We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““A great dining experience”” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Giardino Nova Bussola

Il Giardino Nova Bussola
Ranked #20 of 263 Restaurants in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““A great dining experience””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We ate here for a group meal, and both the service and menu choice were excellent, and the meal superb. Highly recommended to every one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hughmbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    75
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not one of the cheapest places in town, but you get some value in return for your money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

One of these restaurants you always rush by in your car and before you notice them they already disappear in the rear view mirror.

Nevertheless some people got to stop there anyway, and they recommended the Nova Bussola to us.

I called to make a reservation, because we were going to show up with our baby daughter, and even if there are still free seats, not all of them suit us because of the maneuvering with the pram. I appreciate that the one who attended the phone didn't hang it up right away when I told him about the baby (so families seem to be welcome), and when we arrived, we got the perfect spot reserved, easy to reach and with enough room for "parking" the baby during dinner next to our table.

Service was very friendly and never slow, the food quality was good (although the "Nova Bussola" salad was a bit disappointing), and especially the pizza dough was one of the best I ate in years. Thin, deformed, crispy, with lots of air bubbles and a great taste. But the menu has more than just pizza and pasta. It also offers meat and fish dishes, hot and cold starters, and much more.

Summary: who does not mind to sit close to the main street and without an exciting view, will find a location for having a dinner with excellent service and good food. Not one of the cheapest places in town, but you get some value in return for your money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A restaurant wonderfully reborn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

When Angela and Alfredo retired, La Bussola did a gastronomic nose dive. For two years, the food was unspeakable. But now, under the watchful eye of Maestro Mariano, this once-renowned Altea restaurant has been reborn and is again the best Italian restaurant in Altea, and for miles around. Until you have sampled the delights of the Nova Bussola's Carpaccio Polopo, you will never know how delicious thinly sliced octopus can be. The traditional OsoBuco is so good that you wonder what that other stuff, by the same name, you had in other restaurants was all about!
Prepared at your table from a huge wheel of cheese, Nova Bussola's house speciality is Pasta Parmigiana, I have known of customers driving twenty miles to Nova Bussola, for a plate of this mouth watering dish at la Nova Bussola. One of my favourites is their Spaghetti Vongole, which is simply littered with succulent clams. The wine list if excellent and very affordable, and the Vin de la Casa is sold by the glass or by the bottle. Nova Bussola is right opposite the Cap Negret hotel, two hundred yards from the middle of Altea, on the road to Calpe. Parking is easy. Try it, you'll like it. Brian Hitchen CBE

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eatforpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Anonymous pearl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

A bit outside centre at Cap Negret. Wll worth a walk from town with excellent service, atmosphere and quality Italian food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FarandeFant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

If you are looking for the very best at reasonable prices this restaurant is perfect in every way. Excellent service and good food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gthirkleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Giardino Nova Bussola also viewed

Altea, Costa Blanca
Altea, Costa Blanca
 
Altea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Il Giardino Nova Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing