We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty grubby and very overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crewkerne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty grubby and very overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Not impressed with this place. Aside from all the signs telling you not to smoke or you're out, not to damage the linen or you'll pay for it etc, it was grubby and smelt damp. Maybe worth £20 a night but £80 a room is a joke for what we got.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    8
    10
    8
See reviews for
10
11
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Friendly welcome after a long drive was nice. Paid £40 B&B, so got a single room with shared bathroom. Oh so dated but very clean. Never understand faded pictures that look like the car boot unsold stock. And hand written signs...such a no no. Chest freezer in the hotel entrance bizarre as well. Had a couple of beers in the hotel bar, but the barman was having a bad day. No smile, was texting rather than look at me to serve, frequent cigarette breaks then followed by a tirade of swearing at the poor barmaid in the lamplight bar opposite. He also snapped at me for trying to catch a glimpse of the Jubilee fireworks with a glass. Awkward! Clearly not in the Jubilee spirit! He wasn't much cheerier in the morning, this was rectified by the friendly and smiley waitress. Nice cooked breakfast, limited choice on the buffet - some fresh fruit/croissant would have been nice, but overall very good. Had a good night's sleep so overall, because I had to be in Crewkerne it was all fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Good location in the centre of Crewekerne, directly opposite the Townhall, where you can park free from 6pm to 8am, only stayed one night but never saw a traffic warden! had a good nights sleep, room was clean and comfortable. Although some would say 'dated' in need of redecorating etc, this didn't cause us a problem, good supply of hot water. The access to our room(6) was via a quite steep staircase but it did have rails each side, no so easy carrying cases though. Excellent cooked breakfast! Staff were warm and welcoming. Recommend the 'Bengal Fusion' indian restaurant just over the road I like my indian food and this was some of the best i've ever sampled! Would definitely stay at the George again when revisiting our relations who live in Crewekerne!

Room Tip: We had room 6 which is a double with another single bed as well, immediately at the top of the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portsmouthsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

we were quite worried about staying here after reading previous reviews, but found this hotel excellent. The hotel was very conveniently located with lots of parking nearby. The room was spacious, quiet, well located, very clean and comfortable.
Hotel staff were very friendly and check in and check out was very easy. The breakfast was excellent.
Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with some family members. Had stayed a few years ago and not enjoyed so was not looking forward to it and also after reading some of the dreadful reviews on here. Anyway, my room was a reasonable size with 2 single beds...very old fashioned with cheap furniture and a funky carpet which also went into the bathroom, (yuck), which had a awful 1970's orange bathroom suite. The whole place is in desperate need for a make over but saying that it was pretty clean and the beds were very comfortable. Tea and coffee is available in the room including fresh ground and a caffetiere which I thought was a nice touch.

My room overlooked the courtyard which was a bit noisy with people sat outside drinking, also with window open the smell of cigarettes would come into my room, if I stayed again I would ask for a room overlooking the rear.

Breakfast was very nice and lots of local produce was used which pleased me. The lovely lady serving could do with another hand though as it is rather slow and you have to keep asking to be topped up with coffee as she only filled a tiny cup with her coffee jug. Why can't you have a jug each? Also the breakfast is served only between 8.30 and 9.30 even on a Sunday which is a bit limiting.

Overall though it was not as bad as I was expecting, there are no other hotels in the Town so it is a bit of a captive audience situation. It was comfortable and relaxing but needs a lot of money spent on it to bring it up to standard. They need to clean their windows too!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theboyracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We recently stayed here while on a family roots pilgrimage. I traveled with my uncle and two cousins and we loved our stay at the George. Frank and Maureen were so friendly. The food was great and a good value as well!! We booked a Bed and Breakfast package for 3 nights and it was very reasonable and the breakfasts were very good..lots to choose from and no shortage of food either. We would definitely stay here again and given the chance we will!! Thanks Frank and Maureen!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hissweetpea66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

This is the only accommodation in the town centre, so they have no competition. We booked 2 nights in advance and had to pay in full at the time of booking. It soon became clear why they have this policy. The hotel doesn't have a car park, but the receptionist directed us to a supermarket car park where we would have had to move the car every few hours, rather than to a long stay one which she didn't know about. Room 6 was tired and shabby (avocado bathroom suite!) like the rest of the place, and nothing was particularly clean. Shortly after we started our evening meal, the restaurant ceiling started to shake and there was a loud sound from above which I thought was an industrial washing machine running amok. When we asked what it was, we were told it was the local aerobics class, and not to fuss about it. When we said we would rather not eat our meal with all the noise, the assistant manageress was called and insulted us. We asked for our money back as we felt unwelcome and uncomfortable. She refused, but we stood our ground and eventually got it back. We can't rate the food, since we only got as far as our starters, nor the sleep quality of the beds as we left, not before she insisted on checking the room in case we had trashed it. Her final shot was another insult. We go away on quite a regular basis and without a doubt this was the worst place we have ever been. The only positive thing was the friendly barman, who was excellent, but the other staff would benefit from an intensive man-management course.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Clarehardaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crewkerne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewkerne
2.1 mi away
The Manor Arms
The Manor Arms
#1 of 1 in North Perrott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Helyar Arms
The Helyar Arms
#1 of 1 in East Coker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Calendar Cottage
Calendar Cottage
#3 of 11 in Crewkerne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: 39 Market Square, Crewkerne TA18 7LP, England (Formerly George Hotel & Courtyard Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crewkerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional coaching inn situated in the heart of the market town of Crewkerne, The George Hotel has a bar, restaurant and 13 letting bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn Crewkerne, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing