We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abaco Altea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Abaco Altea
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was our second trip to Altea, and once again we chose to stay at the wonderful Hotel Abaco Altea. The service was, yet again, top notch, with the staff doing everything in their power to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible. On our arrival, we were met by the delightful Julie, who greeted us with a glass of Cava and chocolate-dipped strawberries, what a welcome! We booked the same room as last year, Provence, a delightful room with a small balcony. The hotel was spotlessly clean, and the beds were the best we'd slept in on the whole of our holiday in Spain. Thomas, the manager, helped us out daily by giving us tips on places to visit, and things to do, aswell as the best way to get there. He certainly does know the area and all it has to offer. Rita, also a member of the staff, was so nice to us aswell, and was even helping us out with our Spanish! And whatever you do, don't miss the breakfast buffet, a real treat to set you up for the day. All in all, a very memorable stay, in a most delightful hotel run by fantastic people.......Thank-you, see you all again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickNinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Nick & Ninni,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. It was wonderful seeing you both again and a real pleasure having you in our hotel.

Once again the pleasure was ours and we are very much pleased to know that your experience was again wonderful.

We hope you have the chance to come back again soon!

Kindest regards,

Thomas, Rita, Julie, Adelina & Tristan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    47
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
331
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

It is difficult to highlight one aspect of Hotel Abaco ,as the whole production is without doubt first class. However, the stars of this particular show have to be the managers and staff, who put 110% effort into making your stay memorable! Cava and strawberries dipped in chocolate and ice cold towels made our arrival unforgettable! A kettle with tea bags was placed in our room for our stay as we like an early morning cup of tea, more iced towels as we escaped from the heat of the day and a surprise bottle of cava with chocolates delivered to our room with a card wishing us a happy wedding anniversary! The hotel itself is a little gem! Excellent location between the centre of the old town and the beaches. Beautiful, spotlessly clean, themed rooms, ( ours was the Moroccan styled "Kasbah") comfortable beds with quality linen and good quality and range of bathroom products. Breakfast again top class choice of cold cuts, fresh fruit salad, yogurts,different breads, eggs, traditional crushed tomatoes with oil, a choice of coffees and teas and attentive service. Only one small problem. In trying to help clients park in busy Altea, the hotel have provided underground car parking for about 3 cars. it is a very small space and for even the most confident driver, manouevring around other cars and avoiding walls is difficult. However, I really cannot see a solution to this and have not marked them down for it. We have had a memorable weekend, thank you Thomas, Rita, Julie & Natalia for making our anniversary weekend one we shall never forget!

Room Tip: Kasbah and Provence both have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Hilary,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with all of us.

We are so pleased to know that your stay was memorable and special. We were very happy to have you and be part of such an important event.

We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast, cava, cold towels, amenities, location and found the hotel spotless clean.

Once again thank you for highlighting the highs of your stay and for making this public as this is the most valuable way to know where we are, where we need to improve as well as feel proud of what we have achieved.

Happy customers, happy owners!

We hope to have you again soon!

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Whilst this is a small (6 room) hotel it is extremely welcoming and very clean. The team; Julie, Thomas and Rita make you feel so welcome with cava and chocolate strawberries on arrival. They also know the area intimately so offer great dining, beach and walking advice. The rooms very comfortable and attractively furnished. Great breakfast buffet. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recommendations and experience in our Tripadvisor page.

We are so thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel extremely welcoming and clean. These are very important areas for us. We are glad to know that you liked our welcome amenity and recommendations.

Thank you again for highlighting that your breakfast was great and not to be missed.

We hope to have you back again soon.

Regards,

Adelina and Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Abaco in Altea was such a delight. It is perfectly located between the beaches and the old town. The rooms are wonderful, each separately decorated. We only saw ours, of course, but the Moulin Rouge theme was tasteful and charming. The continental breakfast was full of variety and fresh flavours to match.
But the star of this hotel are the owners and staff. They took care of us with a sincere desire to make our stay special. And it was! Should we pass though Altea again there is no question were we will stay; Hotel Abaco.

Room Tip: Each room is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear client,

The delight was ours to have you in our hotel. We are pleased to know that you found your stay personal and wonderful.

We indeed hope you have the opportunity to return soon to experience another of our rooms,

Breakfast is very important for us and we are glad to know that you found it up to your standards.

Thank you for your recommendations and hope to meet you soon again.

Regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Looked for a hotel in the old part of Altea Spain and found this hidden treasure on Google. We had four great days and nights at this small and absolutely wonderful hotel. The hotel is beautifully renovated and decorated in every detail. The service we experienced from Adelina and Thomas with staff was even better.
It is a hotel worth staying at!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ado763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Client,

We are mesmorized with you opening phrase, it makes us so happy to hear that Hotel Abaco felt like a treasure in Altea.

We were honored to have you for four nights and hope you have the chance to return back again soon.

Thank you for recognizing our service and for taking your time to share your experience in Tripadvisor.

Brest regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Found by complete chance and was very pleasant. Small and boutique in style with a welcome glass of cava and tea and coffee on tap. Breakfast was great too lots of choice. Short walk to the main old town or down to the beach areas. Train station 5 mins away.

Room Tip: All the rooms have different themes
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dar client,

We are thrilled to know that your experience at Hotel Abaco was really lovely and glad to know that you decided to come visit us despite the the circumstances.

Thank you very much for your comments and happy to know that you enjoy our breakfast, service, conceptvand location,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our relaxing time in Altea. The service was great from our arrival (cava and chocolate strawberries!) through to the very reliable restaurant recommendations. We were also recommended walks we could do along the coast before the sun got too hot. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_and_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Stephen and Anna,

Thank you, thank you, thank you! It is you who we need to thanks. Firstly, for sharing your experience in our Tripadvisor page. Secondly, for highlighting your appreciation for the dinner recommendations and walking routes. Lastly for letting us know that the service was great from the start.

Thank you again.

Regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
1.9 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Sierra de Alicante
6.3 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abaco Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abaco Altea

Property: Hotel Abaco Altea
Address: Calle Salva 13, 03590 Altea, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abaco Altea 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former 18th century bakery shapes this charming hotel in the heart of Altea a few meters from the commercial center and coastline. Its six themed rooms offer a warm and friendly atmosphere full of small details that will make your stay unforgettable.After 8 years at the controls of Tony and Linda (founders and restorers of the hotel), Hotel Abaco is currently managed by Adelina and Thomas - a couple of hoteliers who decided to embark on this world since its start in Switzerland in the prestigious university "Le Roches". Place, where they met and decided to share their passion for working in luxury hotels and since then have worked through the world in (U.S., Europe, UAE and Seychelles, etc.) Both very versatile in their areas of expertise have based their principles on three specific factors: Quality, Attention to detail and Customer Satisfaction.Their work philosophy is reflected not only in the management of the hotel and rigorous attention they devote to the rooms, but also through the personalized and attentive dedication to exceeding their customers satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Abaco Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing