We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent service and friendliness”
Review of AlteArte

AlteArte
Ranked #38 of 278 Restaurants in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Altea, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent service and friendliness”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

First of all the mojitos were really "the best". Several variants, specialized. I think we tried them all. We had a great time sitting in the stairs. We also received local tips for our stay:) I will return. :) This was really a great experience :) We did not try any food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolveigJohannessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraw328, Owner at AlteArte, responded to this review, 17 September 2016
Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you had such a positive experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    23
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to return”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It's always a pleasure to return to this little bar, as Sara and David and now Christine are great at remembering your face and giving a warm welcome.
If you want a quiet drink whilst watching the world go by then take a seat at one of the terrace tables. If it's too hot outside then inside is a cooling respite from the days and even evenings heat. Then the little balcony hidden at the back with a view over the main bar and a choice of games to while away the time.
Want to meet new people, than this is a great place to come to and Sara is great at helping you to mix with new folks.
Check out the TV screens showing Davids wonderful pictures if the area, a great advertisement for the town.
This time I tried their home made Sangria and it was a wonderful mix of wine and spirits that certainly gave me a full taste of how a good Sangria should be, great price too, so I recommend that not only you try their wonderful Mojitos, but take a return visit to have a Sangria too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gillthedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A unique place, very friendly - stop for tapas and Mohito”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a great time sitting outside in the steps, with the nicest waiter so far in our vacation. She even went across to the neighbor restaurant and arranged with gluten free "chocolate crepes" for out 10 year old daughter. Service, atmosphere, tapas, desserts and drinks - great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenLipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraw328, Owner at AlteArte, responded to this review, 17 September 2016
I am so glad that I was able to help and make sure that everyone had a great time! Thank you for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Mojiteria, NOT a restaurant!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Given the fact that basically you can't really eat here, as the only food is small dishes of ham or cheese, or quesadillas, this place is rather nice for a pre- or post- dinner hangout.

Mojitos are nice, service is very very attentive (a bit slow maybe, but I guess this belongs to the soul of the place, you're not there for a quick shoot and run, right?). Outside seating is very nice, and the atmosphere of the old Altea town is there.

Again, not for dinner, but for a drink, great place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraw328, Owner at AlteArte, responded to this review, 17 September 2016
Thank you for your comments! We have a limited kitchen area so what we offer in terms of food is more simple accompaniments to the drinks. However, in an effort to offer more to our customers, we have started to partner with a high end sandwich shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic Little Place”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Altearte is a bar rather than a restaurant but it does serve little tapas appetisers free with your drinks.
This is a lovely tiny place tucked away of the steps leading up to the old town square. It's run by the American Sara and her Spanish husband David.
They really make you feel at home and there is a lovely friendly atmosphere. They serve a range of aclohol, but also teas coffees and herbal teas.Their signature drfink is the Mojito which I'd never had before but really enjoyed and my 12 year old son is now so addicted to their non alcoholic "Nojitos" that he makes his version now we have returned home.

This is no tourist trap but a genuine place. The bar seems to be a magnet not only for visitors, but for locals, and those who have only become a "local" by moving to Altea recently like our friend has. Certainly they are drawn in by the genuine warmth of Sara and David. ( We even met Saras parents and sister who were over from the States).

The bar also is the centre of various regular or occasional events such as music evenings,book groups, and "couch surfing" meet ups.
A very laid back atmospheric cool but cosy place. A few tables outside on the steps, small bar area and small mezzanine complete with a few board games for those that want them.
We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jivegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraw328, Owner at AlteArte, responded to this review, 17 September 2016
Thank you for your kind review! We hope that you can come back to Altea soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AlteArte also viewed

Altea, Costa Blanca
Altea, Costa Blanca
 
Altea, Costa Blanca
Altea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to AlteArte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing