We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Service is great. Very warm hearted people. Quiet surroundings but very close by villages. A hotel with a interesting history. Diner and breakfast were perfect. We got a lot of choice. Hard working staff. Spacious bedroom, very clean. Ideal place to stay when you need a break or need a stay to discover the area. A place where you feel at home right away. We stayed 4 nights. If possible we will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 170anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    83
    22
    2
    7
See reviews for
47
151
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

rooms are great, quaint old fashioned style family run hotel. Outside of Altea great views of mountains about 10 mins in car to seafront nothing in walking distance of hotel.
About 20 rooms we were the only people there on our second nights stay of two and we ate in the restaurant which was a mistake. Think it must have been the chefs day off. Food was plentiful but either overcooked or raw not the fine dining experience we had anticipated. Food menu though was to be fair only 20 euro per head for the day menu but food in albir nearby was better and cheaper. Probably nice in the summer but not for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martindbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldtraveller
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent Christmas here and it was perfect. We received a very warm welcome and enjoyed a delicious, traditional Christmas Eve Dinner and Christmas Day Lunch which included wines. It was amazing value. Our room had both mountain and sea views and was enormous but cosy. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maguern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed 6 nights here and did find it very comfortable. A great room (33m2), a large bathroom and balcony. A very good breakfast and a good service.The only negative point is, when all the rooms are occupied,it is a bit noisy.
We liked to stay here (again)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherina_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A big room with a bigger bathroom and a great breakfast. The view is so great you see all the Mountains around Altea.
A short walk and you are in the old Town with narrow streets and White houses..must bee seen!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loannese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Not having been to Spain before the hotel more than match our expectations. We stayed for twelve nights from end of September until start of October, in a room with a balcony and view and also a bath in the bathroom. The service was excellent and so friendly and helpful that even when they could not supply you with what you wanted they would find a way e.g. a takeaway pizza!

There is free WiFi in the hotel and pool area and a P.C. for the use of hotel guests.

To us this was exactly the hotel we were looking for; small, luxurious with well appointed rooms, pool and small gym and with great location and views. The icing on the cake was the friendly helpful service from the lovely receptionist, Owner Vicenta (mum) and (daughter) (also Vicenta), son Manuel and barman Ben.

Room Tip: We sought advice beforehand and picked a 1st floor room with a balcony and view over the swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed in Altea for 3 nights in the middle of our vacation. Altea was wonderful, just like a little village on a Greek Island. So glad we stayed here. This hotel was awesome! The location is about a 10 minute walk, on a dark narrow road, but we felt safe, to the town. Once you are at the hotel you feel like you're out in the country away from all the city life. It was so peaceful and relaxing. I could've stayed here a month. The staff..... AWESOME. The owner and her son were wonderful. So helpful and sweet. I would definitely recommend this place and would easily stay here again. Breakfast was very nice, especially sitting outside overlooking the pool. Oh, it's a little tough to find, even with the map they emailed. If you get the map and follow it to the dirt road, keep going down the dirt road and you'll see the hotel at the top of the hill on the right. The hotel has so much charm and character. Really loved it. oh yea, i've never commented on the firmness of hotel beds because every person is different, but I have to say, the beds in both of our rooms were crazy hard. So if thats a problem for you, keep it in mind. great bathrooms too.

Room Tip: we were in rooms 108 with a nice view of the pool. and room 112 with a lovely 4 poster bed and quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank outdoorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
2.4 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Serena
Hotel La Serena
#7 of 8 in Altea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
3.8 mi away
Marconfort Altea Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tossal d'Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tossal d'Altea

Property: Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Address: Pla de Castell 96, 03590 Altea, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tossal d'Altea 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the town of Altea, just 300 metres away from the Palau Altea Centre d'Arts, or Altea Concert Hall, and a stone’s throw from the Old Quarter, the Hotel Tossal d’Altea was built on the site of a traditional olive oil mill which for over 300 years was used to produce olive oil. The hotel, whose design is reminiscent of Altean tradition while incorporating modern amenities and luxuries, caters mainly for guests seeking relaxation and wellbeing in a warm and welcoming environment in the heart of nature. The structure and decorative style of the hotel, whose rural design is typical of Altean country houses, blend in harmoniously with its restful setting, and it has sweeping views of the countryside, mountains and sea. What sets the hotel apart and endows it with its own personality is its core philosophy to provide attentive and personal services and a quality product for the highest guest satisfaction. Inside the hotel there is a restaurant which has two air-conditioned dining rooms which are open to the general public, where guests can enjoy Mediterranean cuisine as well as typical regional dishes. The "Menjador Almàssera" has a cylindrical stone mill and some presses in the centre, and a fireplace, while the "Saló Altea" is a more intimate area that is set apart from the main dining room. There is also a coffee lounge for guests wishing to have a coffee, which also serves the open air terrace. Hotel and outside guests may use all the restaurant facilities. The hotel has 15 rooms on the first floor and 7 rooms on the second floor. The spacious double rooms (which can also be used as single rooms) have balconies with panoramic views, mini-bar, television, telephone, internet, a safe, air-conditioning, heating, exquisite bathrooms etc. We can also highly recommend our charming Double room with canopy bed, and the uniquely elegant Special Suite which has a private sauna and hydromassage bath in an adjoining room. Whatever your tastes and interests are, we guarantee that your stay will be as pleasant and restful as possible. The hotel’s outdoor grounds include two large outdoor car parks right next to the hotel which have security surveillance, landscaped areas for enjoyable strolls, and an extensive terrace where you can sunbathe and enjoy the gentle breeze. There is also a swimming pool and gym for those who wish to use them. There is no extra charge for using these facilities, which have all been designed to provide easy access for disabled people. You are our number one priority. Visit us and relax in a restful and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tossal d'Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing