We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Resort Just Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cherating
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This Resort Just Awful”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This resort is terrible and expensive ! and doesn't worth the amount of money you paid for... run down and need major refurbishment..the food is terrible and to make mattes worse, stray cats just playing around in dining hall during breakfast time...so unhygenic..the toilet looks old and broken with clogged sinks.

I have terrible sleep due to some people having fun with karaoke session. I dont blame them since the resort should make and effort to make sure that the resorts karaoke room is sound proof..

I have decided to cut short my stay...the sea view is RM288.. but its not worth a stay there....

Room Tip: Stay Away from lromm 110-109
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supadepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Supadepo,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.

We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-

a) On our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our product, quality and service standard. We also will improve our food variety in the restaurant. However, this situation can be rectified immediately if you make a complaint directly. For your information, our menu for breakfast is different everyday. For example, on Monday we provide Baked Bean, Nasi Goreng Cina, Roti Boom and etc meanwhile on Tuesday, we provide Pan Cake, Nasi Lemak, Fried Kuew Teaw and etc. You may ask our staff for menu. We are sorry if our menu is beyond your expectations.
b) We are sorry about the facilities that do not fulfill our guest need. We have made a discussion about the problem face by guest such as Karaoke session that disturbs another guest. If there necessary for us to make a changes we will do so that all of our guest will satisfy with our service.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House, Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    37
    45
    30
    12
See reviews for
45
22
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The place was just ok for a day visit. Tried this hotel due to its near to Kemaman compared to other big hotels. But alas, during the weekdays the hotel lack of occupant & makes it very quiet. The lightings was dull which makes its more like an old hotel. However, for business trip the location of the hotel was quite ok. It is nearer to Kemaman compared to other hotels in Cherating.
Hotel rate was cheap compared to the surrounding hotels & its ok for a business trip.

The breakfast experience was disappointing. With hard bread & simple noodle with no taste.

Pros : Near to Kemaman
Cons : Dull & rundown room

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Timbermad,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.

We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to your feedback on our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our product, quality and service standard. We also will improve our food variety in the restaurant. However, this situation can be rectified immediately if you make a complaint directly. For your information, our menu for breakfast is different everyday. For example, on Monday we provide Baked Bean, Nasi Goreng Cina, Roti Boom and etc meanwhile on Tuesday, we provide Pan Cake, Nasi Lemak, Fried Kuew Teaw and etc. You may ask our staff for menu. We are sorry if our menu is beyond your expectations.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House, Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Great place to go if you want a peaceful time by the beach. Cherating in general doesn't get too many tourists these days and many of the resorts have become run down. This place is however kept quite well. We had a few problems with our room but were able to change to a better one without any fuss. WiFi works well if your room is close to a router.

The beach is around 4km long and shared by a grand total of three other establishments. It is generally unspoilt and extremely beautiful. It is perfect for long walks as there's usually a fresh sea breeze to keep you cool. The sea is a little choppy though which makes swimming undesirable. Not a problem for me personally. I loved the beach. Note that this isn't the main Cherating beach, it's the next one up as you go north.

If you have a car there are several excellent local seafood stalls in the vicinity. Check out my reviews to find them, as they are generally difficult to find. When on Malaysia's east coast, do try to find out where good local food is as it's DELICIOUS.

All in all this resort is decent in all respects, if a little rough round the edges.

Room Tip: Ask for close to WiFi router. Don't be shy to ask for a room change if you have any issues with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalumHalcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear CalumHalcrow,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience. It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently. We are pleased to welcome you back to our resort.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel location is perfect on a long sandy beach where we fully utilised it for morning and evening stroll everyday. It's such a peaceful, calm and quiet place to be in for a weekend getaway. We requested for a room that is quiet and far from the main area. It was such a perfect room as there was no disturbance and noise we could hear despite a big group of people from a company trip just checked in for the weekend. However we had to change the room later on as the aircond in the room was not working. The receptionist solved the problem quickly after I reported about it. We changed to a room closer to the pool and wifi. It's not too bad since the hotel has gone back to a normal quiet rate after the big group of people had checked out. The only problem is just that you need to have a car to go out for lunch and dinner. The food selection here is not that bad, but we prefer to have local food rather than hotel's one. Having a car is a bonus as you can drive to Kemaman or even to the main bit of Cherating to get some nice local food.

Room Tip: Room G8 if you want to be closed to wifi and pool. The layout is slightly nicer. If you want a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Emiliza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience. It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently. We are pleased to welcome you back to our resort.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed here last weekend, easy to find from main road. Signage was prominent too.
Arrived to check in, not the soonest process but could bear with it...since it doesn't really cost too much..Took the lift (which reeked...), lift lobby on 2nd floor reeked worst..due to stinky furniture...Rooms were so-so, TV was CRT ...not as what they claimed LCD... Bathroom sink had cig burns...

Pool was nice in afternoon, beach access was easy..din eat there for dinner..went to chukai to have famous crab. Breakfast was ...omg...cutlery was dirty, nil tablecloth, as the pool was beside the restaurant, all families had breakfast by the pool with kids, pool had a reeking smell of urine which passed into the cafe...argh..toaster machine caught fire..... suffered and ate plain bread + coffee and quickly check out...

Just checked and reallized...I prob shd have stayed next door...only a little more $$$

Room Tip: Rooms which had sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benkoh9531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear benkoh9531,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.

We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-

a) We have been taken in to consideration and improvements have been brought to most of the areas such as our service standards and maintenance of the rooms.
b) On our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our cleanliness of our restaurant, product and quality standard. We will also improve our food variety in the restaurant.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House, Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cherating hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Hotel is on Cherating beach with walking access to beach . Rooms have new bed sheets , clean toilet, antic looking wooden furniture and great sea view .breakfast is average . Swimming pool has two wings children and adult .child pool is very safe for small children. This place is great for families with small children. There are many Thai restaurant towards kamaman for dinner. We booked 6 rooms for 12 adults and 10 children . This was my second visit to suria Cherating resort. Extremely recommended .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aftab-Zaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Aftab-Zaini,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience. It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently. We are pleased to welcome you back to our resort.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We will normally stay at the Legend each time we went to Cherating but since the trip was on public holiday, we didn't manage to get any rooms there since we did not make any hotel booking prior to the trip. It was our last choice to stay at Suria and it will be our last. The service was bad, the room was in a terrible condition, we had a nightmare there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nurullizasaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear nurullizasaleh,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.

We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to your feedback that you have highlighted, we have been taken in to consideration and improvements have been brought to most of the areas such as our service standards, maintenance of the rooms and cleanliness of the rooms.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House, Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherating
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#30 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
9.4 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
4.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan

Property: Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
Address: KM 32.5 Jalan Kemaman Kuantan, Cherating 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cherating
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan Hotel Cherating
Best Western Kuantan
Suria Cherating Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing