We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I had stayed longer.”
Review of Hotel Villa Ambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ambra
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Albino
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle WA USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish I had stayed longer.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I were traveling with two teenagers and found this hotel on Expedia. We had no idea what we getting and we couldn't have been more happy. Starting with the greeting from Andrea and his uncle we felt so welcome. Wine tasting in the vineyard was spectacular. And the dinner cooked by mom and grandma made us all glad we had on stretchy pants! We could have eaten the gnocchi for breakfast lunch and dinner. My only complaint is that we found this jewel when we only had one night to stay. I hope to return with all my friends. Ciao!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    53
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
82
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Villa Ambra three times and we really love it. In fact, we enjoyed our visit this year so much that my wife is insisting that we return every year for a few days. It is a family-run hotel and the atmosphere is exceptionally friendly and welcoming. They are lovely people and absolutely nothing is too much trouble. There is also a fantastic restaurant and the family produces its own really excellent wine. The hotel is located in a very interesting part of Tuscany, and La Foce, Montepulciano and Pienza in particular are great places to visit. All in all, we always find it a wonderful experience to stay at the Villa Ambra.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186402John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is located in a quiet area a few km out of montepulciano. We stayed here after being outbooked from another hotel. The hosts Marzio and Catia were very accomodating to us. Breakfast consisted of a wide selection of food including cakes/pastries/yoghurts and fruit which was very enjoyable. The rooms were spacious and clean although the bathroom was a bit small. The hotel has a lovely pool. we did not have any evening meals in the restaurant so we are unable to comment on this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBMMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

One we should have checked out in person first, while the pool was good, this really is too far out of montepulcino. Breakfast was ok, but dinner was not! We were in and out in less an hour, and had been force feed four courses in that time, pasta course being the only real thing edible. Friendly hosts, but for us far too remote and no options for something fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipsticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have stayed at the Villa Ambra many times. Marzio and his sister, Catia are wonderful hosts. The hotel is conveniently located on the road from Montepulciano to Chianciano Terme in Tuscany. The hotel is very comfortable, clean, and well run. It is a quiet and relaxing location. It has a beautiful pool. It has an elevator. It has a great restaurant serving their own wine and olive oil and great traditional Tuscan cooking. They also have a couple of beautiful apartments that we have stayed in several times. My wife painted the mural in their dining room. http://www.merrygoart.com/ruthsart.html. We have reservations for September 2012 again with them.

Room Tip: We have not been disappointed with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hersnider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Villa Ambra is very well located to visit the region. The rooms are good value and although the hotel is close by the main road, it is still very quiet. If you have the opportunity, eat in the hotel: their restaurant is very good. Nice italian food.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ST5121998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanbornton, NH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

After having a very pleasant stay last year at Villa Ambra, it was an easy decision to book again for our recent trip to Italy. We used Villa Ambra as our base, as it is conveniently located to many of the beautiful and historic towns in the region. Our hosts, Marzio and his sister Catia proved again this was a great place to stay and provided wonderful hospitality. Our room was both extremely comfortable and very clean. We found it to be very quiet and with the added availability of internet, we were able to keep in touch with family at home. One of the greatest things we enjoyed was dining at the hotel each evening. Catia provided a varied menu of delicious dishes unique to the region which were prepared with fresh produce from their farm and local products from the area. We also enjoyed Marzio's wine which was quite good and very reasonably priced. If you are planning a trip to the Montepulciano area, Villa Ambra is definitely a great place to stay at a very reasonable price and its owners trat you like family.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CountryGentleman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Albino
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sant' Antonio
Sant' Antonio
#12 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ambra

Property: Hotel Villa Ambra
Address: Strada Statale 146 n. 8, 53045 Sant'Albino, Montepulciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano > Sant'Albino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sant'Albino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Ambra 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Villa Ambra is situated in S.Albino, a few km from Montepulciano and ChiancianoTerme. It is easy to reach by A1 highway, exit at Chiusi - ChiancianoTerme, and by train at Chiusi railway station. The position of the hotel is exceptional, with the Tuscan hills on the background, and next to art, history and culture centres. The rooms are clean and comfortable. In each of them you can find a Sat-TV, telephone, private bathroom with hair-drier. Some rooms have a balcony and those without have an independent air-conditioning system. A lift, car-park and services for disabled are available. Villa Ambra is also a high quality restaurant and traditional dishes are served. The guests can find fine wines and olive oil, besides other typical products. A genuine affection to the guests and a comfortable atmosphere make the stay at Villa Ambra a very pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Ambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Sant Albino
Hotel Villa Ambra Italy/Montepulciano, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing