We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should go next door for a little $$ extra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suria Cherating Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cherating
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed here last weekend, easy to find from main road. Signage was prominent too.
Arrived to check in, not the soonest process but could bear with it...since it doesn't really cost too much..Took the lift (which reeked...), lift lobby on 2nd floor reeked worst..due to stinky furniture...Rooms were so-so, TV was CRT ...not as what they claimed LCD... Bathroom sink had cig burns...

Pool was nice in afternoon, beach access was easy..din eat there for dinner..went to chukai to have famous crab. Breakfast was ...omg...cutlery was dirty, nil tablecloth, as the pool was beside the restaurant, all families had breakfast by the pool with kids, pool had a reeking smell of urine which passed into the cafe...argh..toaster machine caught fire..... suffered and ate plain bread + coffee and quickly check out...

Just checked and reallized...I prob shd have stayed next door...only a little more $$$

Room Tip: Rooms which had sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benkoh9531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear benkoh9531,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.

We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-

a) We have been taken in to consideration and improvements have been brought to most of the areas such as our service standards and maintenance of the rooms.
b) On our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our cleanliness of our restaurant, product and quality standard. We will also improve our food variety in the restaurant.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House, Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel is on Cherating beach with walking access to beach . Rooms have new bed sheets , clean toilet, antic looking wooden furniture and great sea view .breakfast is average . Swimming pool has two wings children and adult .child pool is very safe for small children. This place is great for families with small children. There are many Thai restaurant towards kamaman for dinner. We booked 6 rooms for 12 adults and 10 children . This was my second visit to suria Cherating resort. Extremely recommended .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aftab-Zaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Aftab-Zaini,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience. It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently. We are pleased to welcome you back to our resort.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We will normally stay at the Legend each time we went to Cherating but since the trip was on public holiday, we didn't manage to get any rooms there since we did not make any hotel booking prior to the trip. It was our last choice to stay at Suria and it will be our last. The service was bad, the room was in a terrible condition, we had a nightmare there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nurullizasaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear nurullizasaleh,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.

We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to your feedback that you have highlighted, we have been taken in to consideration and improvements have been brought to most of the areas such as our service standards, maintenance of the rooms and cleanliness of the rooms.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House, Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This hotel need improvement badly. Food was lousy and the management should add more staffs. Since the weather at this time of the year is constantly raining, the floor all over is slippery. It was a bit messy and dirty at times. The elevator is very small and it broke down during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IraAdrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 days & 2 nights. I'm not sure whether they have bellboy services, but we are the one who carry our baggages during check-in & check out.
When we asked for extra bed, yes they did provide one, but they left the bed outside the room,
Room is comfy, we have no issue for the room, toilet was ok, swimming pool was fine.
We really think that management have to do semething really serious about the food! and on how they handle it. The breakfast menu, was so-so only. To replenish the plates & cups take such a long time. Table was not cleared after people eat there. Or maybe they have inadequate staff. But, serious.. if the resort improve in their food management, i dont mind to come here again.

And another one, there's no security guard at the pool. And the children playground looks not really safe as there is weaver ants everywehere.. not really safe for the kids.

I would recommend to stay here if just for the purpose to sleep. where you'll spend your day time travelling around kemaman /cherathing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etile1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

TQ Encik Zul for being a good manager on the day my family arrived. A slight misunderstanding on my room extra bed was resolved within minutes. My room G09 was not bad at all, the sheets are clean, the bathroom was clean. The housekeeping was superb, thanks to Cik Linda and the gang.
Before coming here, i was a bit skeptical since i did read the reviews....but im a second chances persons...it turns out well for my family.
the only problem is your breakfast menu, just upgrade it a little bit more and im sure you guys will be superb...second, do clean your pool island since there are some junks like polisterin cup left by the swimmers....
finally, tq all for trying your bests for us guests.....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurulAin_Hadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Excellence service was provided by Suria Cherating Resort's team. Was been here for enjoying swimming and dinner with families and kids. Swimming pool was cleaned and dinner food was served as well. The wifi signal also very good and friendly user.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank agrinature2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherating
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 7 in Cherating
124 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#34 of 44 in Kuantan
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
2.7 mi away
Royale Chulan Cherating
Royale Chulan Cherating
#2 of 7 in Cherating
31 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria Cherating Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria Cherating Beach Resort

Address: KM 32.5 Jalan Kemaman Kuantan, Cherating 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cherating
Price Range: £25 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria Cherating Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Suria Cherating Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan Hotel Cherating
Best Western Kuantan
Suria Cherating Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing