We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little India!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saffron Altea Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Saffron Altea Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little India!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Easily the best Indian food in the whole area!

Situated in an old railwaystation, and with an open view to the kitchen, this reflects the owners. Honest, direct and spicy, if you like. Just excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bjarte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    4
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Received a warm welcome from the lovely owners and decided to sit in the courtyard of this beautiful quirky little restaurant. As there were four in our party we decided to try a variety of different starters and main courses. As previously mentioned the Samosas were delicious and our favourite was the lamb. We each tried the different sauces and every one was excellently flavoured. This is a restaurant that needs booking in advance as the two English owners cook and serve without any other help. Will definitely return on our next visit to Altea.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaDoRonRon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent experience and delicious curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Saffron is tucked away in the old station building at Olla. It has a charming palm tree decked terrace where we sat on this warm October evening. We received a most friendly greeting on arrival. I ordered the langoustine pakora to start with, followed by the chicken markhani, with an Aubergine side dish and pilau rice. We were warned that there would be a wait as the food is cooked fresh, it was not too long at all though. It was an interesting experience, different from West Midland curries, as you would expect, but this gave the food a unique quality, it was not at all detrimental. Am really looking forward to visiting again. Would emphasise pre booking as there are only two people to run the restaurant so it helps them. Appreciated the welcome our two small doggies received too. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zinfandel-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really quirky and different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

A really quirky and cool restaurant with great hosts and excellent food.
There were so many different meal choices on the menu and we tried several and all good. Excellent value for money.
We will be going back and recommending to friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineBell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

A very warm welcome (we booked in advance which was appreciated). The food was superb, a unique version of Indian food with a subtle but authentic use of spice. Beautiful outdoor dining under their lovely palm trees. I can strongly recommend a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SimmaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron Altea Indian Restaurant also viewed

Altea, Costa Blanca
 
Altea, Costa Blanca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing