We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villa gadia great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel SH Villa Gadea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Villa gadia great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel before and wanted to leave positive feedback as it's all ways consistently good especially the breakfast.

The swimming pools and it's pool bar are great which makes up for the stony beach.
We arrived in the afternoon and wasn't able to get a bed which we found you have to get up and make your nest for the day before breakfast I.e leave towels on the beds.
There are some great beach bars and restaurants which stay open late and can be accessed within a few minutes.
The town is a 5 minute drive away and well worth a visit.
The rooms are a nice size and I w old recommend the superior sea view as you can see the fishing boats on the horizon whilst sat on the balconie.
Thanks to all the staff for friendly stay and we will see you again on our next visit to altea.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Costa Blanca, Spain.
Your comments encourage us to improve our service, we greatly appreciate your opinion.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    353
    107
    46
    18
See reviews for
331
485
14
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I came last year and I am back again. First morning I went to the pool area at about 11.45am. It was packed. I asked the pool man who was looking after towels, for a reclining chair. He pointed to an upright wooden bench. I had to take myself to the beach instead. The following morning, I did what everyone else seemed to be doing. I placed my beach towel on a chair to reserve it whilst I went in for breakfast. I asked each morning for a soft boiled egg but every day the chef said they didnt do it. This is such a simple dish to do . It would be good to have it on the menu. The rest of the breakfast was superb. Even champagne was available. I didnt have dinner as I was visiting friends in the area. so cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: I had the same room that I had last year which overlooked the car park despite asking for a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 329julesanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your comments specially the ones related to Breakfast Buffet and the sunbeds which will help us improve our standards and rich a higher level of satisfaction among our customers in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Me and my friends stayed here in Sept 2011 for a week. We got a great deal through easyJet holidays. Not really much to say - immaculately clean, friendly staff, great pool and grounds, and a nice walk into Altea along the promenade (30mins). Would definitely stay again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjscanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
Your comments encourage us to improve our service and facilities, we greatly appreciate your opinion.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Best regards,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sax, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July, celebrating our 31st wedding anniversary. Overall it was a great experience. On arrival our car was parked for us, a fabulous room with jacuzzi bath on the balcony, huge bed, everything you want except the TV is too small for the room. All the staff in this hotel were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful setting, 3 lovely pools and in the spa, the strongest jets I have ever experienced. Food wise, overall very good. The choice for cold items at breakfast was amazing, however the cooked breakfast was at best average, and could be seriously improved. Food in the Miramar restaurant was good especially the Foie Gras and the rack of lamb, the chef even made me some mint sauce. The food in the Palaba pool restaurant was somewhat disappointing, I had fabulous muscles and then octopus that was tough and cold, their second attempt was no better. This is a five star hotel so you expect to pay over the odds but the prices charged for drinks in the bars are somewhat excessive in my opinion. Location wise, the hotel is well outside Altea town and their is nothing else you can walk to and the beach is mostly large pebbles. A car or taxi is necessary if you want to eat out. We were also surprised how many children there was during our stay, but then it was high season. Great for a short break but 2 weeks at Villa Gadea would drive me mad and empty my bank account.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe sea view room with jacuzzi on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your comments specially the ones related to Palapa Restaurant which will help us improve our standards and rich a higher level of satisfaction among our customers in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just returned from a three night stay in hotel villa gadea in altea. As we were attending a friend's wedding we did not explore the area very much but found the hotel to be superb. The pool area was lovely and surprisingly quiet for July. Comfortable beds and towels. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choice with fruit, cooked foods, breads, cold meats, pastries and drinks. Best to get it included as think it is €30p.p. to pay for it separately. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was lovely and we got a sea view without requesting it. Would request a quiet room as i heard some people complain there was a lot of noise outside their room. It was a taxi ride approx. €8 into the town if you don't have a car. The beach beside the hotel was very stony but the pool was perfect for us. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Altea.
We greatly appreciate your comments about the hotel and the staff. We strive to offer the best Breakfast Buffet. Just as a matter of clarification we would like to inform you that the price of the breakfast buffet is 16,00 € only. During your stay we had an offer for the dinner buffet at 30 € per person.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just returned from this fabulous hotel, 5 star, top class., could not fault! From reading the reviews and seeing the pictures we expected a great hotel, it's great to go somewhere and be over whelmed with the service, staff, pools, rooms, location, just everything about this hotel is pure class!! Have stopped at many five star hotels around the world, and this hotel we just didn't want to leave, we are in fact re booking for later this year! The reviews say it all really about this hotel and the charming town of altea. The restaurants are superb, especially oustau in the old town. Again we have travelled to many long haul destinations that have been amazing, but for a two hour flight this place has it all. Weather, shops, restaurants, mountains! Perfect! We were a family of two adults with a 7 year old. She loved the pools and played with lots children, she prob only English child there but this did not matter. It's a 5 star hotel that caters for families, thank you villa gadea for a wonderful 5 night break!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your holidays in Costa Blanca.
We wish you have a happy return to home.
We greatly appreciate your comments about the hotel, this encourage us to improve our service every day.
We hope to see you when you return to the hotel in your next visit to Altea.
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Frankly there are very few top notch hotels in this part of Spain, but this hotel is up there with the best of them. It's modern, it's efficient, it's well tuned out and it's very convenient.

Situated on the main N-332 coast road and very close to an exit of the A-7 Alicante-Valencia autopista it is very easy to get to.

The hotel overlooks the beach at Olla de Altea and being a resort hotel has at least three swimming pools and lovely landscaped gardens to while away a lazy afternoon.

As this area has the best all-round climate of anywhere in Europe you'll find people from all parts enjoying a few days rest in the sun here.

What we particularly liked when we booked was that you had the choice of either B&B, half or full board. We chose half board as we had business to attend to during the day and it was great to have their sumptuous and very Spanish evening buffet to look forward to at the end of the day.

The room was of a decent size with a small vestibule and bathroom with a jacuzzi bath. They also provided us with bathrobes and slippers. The king size bed was very comfortable and our sleep quality was superb.

As we spent our days up in the mountains preparing our rather spartan mountain cottage for sale you can imagine what a delight it was to return to the relative opulance of the Villa Gadea at the end of the day and enjoy the suberb fare provided for us and the other guests at the hotel’s charming and very Spanish restaurant.

We usually started with Gazpacho Andaluz (a delicious cold tomato soup) followed by an assortment of seafood, hors d'oeuvres and salads. As well as having a good selection of already cooked dishes available you could also select meats and fish and have them cooked to order at no additional cost. Also there was a good selection of tempting desserts and lots of fresh fruit. Most delicious Spanish food both at breakfast and in the evening.

There is a gateway through to the public beach and it was quite idyllic to take a saunter along to Olla after dinner to enjoy a cup of coffee at one of the beachside cafés and enjoy the vista out to sea and to Altea itself down the coast.

The only drawback was that the hotel wi-fi service was quite expensive. Other than that if you enjoy living in luxury for a while, then this is a place for you. Highly reccommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Mediterranean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikTheBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay.
We greatly appreciate your contribution in Tripadvisor web site due to it has been detailed, describing all our services. This encourage us to improve every day.
We hope you choose to stay with us again, rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
9.1 mi away
Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa
4.1 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SH Villa Gadea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SH Villa Gadea

Property: Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Address: Lugar urbanizacion Villa Gadea s/n, 03590 Altea, Spain (Formerly SH Melia Villa Gadea Beach Hotel)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel SH Villa Gadea 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SH Villa Gadea Hotel enjoys a privileged location, on a platform-like enclave looking out over the Mediterranean Sea in the picturesque village of Altea. Its spacious public areas and carefully chosen decor guarantee comfort and relaxation. The hotel was opened in 2005 and is completely integrated architecturally with its surroundings, faithfully reflecting the traditional style of the nearby village of Altea, whose historical quarter is a mere 3 km from the hotel. The SH Villa Gadea Hotel offers a great choice of dining options. The Thalasso Spa Centre and Thermal Club provide almost 2,000 m² of health, beauty and wellbeing (2 thermo-leisure swimming pools with sea water, counterflow river, relaxing geysers, swan-necks, bubble seats). There are also aromatic showers, Turkish baths, Roman baths, Finnish sauna and a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel SH Villa Gadea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sh Melia Hotel Gadea Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing