We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and restaurant - a must!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and restaurant - a must!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We actually got married at Tossal 2 years ago. I never wrote a review at the time but I should have done. Their first class service, attention to detail, and efforts to go out of their way to meet every single request was second-to-none. What's more, you really felt like you were the clients they cared about the most (Although I am sure that they give everyone the same outstanding level of service). 50 of our friends and family came out to Spain and stayed at the hotel, and I can quite honestly say, they could not believe what a gem of a hotel we had stumbled accross, and it could quite possibly be the best wedding they had been to (although I may be a bit biased!). It was just perfect and the atmosphere felt so special.

2 years on, we visited for our second anniversary and treated ourselves to a meal at the hotel restaurant. Yet again we were not disappointed! It was so fantastic to see everyone at this family run hotel again and they were equally pleased to see us. We had an unbelievably amazing 3 course meal in the restaurant with cava and recommended wine. We could not fault any of it. And at the end of the meal, I was given a bottle of olive oil as a birthday gift!

If you are even thinking about staying here or eating here, then do it. Quite simply, you will not be disappointed. A wonderful Spanish experience in the heart of Altea - not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicaALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    86
    22
    3
    8
See reviews for
48
159
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

a lovely family run hotel had a very good relaxing week stay rooms were very clean staff friendly and helpful a 10 mins walk down hill to the sea (5 euros back by taxi) where restaurants are average for a few euros more excellent meals at hotel.. swimming pool was clean and warm by May. Room had wonderful views over the valley all the way to the sea. Would recommend this hotel for a quite relaxing stay

Room Tip: room 203 had a small private patio overlooking the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Service is great. Very warm hearted people. Quiet surroundings but very close by villages. A hotel with a interesting history. Diner and breakfast were perfect. We got a lot of choice. Hard working staff. Spacious bedroom, very clean. Ideal place to stay when you need a break or need a stay to discover the area. A place where you feel at home right away. We stayed 4 nights. If possible we will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 170anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

rooms are great, quaint old fashioned style family run hotel. Outside of Altea great views of mountains about 10 mins in car to seafront nothing in walking distance of hotel.
About 20 rooms we were the only people there on our second nights stay of two and we ate in the restaurant which was a mistake. Think it must have been the chefs day off. Food was plentiful but either overcooked or raw not the fine dining experience we had anticipated. Food menu though was to be fair only 20 euro per head for the day menu but food in albir nearby was better and cheaper. Probably nice in the summer but not for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martindbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldtraveller
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent Christmas here and it was perfect. We received a very warm welcome and enjoyed a delicious, traditional Christmas Eve Dinner and Christmas Day Lunch which included wines. It was amazing value. Our room had both mountain and sea views and was enormous but cosy. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maguern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed 6 nights here and did find it very comfortable. A great room (33m2), a large bathroom and balcony. A very good breakfast and a good service.The only negative point is, when all the rooms are occupied,it is a bit noisy.
We liked to stay here (again)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherina_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A big room with a bigger bathroom and a great breakfast. The view is so great you see all the Mountains around Altea.
A short walk and you are in the old Town with narrow streets and White houses..must bee seen!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loannese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
2.4 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Serena
Hotel La Serena
#6 of 8 in Altea
22 reviews
6.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tossal d'Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tossal d'Altea

Property: Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Address: Pla de Castell 96, 03590 Altea, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tossal d'Altea 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the town of Altea, just 300 metres away from the Palau Altea Centre d'Arts, or Altea Concert Hall, and a stone’s throw from the Old Quarter, the Hotel Tossal d’Altea was built on the site of a traditional olive oil mill which for over 300 years was used to produce olive oil. The hotel, whose design is reminiscent of Altean tradition while incorporating modern amenities and luxuries, caters mainly for guests seeking relaxation and wellbeing in a warm and welcoming environment in the heart of nature. The structure and decorative style of the hotel, whose rural design is typical of Altean country houses, blend in harmoniously with its restful setting, and it has sweeping views of the countryside, mountains and sea. What sets the hotel apart and endows it with its own personality is its core philosophy to provide attentive and personal services and a quality product for the highest guest satisfaction. Inside the hotel there is a restaurant which has two air-conditioned dining rooms which are open to the general public, where guests can enjoy Mediterranean cuisine as well as typical regional dishes. The "Menjador Almàssera" has a cylindrical stone mill and some presses in the centre, and a fireplace, while the "Saló Altea" is a more intimate area that is set apart from the main dining room. There is also a coffee lounge for guests wishing to have a coffee, which also serves the open air terrace. Hotel and outside guests may use all the restaurant facilities. The hotel has 15 rooms on the first floor and 7 rooms on the second floor. The spacious double rooms (which can also be used as single rooms) have balconies with panoramic views, mini-bar, television, telephone, internet, a safe, air-conditioning, heating, exquisite bathrooms etc. We can also highly recommend our charming Double room with canopy bed, and the uniquely elegant Special Suite which has a private sauna and hydromassage bath in an adjoining room. Whatever your tastes and interests are, we guarantee that your stay will be as pleasant and restful as possible. The hotel’s outdoor grounds include two large outdoor car parks right next to the hotel which have security surveillance, landscaped areas for enjoyable strolls, and an extensive terrace where you can sunbathe and enjoy the gentle breeze. There is also a swimming pool and gym for those who wish to use them. There is no extra charge for using these facilities, which have all been designed to provide easy access for disabled people. You are our number one priority. Visit us and relax in a restful and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Tossal d'Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing