We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Business People Too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lower Severalls Farmhouse
Ranked #3 of 9 Crewkerne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I stayed here on the recommendation of a local, whilst I was working in a nearby town, whose four star hotel is too haughty, pricey and made too many mistakes on my several stays there.

Lower Severalls Farmhouse is an absolute delight and, even for the jaded business traveller is a real tonic to return to after work, with good, free Wi-Fi (sadly necessary for all of the evening Emailing), a truly capacious room with tables to work at, a sofa to sink in to and a very comfy bed. There are many additional, thoughtful and welcome touches ('fridge in the room with fresh milk, a small kitchenette area with microwave combi oven, cafetiere with ground coffee, towelling robes, slippers etc, etc).

Mary and Mike are friendly, unobtrusive hosts who offer a personal service and a quality of offering that outstrips the many four star hotels I stay in as part of my job. If I could stay in a place like this every time, being on the road would be an absolute pleasure.

It is a bonus that there is a very good and well priced bar and restaurant (Haselbury Mill) literally just over the road.

One small point is that signage could be clearer. There's lots of it, so you know that you are in the vicinity, but clearer direction signs guiding one from the main road would be helpful (I should say that Mary did Email me a map of how to find them). This really is detail though.

Summary - a high quality, very comfortable, quiet place that exceeded my expectations and more than met my business needs. I will return (maybe for leisure next time)!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blocker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

A lovely comfortable spacious room. Perfect for our stay while attending a wedding in nearby Haselbury Mill. The breakfast was delicious especially the pancakes and full English breakfast.
We would definitely recommend a stay and look forward to returning.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelagh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry18, Owner at Lower Severalls Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review. Mike did enjoy hearing about your engineering experiences in different parts of the world, they seemed very similar to his. We'll look forward to seeing you again, best wishes, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed for one night for a friends wedding at the barn just over the road. When we got to the b&b we were early but they were fine with us goin in early to get ready for the wedding. We were amazed at how lovely and spacious our room was. The bed was so comfy to sleep in, we had our own little lounge area and the bathroom was so big. I have to say this is the niceset place we have stayed in and we have checked in to many a place around the world. You have to try the pancakes at breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynkazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Spacious, immaculate and tastefully decorated rooms, lovely quiet location and exceptional breakfast (thank you Mike). This is a well run and friendly establishment and was perfect for our stay for a nearby wedding.

Room Tip: book the groundfloor "Willow" room if you want to spoil yourself with a wet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peanuts1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is the perfect place to stay and we can't wait for a return visit. We were at a wedding at Haslebury Mill and the accommodation is just a short walk away allowing both of us to have a few drinks without worrying about transport. The room was beautiful with a lovely comfortable sofa. The breakfast was AMAZING, the pancakes I could eat all day and the full English breakfast cooked to order was fabulous. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This an excellent B&B in Somerset. It is a farm with accommodation in a separate building to the farmhouse itself. We stayed in a room/suite that was very large and well appointed. All facilities including modern bathroom (with bath).were first class. Hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was marvellous

Room Tip: We paid an extra £5 to have a superior accommodation. The accomodation was a suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidwiggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulberry18, Owner at Lower Severalls Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you so much David for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We chose Lower Severalls when attending a wwedding locally. Our room, Lavender, was very sizeable and well appointed. The ensuite was tastefully fitted out and the bath with shower worked well. We were shown the other rooms which were of a similar high standard of both fitting and decor. The greeting from Mary was very friendly and we were treated to a much needed cup of tea and cake. Breakfast made by Mike the next morning was brilliant. We would love to return for a weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crewkerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Haselbury Mill
Haselbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Haselbury Plucknett
525 reviews
1.3 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#3 of 3 in Crewkerne
61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Calendar Cottage
Calendar Cottage
#2 of 9 in Crewkerne
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Watermeadow Lakes & Lodges
Watermeadow Lakes & Lodges
#4 of 6 in Crewkerne
14 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Stagecoach Inn
The Old Stagecoach Inn
#4 of 9 in Crewkerne
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Severalls Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Severalls Farmhouse

Address: Lower Severalls, Crewkerne TA18 7NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Crewkerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crewkerne
Price Range: £88 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lower Severalls Farmhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful rolling hills of South Somerset, a 17th century Ham stone Grade 2 listed long house with a converted stables and loft adjacent. Rooms are apartment style, spacious and all en-suite. Breakfast in the farmhouse is varied, locally sourced and served with homemade bread and preserves. Visit Britain 4 stars, Silver and Breakfast awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Lower Severalls Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Severalls Farmhouse Crewkerne, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing