattyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was my forth trip to the Greek islands, not including Cyprus so I knew what to expect from the standard of budget accommodation, which is always pretty basic. Having said that my requirements for a hotel room are always a high standard of cleanliness, a hot shower and a good level of safety and security, all of which Leonidas apartments more than adequately provide.
The beds as always are singles pushed together and the furnishing are a bit on the old side, but that is a small consideration. The staff are very friendly and accommodating( I shut myself out leaving the key inserted into the barrel on the inside. They kindly resolved the problem with a minimum of fuss).
The location is pretty good if you don't mind walking, it's about 10-15 minutes from Kos town depending on your speed, turn left passed the pool and walk down past scrub land and houses and you'll find yourself on Kanari which is the main road into town.
The owners could make small improvements by offering snacks, if you wanted to spend the day by the pool and the power cuts were a bit annoying. Avoid room 115 which is by the cleaners cupboard which is opened and closed on a regular basis, which is not ideal if your going to bed at 4- 5.00 a.m.
If your not looking for luxury and don't mind a bit of stroll, then Leonidas is a good base to stay and explore Kos.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 115 if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magelhaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We chose it for a low price. Rooms were ok but overall they could have charged less for the level of service they provided. Breakfast was ok (still overcharged 5 euros per night per person). Staff was ok (not too friendly and willing to help). Room could have been prepared better when we arrived (obviously it was closed for some days and its was too hot and humid inside). Pool however was good. A big big disasdvantage is that the hotel is located too far from the city center, Do not try to move on foot, take a bike!

Room Tip: Try to take one of the 2 rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pr80ath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I made a reservation thru www.HostelBookers.com for 2 rooms , 4 people. Offered rooms were terrible. Dog shelters are better than that.They were below the basement full of humidity and smelling flight. I asked anaother room to the hotel supervisor she said they are full.I already provided credit card details so 90€ for two rooms , one nighht breakfast exclueded was charged.They didn't return the money back
Of course we couldn't stay with my family to the offered rooms. We found another hotel with better prices and conditions.
The location of the hotel is also very absurb. Neither close to beach nor down town.
I never recommend this hotel anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonidashotel, Manager at Leonidas Hotel & Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest. We are sorry and concerned to read that you haven't been satisfied with our services. But in reality things were totally different than you've described them. First of all by the time of your reservation there where some better rooms available, but you've decided to choose the rooms with the lowest price. It was clearly indicated that these rooms although they are fully equipped with air-condition,TV and a fridge they are on the ground floor. That is the reason why there price is much lower that the other rooms. Most of our rooms are on the 1st or the 2nd floor but you have choose the Budget Rooms, which were the cheapest option.
All of our rooms are cleaned thoroughly, according to the highest standards as our goal is to provide to all of our guests a great experience of hospitality. Upon your arrival you asked for another room on a higher floor, but we kindly reply to you that since our hotel was fully booked there weren't any other rooms available. Without saying anything else, you've called us several hours later, telling us that you are on the harbor, you were ready to depart to Turkey and that you are not going stay for the night.
A few moments later we went to check your rooms, and we've saw that you have already used the linens, the towels, the bathroom and the toilets. Which meant that we had to clean the rooms from scratch and replace the linens and the towels for our guests that they supposed to arrive the next morning. Also by the time you have informed us that you are not going to stay in our hotel it was already late, so the rooms were left empty for that night.
After that we felt that it would be fair to follow the cancellation policy, that you've also agreed with, when you've reserved the rooms and charge the price of one night. Finally we would like you to know that we are not happy since you aren't in the same positive status as many other clients we have because of your experience in our hotel and we hope to give us the chance of welcoming you in Leonidas Hotel again and let us make sure that you'll enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Leonidas hotel and studios is situated down a country road off one of Kos town main avenues, and is only a 15 minutes walk to the harbour and the old town. There is a bus stop only five minutes from the hotel, if you don't fancy a nice stroll to the old town. Bus 2 and 4 run at 10 past and 40 past the hour respectively and the journey is no longer than 3 minutes (1.10 Euro). Lambi beach is only 800 metres from the Hotel.
There are nice tavernas and bars minutes from the hotel, on the main avenue. If you are self catering in a studios, there is a Carrefour supermarket only five minutes away on foot. It is much cheaper than the tourist and the B supermarkets nearby.

The hotel is well managed by Leonidas, his brother Timis and their families. They are all very friendly, helpful and accommodating. We genuinely had a great two weeks stay there, as a base to discover the island. The hotel and studios are spotlessly clean.
It is a two star property, so expect just that. The country road location makes it a quiet place too. Some of the hotels closer to town suffer from very noisy streets and nightlife. It is a great alternative if you don't want to stay in one of the faceless all inclusive holiday complexes near Kos Town.

The pool at the hotel is fab and kept clean at all times. There are plenty sun loungers (although they could do with cushions).
We stayed in one if the studios apartment. The kitchenette could have done with a little updating and with more utensils. A kettle would be a worthy addition.
The bathroom is very clean and functional.
Leonidas offer good sundry services such as car rental, and we enjoy a great rate for our car (better than any agency in town). There are safety deposit boxes in the reception at a cost of 2 Euros per day.
The hotel offers free wi.fi in the reception area. It has a decent speed and is much faster than the service offered by the four star hotel next door!.

If you are intending to do a few visits, excursions, etc, we recommend Mastichari beach, by far the best on the island (much nicer than Paradise beach for example). From Mastichari, you can catch a boat crossing to Kalymnos for only 6 Euros, this is much cheaper than paying for a visit to Kalymnos via tour ops and charter boats on the harbour. The main bus station is 20 minutes on foot from the hotel. A taxi will cost 5 Euros.

A big thank you to Leonidas, Timis and Sotiria for making our stay so enjoyable. Our return flight was late and they even let us keep the room a few more hours to give us the chance to enjoy our last day and have a shower before our transfer to the airport.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank LB6931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

just returned from staying at Leonidas hotel, Kos Town. This hotel is situated only a few hundred metres from beach, bars and restaurants down a quiet country road. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is kept spotlessly clean. Nice pool but sunbeds need cushions.
Our first visit to Kos but not our last. Check out Old River restaurant on the beach with free sunbeds and good food when you need to get out of the sun. In Kos town centre we liked Mommys
Cooking, Dyonisus, Fish House, Angelikas on the beach. Synopsis in a nice square opposite Zorbas and Ambrosia was fab food and lovely people

Room Tip: self catering rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cp8752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Very nice attitude of staff. Helping out on any question, where to eat, where to go, which car company to take for rent. Location is not the most central, but it is good for people who do not want pool almost on the central street.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janiskrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos Town hotels
1.1 mi away
Maritina Hotel
Maritina Hotel
#31 of 48 in Kos Town
170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Yiorgos
Hotel Yiorgos
#27 of 48 in Kos Town
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Koala Hotel
Koala Hotel
#12 of 48 in Kos Town
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ampavris Family Apartments
Ampavris Family Apartments
#15 of 48 in Kos Town
227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kos Bay
Hotel Kos Bay
#46 of 48 in Kos Town
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#11 of 48 in Kos Town
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonidas Hotel & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonidas Hotel & Studios

Address: 8 Sintagmatos Dodekanision st., Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Price Range: £16 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Leonidas Hotel & Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly constructed family hotel, beautifully situated 800 meters from he nearest sandy beach. Just 900 meters away from the noisy centre of the city, our hotel combines the benefits of a quiet location and the convenience of reaching the much-frequented roads and squares of the island in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leonidas Hotel & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonidas Hotel And Studios
Leonidas Hotel & Studios Kos/Kos Town
Leonidas Hotel Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing