We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Med Cherating Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$34
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KU Mimi Cablet(Cherating)
US$20
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Titik(Cherating)(Great Value!)
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
Tanjung Inn(Cherating)
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Kasturi(Cherating)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,153)
Filter reviews
3,153 results
Traveller rating
1,779
891
279
123
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,779
891
279
123
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszen poolspecial thankscircus teamrock climbingjungle walknoodle bartree top challengerembulan restaurantflying trapezecherating beachmain barchef de villagefriendly gosgreat holidaysports teamevening showsfun activities
Filter
Updating list...
1,538 - 1,543 of 3,153 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were at Club Med Cherating from 21 Jun 2014 to 25 Jun 2014, and this is the second time we were staying at Club Med (the first being Club Med Bintang), and sad to say that the differences between the 2 are quite distinct.

We flew into Kuantan and was met at the airport by a GO, and were transferred to the resort by bus. Reaching at about 2pm, we were hungry and it was a nice gesture when they told us we could take lunch at their restaurant.

Being a beach resort, there were activities such as kayaking and sailing, and rock climbing. There were also activities such as Zumba classes and jungle & power walks, etc. Our kids had a good time at the Kids Club too. The fun of being in Club Med is in the participation of the activities organized, so do take part in these activities. The GOs and restuarant staff were generally friendly and enthusiastic (Mikey, Bonnie, Carol and Fairy), but there were some that were less helpful.

1. Rooms and Housekeeping
If you read the many reviews on Club Med Cherating, everyone has something to say about the rooms, and most of the comments are true. The 2 rooms we had were in a sorry state. The rooms, bathrooms and toilets were mouldy, and paint were peeling. In one of the rooms, the laundry line had snapped (probably ages ago) and were simply tied to the balcony.

In one of the rooms, the air-conditioning was not working well and guess what, it was supplemented by a standing fan! When we were there on the first day, there were 4 to 5 power trips in the afternoon. A knock on the door by the maintence guy claimed that we had made a complaint about a leaking toilet. We explained that we had just checked in and we had not called anyone, and the guy simply went away. Upon using the toilet did we realised that there was a leak - dirty brownish water dripping from the top of the false ceiling. I really don't want to know what water is dripping down - I just went straight to take a shower.

Being a beach resort, having the sand around the resort is common, but I guess is a little over the top if there is sand in the room especially after housekeeping is done. Also, housekeeping seemed to be saing toilet paper and tissue paper for Club Med, as they are not replenished at times. There was also a thick layer of dust under the third (single) bed in one of the rooms, clearly a sign that it was not cleaned for a long, long, long time.

2. Food
There was a fair spread of food but nothing to shout about. However, Club Med did vary the spread the 5 days we were there, other than the breakfast spread which was largely the same. I must say that the bread available across breakfast lunch and dinner was tasty and worth having everyday, but not so for the Japanese and Korean food. The orange and apple juice were one of the most diluted I have tasted in a hotel restaurant, and Club Med should seriously re-evaluate its supplier.

3. Activities
Club Med Cherating should consider having certain activities being run everyday instead of on selected days. During our stay, we had looked forward to rock climbing (only available in the afternoons on certain days). As it was near the beach, we had gone kayaking and swimming before going for rock climbing. However, we were turned away as our costumes were damp. This was made worse as rock climbing was not available in the other days we had left at the resort and it was a real bummer to miss that having looked forwarded to it.


If you are thinking of Club Med in the region, do consider Club Med Bintang instead. Club Med Cherating as I understand was the first Club Med in Asia, and maintenance is clearly lacking. Club Med should seriously look into upgrading and maintenance issues (perhaps block by block since it has an estimated 15 or so blocks currently). Still if you wish to visit the resort, do visit with your eyes open and do not expect too much from the rooms, and bring plenty of mosquito repellant as the resort is in the beach/jungle area of Cherating.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank fire-tower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just back from a short family vacation at Club Med Cherating. With 2 teenage kids on tow, ClubMed seemed ideal for short family getaway to spend time together. Our 4 days at Club Med Cherating did not disappoint. What we liked:The surrounding beach and grounds which are meticulously cleaned and maintained. The GO's who run the programs: they are energetic, fun-loving and ever so friendly. I really liked the fitness classes. The rooms are nothing to shout about but the service staff are professional and efficient. Our rooms were trashed by monkeys one evening, We didn't know till we got back, but the service staff had by then cleaned it up and changed our sheets. They told us about the monkeys and asked us to check our stuff in case the monkeys had taken more than food. The beach, sailing and kayaking activities. The food which is abundant, wonderful in variety and really good quality. Overeating is always a danger at Club Med. And the best was celebrating our son's 17th birthday there- it was a big surprise for him with all the staff and GO's singing to him with a birthday cake. The staff really go the extra mile to make things special. A really memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeToothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

A/C didnt work well in our room. We relied on a stand fan. My toddler and us could not sleep well every night. We often ran away to the only ac lounge nearby e bar. But the ac also didnt work. The only place that has reasonable AC was toilet near e restaurant. They told us the place has been there for 35 years. So, what to expect??? We were quite disappointed. wt e price that we paid, we expect a reasonable room that we can sleep well. Not only that, we also experienced how slow for them to take action. The bulp in toilet spoilt, we had to make 3 times requests for them to send a technician. It was quite busy during our stay. We only had our room cleaned at 7pm on the 2nd day of our stay. However, the view is really great. Playground for kids are good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Winny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was a company trip for 3 days 2 nights. I was quite surprised to find that Club Med is not as what I've imagined before i came. It is somehow quite disappointing. Probably I've put a very high expectation for the price paid and thought it would be super exclusive. Well.. thats maybe because I've not been to any Club Meds.
The main problem is everywhere is it is so hot and not a single place is comfortably air conditioned, even our hotel rooms and restaurant, except the public wash room. The hotel rooms are so run down, air cond is not working well and we need to depend on the fan to cool ourselves. Hair dryer is not functioning well and its sealed with Gaffer tape which I find it quite dangerous to be use. And there are so many ants in the room as well. Perhaps Club Med has to look into upgrading or at least look into the room cleanliness and amenities. I do understand that they're going eco friendly but comfort is also very important for the guests.
Well... the good side is we enjoyed the activities, especially the beautiful Zen swim pool and dinner at Rembulan Restaurant. N the public dance party at night, it is really fun to dance with a group of people and everyone is enjoying it. Food wise is good too, there are varieties of food and of course the free flow alcohol and drinks served at the bar.
As for the GOs in Club Med, some are really friendly and attentive but some of them are not so.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chercherry718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just had an awesome 2 weeks at club med CHERATING

The 3rd time we have been there with the kids
They had a great time
I think this time we had the best G.O. team ever.
Very hard working energetic team.
Food was fantastic.
Shows were awesome.

Have to mention that Internet was terrible. Being self employed with a business at home it Drove me crazy at times trying to access emails and check in online ect very frustrating and they need to fix this.
If you really need internet look into getting your own data.

Also Keep in mind this place is literally in the jungle. The Mosquitos are everywhere. And this time of year is jellyfish season so some days we did not use the beach.
You will see monkeys lizards eagles fish stingrays bats and more.
Rooms are very basic....but you only use the room for showering and sleeping.

We all had an awesome time and and a few tears were shed when we said goodbye.
Thanks to the team at CHERATING !!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank F64val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews