We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Kos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diamond Boutique Hotel
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Reviewed 3 September 2013

First of all I would like to point out this is budget place and it is hard to compare with 5* hotel. So my review based on general filling no comparisons. Rooms are clean and space enought, bed is comfortable, kitchen if you are not going to cook all the time is big enought. TV very small, bathroom needs to be renovate - they destroy good overview of accomodation. Cleaning service very good. Location is good in my opinion close to city center - 20min to harbour, 15 to the beach, 7min to Carrefour market. Down the street there is Ideal rental where we rented 2 bicycles for a week - 50 EUR. We were using them to reach nice sandy beach - 6,3km in Tingaki direction 20 minutes not hilly road. Definietly good place for families in hotel are 2 nice swimmingpools one for childs 0,7m and for adults 0, 5 to 1, 6m depth. Unfortunately child playground is very tired and doesn't look good. There is always a lot sunbeds free arou d swimmingpool, also new one. Place might be also good for couples if you dont affraid 15-20min walk to pubs. We are not eating breakfasts in hotel's bar but they look tasty. We ate pizza once - good but not perfect. Frappe is very good all food and drink prices like everywhere. We are going to rent a car and buy ship cruze 3 islands - 25 EUR. Taxi price fixed hard to say if they will agree for taximeter - 34 EUR, too high in my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AktorMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed at the Diamond Apartments with partner and 9yr old daughter for 10 nights in the middle of August, and it was just as we expected...simple, clean and well organised complex.
Mary and Sakis who manage the apartments were very informative, they made you fell very welcome, and their sense of humour made you feel at home. Accommodation was clean and tidy, nice furnishings, simple kitchenette which we used to prepare breakfast and the odd lunch. Beautiful well kept gardens just as the pictures suggest made the place so tranquil. Pool area was heaven, sun loungers galore and plenty of space around you to relax. Must not forget the lovely Barbara who served food and drinks at the pool bar - what a wonderful woman, check out her fruit cocktails!! Cheers guys, you're a credit to the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvester S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We didn't (in the end) actually stay here but our experience is worth reporting on! We arrived at about 4am to find a sign outside informing us we had been overbooked, with a number to ring. In this way we found ourselves (family of 5!) magically transferred to the mother Diamond Deluxe 5*luxury resort, no extra money to pay and evening meals thrown in for the duration of our stay by way of apology. Now I'm sure the Diamond Apartments would have made us very happy, but this is obviously a very professional and proper company that puts guests first and really believes in its responsibility to look after them! Incidentally I asked the Diamond Deluxe if this happened a lot and they said no (sorry folks, don't expect it!) but if you say 'Diamond Hotel' to the taxi drivers at the airport they often take you to the 5* place first, and then have to take you on to the Diamond Apartments when the mistake is realised. So the big tip here is to use the word 'apartments' to the taxi drivers, or better still use the old name 'Lydia', which they all know.

Room Tip: Remember to emphasise 'Diamond Apartments' to the taxi drivers so you don't get taken to...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Adrian540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed with my husband and son, end of July 2013. For the discounted last minute price we paid it was ok. Would have been annoyed had we paid a lot more.

It has 3 stars, perhaps for the hair dryer, kettle and tv (which, as usual only had one channel in english..yup...24hr News !! ) so it wasn't much use anyway, not that that was the hotels fault. The rooms are, however basic and a bit worn. Our shower base was broken and kept falling off the wall, the bathroom floor mats were always torn and the room didn't look like it had been dusted or swept of cobwebs before we got there.

From the apartments there is a good 10 minute walk to get to a main road and 20 mins to reach the centre of town...we didn,t mind as we quite like walking, but if you had an elderly person with you maybe a bit too tiring.

Mary and Sakis were nice enough, giving information when asked, we got the feeling Sakis didnt really want to be bothered with us sometimes. On one occasion when we had popped in to see him about something he was shouting at a member of staff, he carried on and after a few minutes we just left as it made us really uncomfortable. Maybe caught him on an off day ??

The online photos of the apartments mainly show the garden, pool and bar area, which are all lovely and clean. There is only 2 pictures of the bedrooms, and this probably should have given us a clue !! the cooking area is the smallest i have ever seen in 26 years of self catering holidays, and the sofa bed was too thin for my son who is 21 and about 7 stone !!

It is like many others say, a budget hotel, though the cleaning staff were lovely, and do a good job, if not a bit random, Sometimes we had 3 bath towels some times 6 !! same with the loo rolls, very random but funny.

There is a pleasant atmosphere around the apts, a bit noisy at 4 in the morning when the young party goers get in and every cockerel in Kos starts Cockadoodle-dooing.... not a problem with the balcony doors closed though, you can cut out the noise completely. Just be prepared to pay extra for the air conditioning.

It was a pleasant enough stay, and we will always be grateful to Sakis for recommending his friends restaurant...Caravan. A little out of the way of town, but only a 10 minute walk from the apts. One of the nicest little restaurants in Kos with a lovely atmosphere and an even lovelier owner Hassan, who together with his family made our holiday a memorable one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anu b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Mary and Sakis made our stay wonderful. Treated us like friends could not have been more helpful. Lovely grounds and pool. Far enough away from town to be nice and peaceful, but only a short walk to beach and nightlife. Loved it

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kerinbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our stay was exactly what we wanted/ paid for -- a cheap and basic holiday.
The grounds of the hotel are really nice and well maintained. The pool area is just as nice, although the sun beds could do with replacing.
The rooms were disappointing but perhaps that's the reality of a budget hotel. We had booked a room which slept 3 adults. The room was extremely small with a dated kitchen area and sofa which was to be a bed. There was a second bedroom which was nicely furnished, and not to forget, the unfortunate tiny and disgusting bathroom. I am still haunted by the mould on the shower curtain which you had no choice but to touch given the size of the room. The 'sofa bed' which we can only liken to sleeping on a slab of concrete was most uncomfortable. In addition to this, the noise from the fridge was so prominent and could not be unplugged. Furthermore, the A/C (which you obviously have to pay extra for) was based in the main bedroom and was not powerful enough to circulate outside the room. The unbearable heat and concrete bed resulted in 3 adults (sisters) sharing a double bed for the entire holiday.
The room was not clean to start with, let alone throughout our stay. The towels got changed once in 7 days and were accompanied with holes or stains.
Good location, about 15 mins walk to the harbour or 6euros in a cab.
Probably a good budget hotels for couples/ 2 people - would not advise making your child/ anyone suffer on the concrete additional beds.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29,012,010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The public areas are extremely well looked after and clean. The rooms are all old but the air condition worked well. Even tough they advertise the rooms for 4 people I would only recommend it for 2. The lunch menu has a big variety of dishes. All staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Kos harbour and the stores are about 10 min on foot away and a scooter rental is around the corner. It is a simple hotel but good value for money and we will stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jemina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kos Town hotels
1.1 mi away
Ampavris Family Apartments
Ampavris Family Apartments
#16 of 48 in Kos Town
227 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
428 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#9 of 48 in Kos Town
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonidas Hotel & Studios
Leonidas Hotel & Studios
#32 of 48 in Kos Town
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#13 of 48 in Kos Town
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Boutique Hotel

Address: Pamfilon, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Price Range: £68 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Boutique Hotel is a 4-star property in the town of Kos located approximately 700 m from the beach and 25 km from the airport of Kos. Built in a quiet area and consisting of a main building and 4 annex buildings, this hotel provides 44 double rooms and one-bedroom rooms for 1 to 4 persons. Standard accommodation facilities & services: individual air-conditioning/heating, Wi-Fi (free), direct-dial telephone, safety deposit box (free), satellite TV, mini bar, coffee & tea making facilities, bath/WC or shower/WC, hairdryer, cosmetic mirror, bathrobe, slippers, bathroom amenities, bathroom telephone, balcony/terrace, 12-hour room service (charge), maid service (daily), laundry service (charge) GENERAL FACILITIES & SERVICES 24-hour reception, lobby, lounge, satellite TV corner, Wi-Fi in all areas (free), luggage room, first-aid kit, doctor on call (charge), swimming pool (08:00-19:00), sunbeds & umbrellas (free at pool on charge at beach by a third-party provider), sun terrace, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydia Apartments Kos
Diamond Boutique Hotel Kos/Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing