We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room itself was gorgeous, the pool is stunning, the staff are lovely, the bar is perfect, the little beach bars just outside the grounds are gorgeous and it is extremely clean.

The reason it didn't get five stars is purely down to the breakfast. The room itself was overcrowded, the cooked buffet wasn't fresh, looks like it had been sitting out for quite some time and very unappetising, the coffee also wasn't fresh or of a high quality - came straight from a push button machine. Overall breakfast , which is our favourite meal of the day , was quite stressfull and unenjoyable so we ended up going to the beach bars instead every morning.

Also the wifi system is awful - you get one code for 24 hours that you constantly have to reenter and it is of a very poor signal.

Overall though a beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting!

Room Tip: Definitely get a suite with a hot tub on the balcony - just gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dublin7353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shhoteles, Dpto.Calidad at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your comments, this encourage us to improve our service every day.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

It should be a 4 star hotel... not five.
The rooms are fine, but expensive. Is it a hotel to be with kids, not in couple.
There's music shows every night, so if you are in a room with views to the sea, you'll be listening those shows.
Gym it's too small.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear David,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Altea.
Although our top priority is offering our guests quality service all the time, you were upset about the music of the Shows during your stay.
We hope you choose to stay with us again (we recommend you to come in Low Season to enjoy the relax of the area) and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just got back from spending 3 nights at SH Villa Gadea. The hotel staff were welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. We were welcomed by a man who offered to take our bags to our room and check in was quick and easy. The receptionists were full of information about the surrounding area and although they described walking to Altea as only a 2km walk, be prepared for a climb up a number of stairs towards the end to reach the nicest restaurants Alta has to offer.

The room was amazing. Very spacious and clean with plenty of storage space for clothes and suitcases. The air conditioning worked really well and the maid service was quick and efficient.

The pools were brilliant, there were loads of sun loungers spare whether you went down in the morning or afternoon and there was a variety of depths for all ages. There is a pool bar which serves snacks and drinks although the cocktails were a little pricey in our opinion.

One of the highlights for us had to be the breakfast. There was a wide variety of foods to choose from to please everyone and the standard of food was high. There was a member of staff cooking omelettes and eggs to order next to the cooked food area which added a special touch. We did not try the hotel restaurants so cannot comment on the food served there.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel and would definitely revisit this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room with a sea view - definitely worth the extra money and very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pipwell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
Your comments encourage us to improve our service everyday, we greatly appreciate your opinion.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Chose this hotel because of its peaceful location.
Nice hotel, nice rooms, good facilities and helpful staff.
Would definitely return and would also recommend for the right money. As others have stated, I would agree that it is more a 4* rating.

I have listed a few negatives that may have an impact on your stay.

Swim-up bar - Located in the shallowest pool (obviously where children are more likely to be) Ashtrays on the bar, people were sitting in the pool smoking, didn't go down too well with us.
Bar area also smelt strongly of stale beer.

Shops - nothing nearby, so if you need to stock up on water etc, I would recommend to call in to a supermarket on your way to the hotel. 1.5L of water at hotel 3.50 euros.

Tea/coffee - No facilities in room, coffee at breakfast out of a machine so often tasted of chocolate.

We stayed week commencing 14th July, by time it was the 19th July, the pool area was already very busy and not enough beds for guests.

Please feel free to mail any questions

Room Tip: Sea View, otherwise you will be facing a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sannieinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Altea, Spain.
Although our top priority is offering our guests quality service all the time, you were upset about some services during your stay.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My partner and I are just back from a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel in the wonderful Spanish town of Altea, which is about 40 mins from airport, either car hire or shuttle would be best to get there.
From arrival to departure it has been a wonderful experience. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive from the front of house to bar staff. Our room was a good size and well kept. We requested a sea/ pool but as it was only a request we never got it. However, we were situated at the front of hotel which had a main road (which you cannot hear when balcony door is closed)and wonderful mountain views; when the sun was setting early evening our balcony was sunny for us sitting there with a glass of cava! All rooms have some sort of view. They supply all the usual room supplies from shampoo, toothbrush/ paste, slippers and a dressing gown. There is a mini bar in rooms, and there is also a jacuzzi bath, if you have time for a bath on holiday. There is also free wifi, though a bit slow and cannot get it by pool.
Pools are great, yes there are children around but it's not an adult only hotel, swim up bar, reasonably priced drinks, free beach towels, plenty of sun loungers and usually some left midday, a gym with basics in it, and a spa( it is extra price to use spa area with pool). There is entertainment some nights but I am sure you would venue out with hotel.
We were B&B, and there was plenty to choose from, you would not go hungry. An egg station, hot food, fruit, bread, cereal, cold food and cheese stations. We never really at at the hotel in the daytime and evenings, but there is also a Japanese restaurant if you don't want to venue from the hotel. On the Stoney beach( wish it was sand) there a numerous beach bars along the front or wonderful restaurants in Altea town.
The only downside is that there did not seem to be a comp shuttle bus going to the town. If going to town walking takes about 40 mins. Taxi is approx 8 euros each way, so it's not too bad and the town is beautiful!
In all we had a wonderful time and will definitely return for a longer stay next time...it was a pleasure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Laura,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Altea.
We greatly appreciate your comments, we would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel in 2012 & were very pleased with the overall experience & looked forward to a return visit. Reception area & pool area are still very pleasing but other standards need to be improved. We were very disappointed with the breakfast area both in terms of the room - no air condition working some mornings and no outdoor eating area available in fact doors to this area were padlocked - not 5 star quality. Some of the food poor standard - eggs not good quality, orange juice from carton, no smoked salmon & very little parma ham . Staff are pleasant but seem overworked. Wifi is a joke does not work in all rooms as advertised and you have to constantly get new codes. Balcony in room required maintenance - painting, garden plants require attention.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CorkGirl170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shhoteles, Quality Department. at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea for your stay in Altea again.
The SH Villa Gadea staff would like to apologise for the inconveniences you have received and we would like to reinforce that the satisfaction of our guest is the most important factor for us.
Although our top priority is offering our guests quality service all the time, we know that you are upset about some incidents occurred during your stay. Thanks to your appreciated help we can take over and handle in order to correct the deficiency in the service you noticed and reach a higher level of satisfaction among our customers because that's our principal mission.
We greatly appreciate your suggestions to improve our system and avoid anything similar occurring in the future, be sure that we will do our best to meet your satisfaction.
We hope you reconsider you decision and give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department.
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a wonderful place! The generosity and quality of it´s buildings and installations are breathtaking: everything is luxurious and tasteful, huge public areas, huge outdoor pools under mature palm trees, very specious and well equipped rooms, fantastic bathroom with jacuzzi bathtub and separate shower, very good breakfast, etc. A real gem at a great location!

But - the staff is disappointing and doesn't have the same category as the installations do. Dealing with the front desk is unpleasant. Reception staff seems bored and not interested and totally unidentified with the fantastic hotel property they are representing. My checkout was done by female reception clerk not looking at me once and talking to one of her colleagues about unrelated matters during he entire checkout process, very unpleasant situation, very disturbing. Same lack of category also noted with other staff. Again, this is fabulous hotel, but he obvious lack of staff motivation is remarkable. Also, WIFI does exist, but cannot be used do to absolute insufficient speed; thats no acceptable in a 5 star hotel in 2014.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank aqua2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Altea.
Although our top priority is offering our guests quality service all the time, you were upset about our staff during your stay.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and rest assured that we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altea
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
651 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
1.8 mi away
Hotel Abaco Altea
Hotel Abaco Altea
#1 of 8 in Altea
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Serena
Hotel La Serena
#4 of 8 in Altea
37 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hotel Bonalba
Hotel Bonalba
#1 of 1 in Mutxamel
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SH Villa Gadea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SH Villa Gadea

Address: Lugar urbanizacion Villa Gadea s/n, 03590 Altea, Spain (Formerly SH Melia Villa Gadea Beach Hotel)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Altea
Price Range: £63 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel SH Villa Gadea 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SH Villa Gadea Hotel enjoys a privileged location, on a platform-like enclave looking out over the Mediterranean Sea in the picturesque village of Altea. Its spacious public areas and carefully chosen decor guarantee comfort and relaxation. The hotel was opened in 2005 and is completely integrated architecturally with its surroundings, faithfully reflecting the traditional style of the nearby village of Altea, whose historical quarter is a mere 3 km from the hotel. The SH Villa Gadea Hotel offers a great choice of dining options. The Thalasso Spa Centre and Thermal Club provide almost 2,000 m² of health, beauty and wellbeing (2 thermo-leisure swimming pools with sea water, counterflow river, relaxing geysers, swan-necks, bubble seats). There are also aromatic showers, Turkish baths, Roman baths, Finnish sauna and a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel SH Villa Gadea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sh Melia Hotel Gadea Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing