We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only 3* but has 5* performance”
Review of Diamond Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Apartments
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Kos Town
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Only 3* but has 5* performance”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Just returned from a short break in Kos, The Diamond was sold as a 3* but the whole place excelled. It's recent refurb is still fresh and the staff are outstanding. We had travelled with our daughter and 3yr old grandson but the travel agent had failed to tell the resort so when we arrived at 11pm and found we had been allocated appts in 2 separate blocks my heart sank. However, despite the resort being 'full' Mary (an absolute treasure) stepped up and had a part prepped room quickly prepared for us and we ended up just one room from each other. The beer is cheaper than Kos town and the bar food is basic but very good. The pool is clean and other than the kids play equipment needing repair (or replacement) the whole place is brilliant. I would recommend diamond to anyone. Don't be put off by the 15 min stroll into town its quite manageable (even for a 3yr old) and there is a Carrefour supermarket just down the road.

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Manager at Diamond Apartments, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Dave,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our hospitality.
We are happy to hear that you had overall a pleasant stay to our hotel as every member of our team always tries to facilitate our guests the best possible way. So we all thank you for rewarding our sincere efforts with your enthusiastic comments! Mary was so happy and moved while she was reading your review!
Thank you once more for choosing us and we all wish to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,
DA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    30
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
45
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

we got a very good deal with Broadway Travel via the Wednesday Travelzoo offers. about £140 for flight, transfers and self catering room. The flight was with Ryanair so we travelled light, knowing what to expect, managing to only take hand luggage.a bit odd at Liverpool airport where our bags were first weighed and later put in those stupid racks. No problems with the flight, and the room was actually better than we expected with a very comfortable bed. hot water for showers was a problem. we had to take showers either early in the morning or late afternoon when other people were not using the water. the staff were friendly and the free wifi was useful for finding out local information as there was little available at the hotel. No corkscrew in the room and a very wonky showerhead.
The walk to the harbour was initially a surprise but we got used to it. would be no good taking my elderly mum and dad. it was also handy having a Carrefour supermarket nearby for buying wine and food.
overall we enjoyed our stay but probably would not go back. if you like a bar and a pool and football on the tv its a great place to stay. the garden is very nice too

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowpooldesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Manager at Diamond Apartments, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your vacation to our hotel!
Every new comment that we read regarding the restful holiday of our guests, make us feel happy and excited for succeeding our purpose! Please believe that helping you relax and enjoy your accommodation is important for us and we are always looking forward to have the chance to welcome you again!
Regarding the hot water please let us clarify that the hotel does provide 24 hours hot water but unfortunately in some cases when all rooms use the shower at the same time, water takes some time to warm up again. However, we never rest on our laurels and we always take into our consideration your remarks!
Thank you once more for choosing us and we assure you that we will keep striving to improve our guests’ experience!
Kind Regards,
DA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just got back from here a week ago, the diamond apartments are not the Ritz, don't be put off by negative reviews. This is a great place to stay, Mary and Sakis were really nice and friendly, informative and helpful. The apartments are cleaned every day. They are not huge, but hey your not going to spend much time in there, bed comfy, showers great. the complex was tidy and clean - what more do you want ? 10 minutes from Carefour (supermarket) for the price you pay it was fantastic value for money.
We had a great holiday and would definitely go back again. :D

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Manager at Diamond Apartments, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Kimmy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
It is with great pleasure to share those positive comments with Diamond Team and we are excited to know that you have enjoyed the overall experience with us! Your words will be a great motivation for our team and we look forward to reconfirm that pleasant feeling during your next visit.
Kind Regards,
DA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife and I have just come back from a week stay at diamond apartments. We got a very good price with travel zoo for about £350 for both of us including accomadation and flights. Now before I start writing this review be aware my wife works for British Airways long haul out of Heathrow and therefore that has allowed us to travel the world and stay in some of the finest hotels in the word with great travel industry discounts. So that said I think I know about service and levels of hospitality. So when we booked this trip it was thought that we were going to "have a rough and ready experience in the Greek sun".... How wrong was I !!! Straight away after getting to the resort late at night I had no cigarettes and all the shops were shut. So the manager Sakis straight away gave me his packet of fags. Now I know some 5 star hotels where you wouldn't even get that level of service from the concierge!!!! The food there was great (especially the pizzas served by Mary), the rooms were more than adequate and the balcony views very relaxing. The gardens where the resort was in was tidy and the pool area just right. Would highly recommend and will go back there again. Adrian and Bex

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Manager at Diamond Apartments, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Adrian and Bex,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your vacation to our hotel.
We can only be happy and excited to know that you have taken only good memories with you as you have been fully satisfied from our services. Diamond Apartments team is always glad to offer accommodation and guests assistance in order to make people enjoy their Diamond vacation. Mairy and Sakis were deeply moved by your words and they will be looking forward in seeing you again!
Have a great summer!
Kind Regards
Katerina Troubounely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We have just returned from spending a week at these apartments. We booked the holiday via Travelzoo and Broadway Travel and paid about £150 for flights, accommodation and transfers. We were a bit taken aback when we arrived at the apartments at about 10.30 at night to find that the check-in was being done in the pool bar. It turned out that this was the only place to go in the complex apart from your own apartment. The apartments are VERY basic. Catering facilities consist of a two ring portable hob. The fridge has no ice box and as mentioned in a previous review only works when your apartment key is put in the box at the door. This means that nothing is kept cool while you are out of the apartment. Hot water is limited if the weather is not sunny as they are reliant on solar panels to heat it. One guest who tried to bring this to the manager's attention was spoken to in a really rude way and basically called a liar. Bar was ok - especially when Sakis was working which luckily was most of the time. He is very friendly and a fount of knowledge about places to visit on the island. Food served at the pool area was basic but of good quality, generous portions and reasonable prices. I was annoyed to find that although we had a late checkout as part of the package Sakis informed us the night before we left that this was only possible if they were not fully booked and unfortunately the complex was fully booked the next day. This wasn't a big problem for us as it was not high season and therefore not unbearable temperatures, however there was a lady, her mother and her 18 month old baby who had to survive the 7 hours until our departure to the airport without access to facilities for changing the baby and letting him have an afternoon nap. Interestingly, when she spoke to Sakis about needing a late checkout he offered her the opportunity to stay on in her apartment - for an extra 20 euros!! What happened to being fully booked Sakis? As a matter of principle she refused. We hired bikes from Ideal Bikes not far from the apartments and it was the best thing we could have done as the area around Kos is quite flat and they have special cycle tracks. This meant we could explore quite a few of the archaeological sites easily. We also did the day visit to Bodrum in Turkey which didn't really measure up to what I expected. However if you like shopping for knock-off fake designer gear then it is worth a visit. To sum up the fact that the basic holiday was only £129 then we really cannot complain but I would not have been happy paying any more - especially when I discovered that the flights (Ryanair) were only £30 return meaning the apartments cost almost £100.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyJScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina K, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Apartments, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
“You get what you pay for”
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your vacation to our hotel.
To begin with, we would like to clarify that the fridges in the rooms do work even if you take out the electricity card. It is really a pity that you misunderstood that detail as we guess that this could be quite annoying for you.
To continue please let us explain that when the availability allows to, we do provide a “day use” which costs 20€ additionally. Unfortunately, sometimes we are not able to offer the room after the check out time and that happens mainly we are fully booked as we need to clean the room for the next guests. However, when is possible to find another solution we are more than happy to facilitate our guests. This facilitation always depends on the arrival time of the guests, the number of the rooms which have to be cleaned and the allocation.
To continue, we would like to mention that by offering our services for more than 20 years we can understand our guests needs and we are always considering your remarks and objections. Specifically for the day of the check out we do understand that you may need a place for a shower or change. For that reason please note that you can always use our shower rooms for your own facilitation. We are always here to help you by any possible way and our purpose is to offer you a relaxing and memorable stay.
To conclude, we honestly thank you for the expression of your thoughts as we will take in our consideration each one of the mentioned matters. Your opinion is really important for us in order to continually improve our services trying to achieve our goal which is to be part of a relaxed and enjoyable memory. We can understand that you overall like the hotel and enjoyed our hospitality and that you only want to help us be better.
We wish to have the chance to welcome you in the nearest future so we can prove you that we offer genuine hospitality and we are always happy and willing to facilitate you.

Kind Regards,
DA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed at these apartments a few years ago and must say the hotel was in need of updating. The pool area was very relaxing and the surrounding grounds where very nice,
You where able to buy snacks at the poolside, they used to have a fantastic Greek night once a week.
The hotel is on a long dirt track and at night it was very dark when walking to and from the hotel,
Maybe one day I will return to see if it has improved from last time I was there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahHill01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Diamond Apartments, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you both for choosing Diamond Apartments and for taking time to post a review for us.
It would be a pleasure to have the chance to accommodate you once again in the future.The apartments have been rennovated so it would be nice for you to visit us in order to see for yourself the improvements and changes we have made.
Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed at Lydia last month. Apartments with my sister and Mum. it was most beautiful holiday in my life! Mary, Julia, Sakis anf Catherine are very hospitality. Room very comfortable, clean, beautiful, food in the bar just perfect, as like as drinks. i recomend to everyone this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tatjana740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Diamond Apartments, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we would love to accommodate you again in the future ! Thank you for choosing Diamond Apartments, looking forward to seeing you again, have a great summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#20 of 49 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aegean Houses
Aegean Houses
#13 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ampavris Family Apartments
Ampavris Family Apartments
#17 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint Constantin Hotel
Saint Constantin Hotel
#42 of 49 in Kos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peridis Family Resort
Peridis Family Resort
#19 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Apartments

Property: Diamond Apartments
Address: Pamfilon, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIAMOND APARTMENTSBuilt in a very distinctive traditional Greek island style, Diamond Apartments Hotel comprises of 44 apartments on two floors spit into 4 blocks in an area of 12.000 sq.m.The complex is attractively designed amongst lushly green gardens. Just fifteen minutes’ walk from the golden beaches and the centre of Kos, it is ideally situated for the guest who wishes privacy yet vicinity to the action.Diamond Hotel Apartments has always been a favorite because of its cozy atmosphere and its quiet location. Our aim is for every guest to feel at home and enjoy the really best of Greek hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diamond Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydia Apartments Kos
Diamond Apartments Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing