We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suria Cherating Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cherating
Reviewed 25 August 2012

1. The room need some uplifting.
2. The TV remote control do not function even after being changed.
3. The bed need to be change.
4. The cafeteria food menu don't have many choices of food.
5. The food presentation is poor and doesn't worth the value.
6. May not recommend to others or come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohdmuhizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and that we were unable to resolve your issues on site. We take all feedback seriously as we strive to improve our services all round and appreciate you took the time to offer your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

It was alright but the whole place looks a bit worn down. The beds were comfortable but it stinks quite a bit like smelly feet. The breakfast...average. Not sure why the place is pretty empty as the pool were not occupied and even the beach outside is not crowded (actually, we were the only ones there). It's not the location because the hotel next door (legend) was more alive and the beach has more souls around.

Pros:
Friendly staff (really, they are very friendly and helpful)
Clean beach and it's just 1 min walk
Clean toilet/bathroom in the room
Quite spacious rooms

Cons:
Stinky bed sheets and pillow
Noisy air-cond
Dull place
Nothing much to do or eat around that place unless you drive further away
Breakfast not very attractive (the milk was pinkish, not sure why?)

Room Tip: Choose higher levels room if you want a beach view room. My beach view room on second floor was cove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nkr28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback. We strive to offer the best possible service and any feedback encourages our team to ensure our guests are feel comfortable and enjoy their stay.

Your comments has been passed to the relevant department heads and steps are currently being taken to ensure that all our guests enjoy the products and services offered by the hotel.

Once again thank you and we look forward to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I'm having the simplest buffet breakfast in my life at this resort. I ask the counter for the price for additional breakfast coupon per person and it cost RM20. The breakfast just include rice, mee, beans ,eggs ,bread, porridge.... I went for breakfast at 9.30am and the food is almost finish, but the staff seems like didn't want to refill those food, so at last i just ate some bread (couldn't imagine that this breakfast cost RM20 -.-). The beach is quite clean(walking distance), the reception was quite friendly and helpful. Me and my friends didn't drove there and it's quite hard for us to find food around as the location is quite far from restaurant nearby, if calling a cab it will cost around RM40 for 2 way(just 5km distance to the restaurant). The room was average but there's not much choice for watching tv programme.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyszl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Not my first choice of hotel in Cherating but since all other hotels were fully booked, I had no choice. The hotel is about 300m from the main road but next to the beautiful Cherating beach. A bit scary when arriving late at night driving alone on the quiet access road. Once at the hotel I decided not to go out at night. The staff at the reception was helpful so I stayed for 2 nights instead of 1. The hotel is a bit jaded and rather old. So is the room, rather small for the rates I have to pay. The swimming pools are small and a bit crowded especially during holidays and very noisy. A lot of families stayed here.
Breakfast is included but not much choice - just basics. Upon checking-out, I am given an RM 90.00 voucher for my next stay. The discount is against the published rate of RM 260 for the sea view room. This sums up to just RM 10.00 less than what I paid during this stay. So much for promoting the hotel.
Having said those, I do not mind coming back but as a last choice.

Room Tip: Get the seaview room at the end of corridor away from the swimming pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razakbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

We take all feedback seriously as we strive to improve our services all round and appreciate you took the time to offer your valuable feedback.

Once again thank you and we look forward to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The hotel has a dream location, nice beach and very windy in the evening. The rooms are large and well furnished, our room had a nice view of the ocean and the pool. Our room was lovely.I love the service that delivered to us during our stay. The restaurant and the food for breakfast is very simple but have a nice taste. It is set in a small local area which of course was not a problem. There is an alternative to the local food on the streets outside. During our vacation we love to go to Kemaman having a delicious "satar", it is make from a fish and looks like satay. From Suria Resort to Kemaman only takes half an hour driving. I recommend to all reviews to stay in this hotel and don't forget to drive up to Kemaman for "satar"..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roslinahmustapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and nice comments during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to see that you enjoy your recent stay and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

price-wise, i would be a bit biased as we got a deal for the resort from a coupon-like website

location-wise, it is accessible by private transport and does not cater for back packer type of crowd, it is difficult to find, actually...

facilities-wise, room is clean, though toilet needs more attention, toilettries provided, towels smell nice as well as the beddings...it has a pool, walking distance to the beach

food-needs a lot of improvement...

Room Tip: sea view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fallen_angel024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed for 1N as a transit. The room is just ok for the price we pay. Small. But clean. I dont think this place is suitable for couple. Breakfast was bad. But they have pretty good wifi connection ;)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuffyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherating
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
124 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#34 of 44 in Kuantan
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
2.7 mi away
Royale Chulan Cherating
Royale Chulan Cherating
#2 of 7 in Cherating
31 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria Cherating Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria Cherating Beach Resort

Address: KM 32.5 Jalan Kemaman Kuantan, Cherating 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cherating
Price Range: £25 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria Cherating Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Suria Cherating Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan Hotel Cherating
Best Western Kuantan
Suria Cherating Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing