We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in Beautiful Surrroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tossal d'Altea
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The approach to the Hotel was up a dirt track, but I was prepared for that . The Hotel was once an old olive mill and still has the olde world charm of a Spanish Hacienda . Decor and furnishings were fabulous . helped yourself to breakfast on the terrace, toast,eggs,ham,cheese,cakes,croissants,fresh orange juice coffee,overlooking the swimming pool .
Hotel set in countryside good way from centre of Altea (need a car),but spectacular views .Perfect for relaxing and winding down and being spoilt . Loved it,will definately go back .Would be perfect for a Honeymoon or Wedding .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Altea4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. After staying nearby in previous years in "International" hotels this one immediately felt completely Spanish, with inevitable consequences. The staff were friendly and helpful, the setting, gardens and pool fine. The bedroooms have quality but simple furnishings, no armchairs or balcony seating, many rooms without even a small balcony, but since it is a small building, comfy chairs or sunny positions are close by. We have reviewed the restaurant elsewhere and were very pleased. Breakfast is unashameably Spanish, don't expect baked beans, very good quality and choice, and till very late. The hotel is down a narrow lane, no footpath, no street lights, a torch (flashlight) should be carried if you are walking at night; you need a car, there is plenty of parking. Study the location well on the website, though it is well signed off the two possible main roads.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Loiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

A lovely hotel, large well equipped bedrooms, and really nice friendly staff.

A little out of town, but lovely views from rooms and grounds.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank visitor016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We have just spent one night at this hotel - wish we had stayed longer! The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate lunch in the lovely poolside restaurant. Breakfast was also served there and was more than adequate with good quality produce.

The location of the hotel was a bit tricky to find and I think we only managed to find it through luck and our sat nav! It was about a 15-20 minute walk down to the coast we got a taxi back as it was uphill (cost about 6 euros and worth it). I thought this hotel was good value for money in a lovely location. I return if I'm ever in that area again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAM1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Spent 4 nights here in early September and could not have been more comfortable. The hotel is out of the centre but the Old Town, with lots of good restaurants and bars, is within 20 minutes walk and the concert hall is even nearer. It is not glitzy from the outside and is set back from the road so you are surprised by how attractive it actually is. With views over the mountains, the hotel has a large and comfortable bar and dining room, two terraces and a good sized pool. All the staff are friendly and helpful and our room was large and airy (with aircon) with a huge modern bathroom.

Breakfast was good too - jamon, cold meats, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts as well as a big selection of breads etc. and different teas and coffees from the bar (including Rooibos).

I was sad to leave and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank topama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Henk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
2.4 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
652 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Serena
Hotel La Serena
#4 of 8 in Altea
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel-Restaurante San Miguel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Noguera
Hotel Noguera
#3 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tossal d'Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tossal d'Altea

Address: Pla de Castell 96, 03590 Altea, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range: £73 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tossal d'Altea 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the town of Altea, just 300 metres away from the Palau Altea Centre d'Arts, or Altea Concert Hall, and a stone’s throw from the Old Quarter, the Hotel Tossal d’Altea was built on the site of a traditional olive oil mill which for over 300 years was used to produce olive oil. The hotel, whose design is reminiscent of Altean tradition while incorporating modern amenities and luxuries, caters mainly for guests seeking relaxation and wellbeing in a warm and welcoming environment in the heart of nature. The structure and decorative style of the hotel, whose rural design is typical of Altean country houses, blend in harmoniously with its restful setting, and it has sweeping views of the countryside, mountains and sea. What sets the hotel apart and endows it with its own personality is its core philosophy to provide attentive and personal services and a quality product for the highest guest satisfaction. Inside the hotel there is a restaurant which has two air-conditioned dining rooms which are open to the general public, where guests can enjoy Mediterranean cuisine as well as typical regional dishes. The "Menjador Almàssera" has a cylindrical stone mill and some presses in the centre, and a fireplace, while the "Saló Altea" is a more intimate area that is set apart from the main dining room. There is also a coffee lounge for guests wishing to have a coffee, which also serves the open air terrace. Hotel and outside guests may use all the restaurant facilities. The hotel has 15 rooms on the first floor and 7 rooms on the second floor. The spacious double rooms (which can also be used as single rooms) have balconies with panoramic views, mini-bar, television, telephone, internet, a safe, air-conditioning, heating, exquisite bathrooms etc. We can also highly recommend our charming Double room with canopy bed, and the uniquely elegant Special Suite which has a private sauna and hydromassage bath in an adjoining room. Whatever your tastes and interests are, we guarantee that your stay will be as pleasant and restful as possible. The hotel’s outdoor grounds include two large outdoor car parks right next to the hotel which have security surveillance, landscaped areas for enjoyable strolls, and an extensive terrace where you can sunbathe and enjoy the gentle breeze. There is also a swimming pool and gym for those who wish to use them. There is no extra charge for using these facilities, which have all been designed to provide easy access for disabled people. You are our number one priority. Visit us and relax in a restful and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Tossal d'Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing