We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend Your Money for BETTER Cause Than This!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cherating
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spend Your Money for BETTER Cause Than This!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Only manage to clean our room from previous customers,with limited manpower n too slow a speed of their service team,causing us to check in 6.40pm;not only that,leaving us with a bathroom full of sand,light bulb in the room without cover.The next morning,we are served with COLD food n coffee,but still provide us with sugar without the possibility to get dissoved.Summarise my stay here in ONE word-RIDICULOUS!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAIEe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    37
    45
    30
    12
See reviews for
45
22
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I had to visit Kemaman on business and there in Chukai the hotels werent the best so i booked the Suria Cherating as it was the only one available on short notice (i can now see why).

After a 14 hr journey i arrived at the hotel at 2am, it has an open foyer which was kinda nice to see. We were shown to our rooms which werent the best, i immediately looked through the patio door to see the view and all i saw was trees and the swimming pool even though i wanted a see view. The room wasnt the cleanest i had been in, and the security on the patio door was not up to standard, it would be very easy to break it and i had vauluables with me due to work.

I wasnt briefed on anything either i.e. when is breakfast. I had to look through very dirty papers to find the time and soon realised they had vouchers to had in also which i wasnt told about. The breakfast wasnt the best either, all the local people had wiped it clean and i had the left overs, even then you could see bug flying in and out of the containers.

They was no gym, the door was always locked even though i was told it is open from 7am - 7pm. I even asked at the desk if i can just go have a look to see what they had and after shuffling around in the desk i was told "Sorry, we dont have the key". I spotted alot of cockroaches in the hallways dead and alive which wasnt the best sight!!!

The pool was dirty, even though they had people with a basket collecting the leaves, it was full of dead bugs!!

I ordered food one time in this hotel and it was chips. They forgot our order at first and when someone as what we were waiting for it then took half an hour extra to make them??!! We were just about to walk out instead.

The only pro about this place is the view. The hotel sits on the beachfront to the south china sea. The ocean is beautiful and so it the sand. The water is really warm and there is always a nice cool breeze. This would onlybe the reason for me to come back and is only the reason why i enjoyed my stay. It was just a spectacular view.

You would do well to hire a car if you are staying here as there is nothing left or right of this resort. Chukai is at least half an hour away.

I tried not to concentrate too much on this room and went to bed, woke up for work a few hours

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSnake_sss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear TheSnake_sss,

We wished that you would put your real name so as to allow us to check our record. We have checked and found the Snake in our register)

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.

We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-

a) We are sorry you found the views unsatisfactory, our pool is facing the beach and we don’t cut naturally grown trees unless we really have to

b) For your information all rooms and toilets are thoroughly cleaned before guest check in, according to a standard housekeeping manual. However we apologize that we did not receive any complaint on the cleanliness of our rooms & toilets during your stay. Again we do apologies for the shortfall in our housekeeping service.

c) With regards to the rooms & the security on the patio door not up to standard, we are currently upgrading our facilities through structured program. We apologize if you found the services level not satisfactory.

d) We do apologize that you were not briefed on the breakfast detail during check in.

e) We are sorry that you found our breakfast unsatisfactory and during the duration of the breakfast, replenishments would have been made.

f) We are always finding ways and means to eliminate seasonal flies at all areas of the property especially the eating area.

g) For your information our gym only can occupy 5 people at a time. Perhaps on that day, the gym key was already taken by another guest. We are sorry that our staff did not try harder to provide you with the service.

h) For your information our swimming pool will be cleaned daily start at 7.00am – 9.00am, 1.00pm – 2.00pm and 5.00pm – 7.00pm. We aim to ensure a high level of cleanliness all times in our swimming pool areas.

I ) We sincerely apologies for the unsatisfactory service of our Food & Beverage Department. We will continue to improve the competency level of our staff to ensure better service in future

Thank you for your fair comment on the views of our beachfront property and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House, Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com/ www.suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights with family and this resort is only slightly better than their Merang Suria Resort, Trengganu.

Room was tired, poorly maintained and out-dated. The room had very strong smell of clorox/sanitizer which was used for mopping the floor.

A group of teenagers checked into a couple of rooms beside ours and were constantly slamming their doors which was left with the latch out. Informing the reception did not improve this which was very annoying for us.

Breakfast was of very low quality and insufficient tables for the number of guests there with no one offering to set up more tables (which was stacked up nearby). Poorly managed as no one properly supervising the replenishment of food or cutlery and clearing of tables.

Kids jumped into the pool and immediately jumped out as they were wearing swimming goggles they could see that the pool was dirty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FplusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear FplusV,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-

a) We are sorry that you found our room to be unsatisfactory. Our solid teak wood furniture is still in good condition and does not warrant us to throw and replace it. We apologize for the strong smell and should you have voiced your displeasure during your stay, we would have seek to immediately rectify the situation
b) We are sorry that the situation with the group of teenagers was not rectified by the reception; although I am sure the reception would have sent security /other personnel to check it out.
c) We are sorry that you found our breakfast in such a mananer. Rest assured it is our policy to have staff to monitor the cleanliness, replenishment of food, cutlery and clearing of tables according to a standard F&B Standard Operating Procedure. For your information we continuously strive to improve our food quality & services.
d) For your information our swimming pool will be cleaned daily start at 7.00am – 9.00am, 1.00pm – 2.00pm and 5.00pm – 7.00pm. We aim to ensure a high level of cleanliness all times in our swimming pool areas.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House, Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cherating hotels

1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hotel restaurant;
Hard to reach to waiter/cashier (everyone in the kitchen?!)
Food delivered late.
Breakfast need to improve.

Swimming pool was filled with dried leaves.

Love the beach.

My room was ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Over priced, run down and dirty beach resort, with complacent staff and nothing in walking distance.
Upon checking in I went to my room where I was greeted by a huge cockroach and in a room which had a dusty and dirty bathroom, I changed rooms and was given a room where there was no power. 3rd time lucky and an upgrade (?) to the sea view room, I had a room cockroach free (at least for that night) and reasonably clean. After going to the restaurant, we left pretty quickly and got in the car to find the nearest eating-place. The restaurant (and hotel is dry) was dirty with food suck to the tables and on the floor and staff sat around doing nothing, it didn't get much better when it came to breakfast as the same food particles on the tables and floors were still there the next day with the added bird excrement, yes, birds fly in and eat the food left on tables and cutlery which is left out to serve breakfast with. On the second morning there had been a large group check in the day before who had arrived at breakfast before us and so when we got to breakfast, we had slim pickings (not that any of it was fantastic), nothing was replenished and tables weren’t cleaned, when we asked staff if they were bringing out any more to replenish we were just told yes, then nothing appeared.
"The pool is closed" sign remained up for 2 days, even though it was apparently open (BTW the pool is tiny compared to the pictures). The gym door was locked so I don't even know if they had any gym equipment. The key card stopped working at random intervals and as implied earlier both my friends and I woke up with cockroaches in our rooms and had to go out and buy cockroach spray.
On a positive note, the bed was comfy and the linen was clean (it must have been the only thing). This hotel has the potential to be quite a nice resort and it wouldn’t cost anything extra, train staff to be polite and smile and CLEAN when they have nothing to do (they spent a lot of their time sat down doing nothing), until this happens do not book to go here. Locally (5-10 min drive) there are some great local eateries but nothing by the resort. I feel sorry for anyone who ends up there without a car!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Dear 84Melanie84
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-
a) We are sorry that you found our local staff complacent. Rest assured we have briefed them on this feedback and we will continuously strive to improve our performance.
b) Please be informed that we have in place a proper housekeeping & F&B standard operating procedure and manual. We aim to ensure high cleanliness all time in our room, toilet, public areas & kitchen.
c) We are always finding ways & means to eliminate unwanted pests at all areas of the properties especially the eating area and we have a proper periodic pest control program in place
d) Yes, if you mean dry. Is that we don’t serve alcoholic beverages, it is correct. We don’t. However, if guests really need to ‘drink’, there are my outlets serving alcohol around the area.
e) We are sorry you found the restaurant dirty and staff sitting around. We take seriously your comments and have taken action to investigate and rectify the situation. The issue of pest/birds and dirty
f) The pool area is sufficient for the number of rooms available the resort. For your information size of our pool is 1.2 meter depth & 27 feet width can hardly be called tiny.
g) For your information our gym only can occupy 5 people at a time. Perhaps on that day, Gym key already taken by another guest.




h) We are sorry that the pool was closed during your stay as it is usually up and running 95% days of the year. The pool area is sufficient for the number of rooms available the resort. For your information size of our pool is 1.2 meter depth & 27 feet width can hardly be called tiny. The pictures taken of our facilities are genuine/non altered pictures and in no way with the intent to misrepresent.

i) We are sorry for all the shortcomings and we will endeavor to improve our facilities and staff competency to make the hotel a choice for all

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House, Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com/ www.suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Slept there for one night (thank god)

Hotel restaurant;
Hard to reach to waiter/cashier (everyone in the kitchen?!)
Do not order western food, its bad. Local food is good.
Food delivered late.
Breakfast need to improve.

Swimming pool was filled with dried leaves.

Love the beach.

My room was ok. The window was broken, mosquitoes come in at night.

The highlights of my night, i woke up to a disturbing noise of doors banging! And noises of furnitures moving, peoples talking, and footsteps. As i thought, it was morning, i accidentally drop my phone and it showed - 4 am! The noises gotten very strong and this goes on for 30-40mins and it then slows down and ends with little footsteps from my room towards the door.

It truly is an experience that i surely will never forget and i will never going back to the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazMansur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I booked an apartment with 2 bedrooms.The room was spacious but quiet old.There got a kitchen provided with some basic fasilities but i am not dare to use even the kettle.The wifi usage also surcharge but after request and the password given also cannot connected as all but the management got refund for us.The only good things i can said our apartment have a good seaview scene.
我租了2房公寓,房子还算宽赦但家具有点陈旧。虽然房间备有厨房,也提供了一些基本设施,但看了我们都不太敢用。无线上网需要另外付费,但我们拿了密码还是连接不到所以要求退款。如果要说这房子的优点,该是他们给了我们一个面向海景的房间吧!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherating
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#31 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
9.4 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
4.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan

Property: Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
Address: KM 32.5 Jalan Kemaman Kuantan, Cherating 26080, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cherating
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan Hotel Cherating
Best Western Kuantan
Suria Cherating Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing