We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Stress Free Zone"”

Hollowell Cottage B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crewkerne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollowell Cottage B&B
Ranked #8 of 11 Crewkerne B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“"Stress Free Zone"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Heather Groombridge, (a dead ringer for Margo Leadbetter and exemplifies her high standards), Hollowell Cottage's marvellous host, loses no opportunity to provide a memorable experience for those staying as her guests. Her emailed booking confirmation contained an invitation to enjoy tea and cakes, with her compliments, in the cottage's garden. That's a first for us.

There's a gentility about the hosts Barry and Heather and that's reflected in the cottage, (located with no immediate neighbours off a quiet country lane), which is immaculately clean, discreetly decorated and with its thatch, and stone and wood finishes exudes a timeless quality. The village is small with pub and church but around it there are great places to eat, and we enjoyed a day out at Cheddar Gorge - which was an easy drive along the A303.

Ours was a double room with what appeared to be a recently refitted en-suite shower room with good quality body wash, shampoo, conditioner etc. The room also had kettle, drinks sachets (chocolate etc), bottled water and each day a complimentary chocolate. But perhaps the room's most spectacular asset is the fantastic view over miles of open countryside. It would be worth staying at Hollowell just to enjoy this!

Breakfasts include fresh fruit - we had fresh raspberries, melon etc, with Greek-style honeyed yoghurts (other varieties were available). Unquestionably the ingredients that go into the cooked breakfasts are of the highest quality and my wife and I experienced probably the best breakfasts we'd enjoyed in a guesthouse ever. Most of the excellent hotels at which we've stayed would have struggled to have done better. Even the bread used for toasting is of the highest quality - and comes with ample butter presented on a butter dish NOT in little plastic containers. We had coffee, a large cafetiere which, together with the rest of the breakfast, meant that we didn't need lunch.

Value for money is incredibly good. We can't recommend Holowell Cottage and Heather highly enough.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The other reviews say it all- this was without doubt the finest b&b I have stayed in. The place has a wonderful setting, quiet and secluded. The room was spotless and "attention to detail" everywhere. I wish to extend my thanks to Heather for help received in the small matter of a parking fine! For anyone wishing to spend time in this area, this is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for three nights to go to a friend's wedding. From the moment we arrived Heather made us feel totally relaxed and looked after us so well. We found we were looking forward to the amazing brekkie when we went to bed at night and after a trip to the seaside with tender heads the day after the wedding, Heather's tray of tea and cake was a life saver! I can honestly say Hollowell Cottage is my best B&B experience. The cottage and garden are beautiful, the rooms are really cozy and spotlessly clean. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I would recommend Hollowell Cottage to anyone with no doubt that you would enjoy every moment of their stay from the time they are greeted by Heather the lovely hostess, to drinking coffee on the lawn in the sun, to the beautiful house and rooms and a wonderful breakfast. If you are looking for a perfect B&B experience look no further.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Hollowell Cottage is set in a lovely, peaceful location with stunning views. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. Delicious breakfasts cooked and served each morning (plus a little treat for Meg the dog :-)) We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay.
"Thank you" Heather for your excellent hospitality.
Truly a 5* B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berry_clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

A beautiful cottage with a lovely hostess. Nothing is too much trouble for Heather , after caving at cheddar gorge we came home rather muddy she washed , dried and put our clothes back in our room. Lovely breakfast and carrot cake in the afternoon. Extremely quiet location , cannot recommend enough. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arçais, Poitou-Charentes, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Cosy, comfy short stay in this very cute English period cottage - exposed oak beams and ancient fireplaces in profusion. Heather is an absolute natural hostess; cheerful and friendly with an eye for detail and fine things, that you will see all around you. You will not feel awkward asking for something from her, but there isn't much missing - everything's been thought of.
High spots: the view from the breakfast table, afternoon tea included in the bill, home made bread and cakes, quality porcelain, nice artwork, organic sausages, very orange (and tasty) breakfast eggs. I would challenge the most hard-bitten grumpy to find anything to complain about. Talking of which.... might take my Dad there some day...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crewkerne hotels
2.0 mi away
Lower Severalls Farmhouse
Lower Severalls Farmhouse
#4 of 11 in Crewkerne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.0 mi away
Haselbury Mill
Haselbury Mill
#1 of 2 in Haselbury Plucknett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.8 mi away
Calendar Cottage
Calendar Cottage
#3 of 11 in Crewkerne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.0 mi away
Watermeadow Lakes & Lodges
Watermeadow Lakes & Lodges
#3 of 5 in Crewkerne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollowell Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollowell Cottage B&B

Property: Hollowell Cottage B&B
Address: Hollowell Cottage Hollowell Hill | West Chinnock, Crewkerne TA18 7PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Crewkerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollowell Cottage B&B is our 300 year old detached cottage built of local ham stone under a thatched roof. It sits in its own gardens on the edge of the charming Somerset village of West Chinnock, just a few minutes walk to the Cat Head Inn, a must for all "foodies". The commercial centre of Yeovil is 15 mins drive away and has a good range of shops and department stores. The market town of Crewkerne is close by and has mainline rail links to London and beyond. Whether you are in the area on business or taking a few days break we think you will enjoy your time at Hollowell Cottage. We provide comfortable, spacious rooms with private or en-suite facilities together with colour TV, DVD and Wi-Fi with spectacular panoramic views from every window. Our breakfasts are made using locally sourced, free range and organic products wherever possible. Cooked fresh to order they are served in our breakfast room with views over the garden and surrounding countryside. We think we have created a very special place to stay, away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Hollowell is a place where you can relax and recharge your batteries in the comfort of your very own "room with a view." We are blessed with wonderful countryside to walk or cycle in and the country park at Ham Hill is only two miles away and provides fabulous walking or mountain biking. The Prince of Wales pub on Ham Hill itself or the Lord Nelson in Norton Sub Hamdon at the bottom of the hill, are ideally placed to offer you lunch. If you are touring or working in the area why not make Hollowell your base? We offer special rates for two nights stay or longer. We have great facilities for washing, drying and storing your biking and walking equipment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hollowell Cottage B&B Crewkerne, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing