We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lower Severalls Farmhouse
Ranked #4 of 11 Crewkerne B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
“What a brilliant find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We chose Lower Severalls when attending a wwedding locally. Our room, Lavender, was very sizeable and well appointed. The ensuite was tastefully fitted out and the bath with shower worked well. We were shown the other rooms which were of a similar high standard of both fitting and decor. The greeting from Mary was very friendly and we were treated to a much needed cup of tea and cake. Breakfast made by Mike the next morning was brilliant. We would love to return for a weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This kind of accommodation, food and hospitality for £85 for two people is an absolute bargain. Large vaulted bedroom complete with sofa/coffee table/ tv luonge area, mini kitchenette, super-power double-shower in en suite bathroom, complimentary homemade cakes & pot of tea on arrival, splendid vast breakfast for two people all-in for £85? 200 quids-worth really. Owner-hosts Mary and Mikes' attention to detail is meticulous, and if it were possible to criticise anything it would be that that meticulousness, which could be construed as an almost TOO caring approach!

Great spot to stay and will recommend around unhesitatingly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moppy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Unfortunately we managed to stay for only one night in this superb B&B with Mary and Mike being the perfect hosts to our family of 6. Next time it will be longer.
The accommodation was perfect with comfortable beds in large spacious rooms followed by the most delicious home-made breakfast starting with home-made pancakes made by Mike followed by freshly compote fruits lemon curd and yoghurt and that's without the full English.
We have decided that we will visit again and would recommend this fantastic B&B to anyone else in the area paying a visit or on holiday.
Keith&Sue Harper

Room Tip: Ground floor room was good for children sharing with parents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebbanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Charming B&B enhanced by charismatic owners. And then there was breakfast. Goodness me, you couldn't do any better than this!
For an Aussie couple travelling around the UK, this would have to be the best B&B we stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Mary's friendly welcome and Mike's delicious breakfast made our (sadly) short stay at Lower Severalls most enjoyable. Willow, the ground floor room we stayed in, is large, well furnished and decorated with style and elegance. Comfortable bed, a little dividing wall to the sitting room area with leather sofa, Freeview TV, and kettle/drinks facilities. The highlight was the wet room bathroom, with glorious overhead shower and plenty of space to get nice and clean! The superb breakfast this morning comprised of a fruit compote, yoghurt, toast, freshly made pancakes, and a full English with locally sourced high quality bacon and sausages. The hosts are warm and charming, and spent time showing us the other rooms, and developments in their well-known garden which is open to the public. We're looking forward to returning for a longer stay soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Growling_Bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent. UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

we spent 3 nights at this bed and breakfast at the beginning of October 2012 and it was by far the best B & B that we have ever stayed in. The accomadation was superb and matched only by the welcolm provided by Mary and Mike. Everything about this guest house is first class. Go there, you will not be disappointed.
John and Jean Hemple. Orpington

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry18, Owner at Lower Severalls Farmhouse, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you so much for this review, it was lovely to meet you both ... and Tilly too! Do hope you make it down again next year, may be for some more house hunting? with our best wishes, Mary and Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

My husband and I stayed for only one night while attending a local wedding. We wish we had booked in for longer!
Mike and Mary are very friendly and welcoming. We had a first floor room which had recently been converted from the old stable block. It was very nicely decorated and spacious with a sitting area and the most amazing shower! There was even a small kitchen area.
Breakfast was the highlight of our stay - Mike is a great cook - make sure you try the pancakes!! Everything was freshly cooked to order with many of the breakfasts treats coming from their garden
We will definitely try and return in the spring when I imagine the garden is beautiful.
Thank you Mary and Mike

Room Tip: We chose the Jasmine room - but they all look lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewkerne
1.3 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Manor Arms
The Manor Arms
#1 of 1 in North Perrott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#12 of 13 in Yeovil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haselbury Mill
Haselbury Mill
#1 of 2 in Haselbury Plucknett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.9 mi away
Calendar Cottage
Calendar Cottage
#3 of 11 in Crewkerne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Severalls Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Severalls Farmhouse

Property: Lower Severalls Farmhouse
Address: Lower Severalls, Crewkerne TA18 7NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Crewkerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful rolling hills of South Somerset, a 17th century Ham stone Grade 2 listed long house with a converted stables and loft adjacent. Rooms are apartment style, spacious and all en-suite. Breakfast in the farmhouse is varied, locally sourced and served with homemade bread and preserves. Visit Britain 4 stars, Silver and Breakfast awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Severalls Farmhouse Crewkerne, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing